August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Slaughter

by KJScott - Jam Entry

Requires installation of Python 2.7 and Pygame 1.9

Use the Antichrist's shadow to kill the vile redshirt menace by manipulating your environment without killing yourself.

Press Z to toggle shadow mode
Press X to interact with objects
Press C to jump

Max score is approximately 120

Contact : @nerdofgamers - Graphics, @tccoxon & @db434 - Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Plu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Requires installation of Python 2.7 and Pygame 1.9

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

For some reason Python was unable to load and play the mp3 files on my computer. I removed the appropriate lines from src/sound.py as a quick-fix solution, but that means playing without music. Any suggestions?

KJScott says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53pm

@tombsar, I don't know what the issue is. I worked on the graphics for the game hopefully one of the programmers will get back in touch and let you know how to resolve the issue. By any chance could you post the appropriate lines you need to remove incase anyone else has the same issue.

tomc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

@tombsar: I'm one of the coders. Thanks for letting us know. Which operating system are you using? Is anything printed to the console / terminal?

If you're on linux, do you have (libmp3)lame installed? This library is required to playback MP3s.

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Hey guys, thanks for getting back to me. I have both 'lame' and 'lame-libs' installed on Fedora 18, and can play mp3 files in my browser and media players.

The error printed is:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "src/main.py", line 62, in <module>
main()
File "src/main.py", line 40, in main
game.event(ev)
File "/home/arthur/Downloads/LD27_Entries/10SecondSlaughter/src/gamestates.py", line 296, in event
self._state.event(ev)
File "/home/arthur/Downloads/LD27_Entries/10SecondSlaughter/src/gamestates.py", line 54, in event
self.game.set_state(PlayState(self.game))
File "/home/arthur/Downloads/LD27_Entries/10SecondSlaughter/src/gamestates.py", line 174, in set_state
self._state.leave()
File "/home/arthur/Downloads/LD27_Entries/10SecondSlaughter/src/gamestates.py", line 49, in leave
sound.play_main_music()
File "/home/arthur/Downloads/LD27_Entries/10SecondSlaughter/src/sound.py", line 20, in play_main_music
mixer.music.load(os.path.join('assets','music.mp3'))
pygame.error: Unrecognized music format

To fix it, I applied the following patch to src/sound.py:

def play_main_music():
+ print "Music disabled"
- mixer.music.load(os.path.join('assets','music.mp3'))
- mixer.music.play()

...

def play_gameover_music():
+ print "Music disabled"
- mixer.music.load(os.path.join('assets','gameover.mp3'))
- mixer.music.play()

I am probably using an old version of pygame-music, or am missing a python-lame extension or something...

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Sorry for the double post, but I wanted to save you having to ask about versions.

I am running Python 2.7.3 with Pygame 1.9.1 (at least that is what Fedora claims it is). Also, lame is version 3.99.5.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Is there a way for you to provide an executable ?

tomc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

@tombsar: I've just uploaded a version that fixes this crash (falls back to some OGG files if the MP3 playback fails). I hope that works for you.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

swell pixels!

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Good art bro I like this game

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:47pm

"Requires installation of Python 2.7 and Pygame 1.9" Wish I didnt have to install random things to play the game. Due to that, I am unable to include it in my LD27 compilation video. Sorry

MrBlade says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Won't start, sorry. Running the .bat gives some file not found error, running main.py creates a pygame window and then closes right away. Let me know if you find a fix!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]