August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rude Bear Radio

by Alex Rose - Jam Entry

Rude Bear fell asleep listening to his radio, and it's playing all of your favourite songs!

Every 10 seconds the radio station changes, and his hallucinations bring him to a new world.

There are 44 mini games in this game (8 game franchises, each having between 3 and 9 unique levels). If you like tough ones, you can go straight to practice mode and choose the bottom levels. RRRRRR, Super Rudio Bros and Bearo Wing have the toughest levels.

Rude Bear: Radio is the third in the Rude Bear series (which we make every Ludum Dare). Each game is completely different, other than having the same character.

Rude Bear:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=19499

Rude Bear Rising:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=19499

Guide Rude Bear through a series of 10 second minigames lasting 10 seconds, Wario Ware style. After 10 levels, you move up to medium mode, and 10 more onto hard. On practice mode you can play any level of any game, mini-games included (in order of inception) are:

Rudegry Beards - Fire Rude Bear into The Wizards to defeat all of them before the time runs out using your mouse
Rude Bear Red - Help Rude Bear defeat wild monsters!
Rudey Island - Choose the correct insult to defeat bear guys.
The Rudecopter Game - Guide Rude Bear with his jackpack and look out for obstacles (space or left click to fly).
Bearo Wing - Rude Bear isn't safe anywhere! Help him fight off enemy spaceships.
Space InBEARders - What would a minigame collection be without multiple space games?! You know this one!
RRRRRR - Help Rude Bear to the checkpoint by reversing gravity with space and moving with the arrow keys/WASD.
Super Rudeo Bros. - Reach the axe to destroy the bridge and send The Wizard plummeting to his firey grave.

There's also a bonus stage every 10 levels Rude Bear Roulette! Click to win extra credits, but be careful...

The mouse is used for all games except Super Rudio Bros and RRRRRR, in which WASD and the keyboard are used. The game plays best with your hands on WASD and the mouse at all times.

Code and Audio by Alex Rose @Vorpal_Games
Pixel Art by Antony Dewar @panttts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Humor(Jam)4.15
#24Fun(Jam)3.79
#30Theme(Jam)3.81
#50Audio(Jam)3.69
#51Overall(Jam)3.77
#124Mood(Jam)3.38
#173Graphics(Jam)3.70
#256Innovation(Jam)3.05

Comments

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

I love the wario-ware style!

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19am

The input on some of the levels didn't seem to work. Like in invaders my bear tweaked out and I couldn't move left or right. Otherwise, great stuff.

The main/loading screen is sweet! I could sit and watch and listen to that for hours.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20am

On space invaders, you actually use the mouse, not the keyboard. The only keyboard games are RRRRRR and Mario.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

HIGHLY ENTERTAINING.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55am

I'd normally say that I think the do x in 10 seconds isn't really stretching the theme but this is too awesome to complain! If you could take a look at my game I'd really appreciate it, thanks!

blay09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09pm

This was amazing! You usually see games of the scale of just one of those minigames, it's awesome to see something bigger for once! Loved the music. Favorite game is Rudey Island.
I also found a bug in Rude Bear Red, the hit detection seemed to have messed up.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:13pm

:P Yeah, that's a nice little joke about how LD25 noone liked the hit detection, LD26 I added health bars and hit noises to every enemy and people still complained about it :p .

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Kinda hard to understand the controls sometimes but it was pretty fun.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19pm

This is great! Impressive that you basically managed to make 8 games in the alloted time. I love the humour and the nods to different games. Also the music is great - love that you put the Prodigy on the space invaders game. Found switching between different controls on the game a bit jarring, but other than that, fantastic work.

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Lol!

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Dude, I like your pacing. The parody games are awesome. Good graphics, good sound. Overall really good! Keep it up! I'll have to check out the previous Rude Bears now.

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23pm

This is pure entertainment. I was hoping someone would go for a game like this. Thank you.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Great presentation all round! Pretty tough going but short enough to not ever be frustrating! Got distracted trying to work out what the songs were hinting at...

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55am

You really nailed the WarioWare aesthetic. Some of the games play really well (Space Invaders, Mario) while others are less responsive (Angry Birds). Would have liked if the rounds ended once you died instead of having the clock run down. But overall, a good use of the concept and fun to play.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

Nice. Very fun, excellent style, and the music was top notch. I enjoyed the remix style of the music, and how the minigames were a wink and a nod to popular titles. Thumbs up.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:54am

this was totally awesome -- i loved all the games and it was a challenge -- nice job

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

crazy tough. great references. loved the RRRRRR level. well done!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

Very funny and entertaining!

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:03am

Wow great job, definitely the most fun LD game I've played so far! Loved all of the references as well

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:10am

It's fairly Wario Ware, but I dug the referential humor. Some of these are really fiendishly difficult; I could never beat the Mario levels, and the Pokemon one took me a while to figure out.

I think you need more than 10 seconds in these games, or more consistent/explicit controls to get the feel of them. Still, very fun. Excellent work!

Boodog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47am

Nice game! I like the pokemon battle :3

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:57am

Brilliant idea! I love how you sampled so much game culture. I wish the helicopter game was a bit tighter. Otherwise you did very well to capture the feel of the other games. Please rate me back! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:12am

Love the game parodies and music remixes. I lost it at doing things the easy way xD

kazukishida says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00am

Oh man, this exceeded expectations greatly, the homages were a lot of fun and insanely challenging! Great job! :D

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:22am

This is a nice trip into videogames history, and it's fun.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:27am

Good wario-like little game collection. Every stage reminds me some other famous game, it so funny :)

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00am

Oh my god i loved the VVVVV level. The moment i heard that music i knew this was good, haha.

Seriously, the idea of imitating the theme songs of the original games is brilliant and so well done. Gameplay is smooth as well, i saw how hard it is to do many different gameplay mechanics in one game when i developed mine and your levels are a fair bit more complicated to program, too.
Great job.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20am

A very noisy and funny parody. I like it ... somehow

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Takes a while to figure the controls in each game, some more cohesion is needed. I mean Wario Ware only uses a few buttons, but this has mouse and keyboard, and sometimes the other doesn't work.

The levels should cut if you fail instead of waiting for the timer to run out.

anjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Great game! I'm impressed that you were able to make so many different mini games work so well in so little time. Monkey Island reference FTW!

gre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21pm

So nice that you cloned some famous cool game into the wario-ware style!

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

omg how did you manage to make that much content D:

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Thanks so much for all the kind words everyone. I know there are some issues, like not being able to skip after you die, just using randomness instead of selective randomness, the difficulty and a lack of clear control instructions and I'll keep these in mind for my future LD entries. Your comments are really motivating. :)

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This was great! I loved the pokemon mini game. Pretty awesome how many game styles you were able to implement so quickly and they are all pretty fun. Loved the kind of sideways VVVV game.

Unept says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Very fun, though I admit I didn't get all of the references, I haven't played some of the classics yet. (let's just keep that a secret between you and me, ok?)

I did spend most of my time figuring out the controls, but I'm sure that will come with repeat gameplay.

Also, I died a lot.

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Lol ! 44 mini games in 2 days, holy sh** :)
It was fun to have all those remakes !
Great job !

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Pffhahahaha

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:13am

RRRRRR's cover music of the album PPPPPP is amazing. I like everything you did. good work.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I just about lost it at RRRRRR, "Doing Things the Easy Way" indeed =)

immanuela says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Lots of fun!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

It's amazing how you got all these together!
This is such great fun :]

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Before the compo, everyone said, "Oh it'll just be a bunch of WarioWare clones". What you've done here is an obvious Wario Ware clone, but let me explain why it works.

1) IT'S HILARIOUS, especially Rudey Island.
2) Everything works. RRRRRRR is a bit rough but you get the hang of it. The minigames are challenging but aren't frustrating. Good balance!
3) Topical / relevant references. You immediately know what's happening as soon as the game pops up. You don't have to guess what's going on (well, other than Rudey Island lol)
4) RUDE BEAR

I am humbled by the things you said about me on our game page. I'm glad that I could make you feel welcome and I'm so glad that you keep coming back. Your games are always entertaining, and I look forward to them.

Great job with everything on this one. You just keep getting better. Keep at it!

-SonnyBone

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:20pm

It's great to see so many minigames, quite impressive for a Ludum Dare!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I've found surprisingly few wario-ware style games in this LD, but of the few, this one is definitely the best. I love how many mini games of totally different styles you managed to pump out - each with different music and totally fitting and great graphics. And then when I played further, I learnt that there are a lot of variations too in each game. Very cool!

Some suggestions:
- After each WASD game I try to use WASD for the next game too. Seldom works! A big reminder about what to use before each game starts couldn't have hurt.
- And, uh, a clear "YOU WIN" or "YOU LOSE" at the end of each game. Especially at the beginning I sometimes wasn't sure!

Video game references, lots of diversity and a solid implementation binding them all together - great stuff. Good job, you guys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]