August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wing

by Eddy93 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wazzzupp!!

This is Wing!
You're the cameraman for a very popular nature channel. It's your goal to gain as many viewers as possible and to reach your targets.

Controls(Also shown in game):
Arrows: Move visions
Z: Switch to large vision
X: Switch to cameramode
Hold space while cameramode: Recording

Lemme give you some advice for those who find this game too hard:
Try to film some nature when you already reached the target of viewers ;)

Thats it for my first compo ever!

Go have fun playing it and please comment, give advice and rate!
Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#45Innovation3.94
#110Theme3.74
#146Graphics3.70
#199Audio3.20
#246Mood3.18
#296Overall3.33
#367Humor2.61
#626Fun2.83

Comments

oajfh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Quite nice graphics. I also like the way you used the theme.
I wish one could skip the intro though. And though the audio fits the mood well, I'm not so fond of it.

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31pm

@oajfh NEW! Press S to skip intro ;)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

This is very hard! Very original and fun game idea, I enjoyed playing!

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

You need to post your source to be in the compo. Where is your source code?

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

@RHY3756547 Thank U!!

@recursor There you go, my source is added!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48am

Interesting idea. Not much to say about the game. The large view might be a bit small.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Wow that was a good but hard game. The idea was really original and the art and music were really well done, the mechanics were pretty good too once I got used to them. Great work!

DY says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Hard! Nice graphics. Interesting idea

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

awesome design!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Orginally idea, I CAN BE A NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC REPOTER NOW! THANK YOU, YOUR GAME GAVE ME EXPERIENCE IN TAKING PHOTOS BIRDS! :D
Great job.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Fun and original game idea, but was a bit hard. Good job.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Okay, I feel that this is one of the best and most innovative entries. Amazing take on the theme, gameplay was fun, graphics were awesome, the soundtrack set the correct mood. And the dialogue was good too. Congratulations.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Started to get the hang of it the more I played and enjoyed it.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Interesting take on the theme! The time-limit also helps with making things interesting, since you won't be able to take your time and wait for the perfect recording.

The graphics, though simple, are quite nice. And so is the music! It sets a nice "nature-like mood".

Well done! :D

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Cute game but very hard. If the key to switch from large angle to camera mode would have been the same, could have been a tad easier :)

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

It's like Vine - the Game ;)I like the idea. Although I'm still not sure what you need the large vision view for. Maybe I just never switched because of my German keyboard...A bit more feedback would be nice. A sound or little text animation when you get more viewers.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Was pretty interesting, unusual mechanics but put together nicely. Weird I ended up failing somehow on the second level but I still enjoyed it, good job!

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:20am

Congratulations on entering your first compo. This is a fantastic entry. The unique interpretation of the theme was really refreshing, and the mechanics and narrative were great as well. Nice work. Hard game, though. Couldn't get past the first episode.

mortus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:25am

Nice game, I was totally abusing a bug which let you see the whole screen though (tap z-x rapidly).

Eddy93 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:52am

@mortus Thanks, Yeah finally someone found out about that!

RARoadkill says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:03pm

great work, loved the concept. was very hard

Sestren says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Original take on the theme, and the music was nice and relaxing. The camera is a tad hard to control, but overall a nice entry.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Very very hard game IMO (or maybe I just suck at it XD) I don't like that the camera lags a bit when you're going one way, makes it extra hard to catch the birds on camera... Some times I felt the birds were trolling me intentionally avoiding the camera lol. Good game though ^^

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:12pm

A little bit too hard but I loooove what you did with the theme. It's original, the setting is cute and the graphics are great. I love that little tune too!
The concept is really good!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I like the graphics and it's an original idea. I think the large view would have been better if it was like looking through binoculars. I think you should be able see a little more on the large view too. But this could be very addictive with a few tweaks. Well done!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:39pm

i little too hard for me, which mostly has to do with the camera. really like the concept and mood though, very original and nice.

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:50am

Love the ide for this game! A little to hard to play/control. Some slowmo would help a lot. Nice graphics as well!

crueltear says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Nice graphics and idea of game. But this game is ultra annoying. Using inertial to camera makes it VERY hard to record bird. And restarting position of camera at changing mode. I did finish first level, but at second.. I didn't have energy for that.

Eddy93 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I learned a lesson here guys... Next LD I'll not make a game this difficult

michail says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Fun and innovative game! It's really hard to pass episode 2. Maybe there could be some time bonus after each episode?

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Cool idea, but very hard to control. So peaceful and nice music, but I was not able to finish even the first level.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]