August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds To Venus

by markusfisch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are sleeping on board of a space station in Venus orbit.
You wake from a roaring BANG with a big problem: The better half of the station is gone, you are alone and you have just 10 seconds before the station burns at Venus' atmosphere.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#173Theme3.63
#174Mood3.33
#304Graphics3.33
#316Innovation3.31
#363Humor2.62
#538Overall3.07
#609Fun2.86
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

I made it ;) Good game idea ! I love that there is no instruction or anything, you have to figure it out quickly ! Great idea !

Grafter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

Quick fast paced game! Dive straight in!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

No I don't want to die... ARGHHH... Venus killed me... again ;) My brain is fucked of this heavy weekend... don't have the patience to solve that burning in orbit problem... but The Idea is great. I enjoyed it :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

I liked playing it a lot, but solving the puzzle left me unsatisfied as it was more chance, not by logic. Feeling of extreme suspense/urgency makes it an outstanding entry!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34am

Great idea, fast and drops the player into the action. Suits the theme of the game too, like waking up in space. Only negative is that when i completed it, i didnt know i had done it. Great work though!

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I like it nice work.

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Reminds me of that Simpsons episode. Hail to the rod! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Really loved this game! The graphics were great and the idea of having to rush to get stuff before you died on venus was pretty cool!! I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Haha nice !
I resolved the puzzle by randonmly testing combinations but I got it :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47am

Very tense! Nice straight to the point game.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

nice :) took me some tries to survive it !

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:12am

I like how you have to jump right in, like a real emergency.

Static 64 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:31am

I love the graphics, premise, and game as a whole. Nice pacing. And the pen is a reference to Apollo 11, right? I like it.

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:17am

That was nice, but I pretty much just clicked randomly after getting the suit each time until i got it. Nice job

drawm says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Aced it! :D Great idea and nice execution, It only miss music and maybe more rameplay? (call nearby station for help, docking to the station, etc) IMO it would make a great intro to a much bigger game :) good job

markusfisch says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:04pm

@Static 64
Yes, it is! Glad you noticed.

tamat says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Loved your entry, maybe it is too fast to read the text but the idea is great!

bitowl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:49pm

the time pressure makes this quite interesting.
would be cool to have different ways to solve this, though

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:49am

Great concept, really nicely executed. Certainly demands some quick thinking but I guess that fits with the theme :p. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]