August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Death Star

by syner_d - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#266Graphics(Jam)3.36
#398Audio(Jam)2.47
#399Humor(Jam)1.96
#403Mood(Jam)2.59
#434Theme(Jam)2.80
#491Fun(Jam)2.38
#567Overall(Jam)2.43
#569Innovation(Jam)2.14

Comments

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

Maybe you should upload the game to somewhere else, 4shared.com wants you to create an account before downloading and I don't really want to do that. :/

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

The art is Epic, but I had do open again the game every time the clock runs 0, and i didn't manage to get very far.

Cell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41am

This is amazing

Laguna says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

Same Problem here with 4shared.com. e.g. mediafire is a fine uploader.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

No osx version :'(
I'll play it once I get to my windows..! Look interesting!

syner_d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Guys I am very grateful for all the comments. =D
I'm not a good programmer, I'm trying to push myself to the max.Some believe it could fix bugs as the timer.
Now I will start making details of art and music.
As for the download, I made sure to switch to mediafire for anyone who has trouble downloading.

=D

syner_d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I put a version os/x but do not know whether it will work, let's hope.

o/

JQCoding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Good looking graphics but couldn't figure out how to get very far.

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Graphics are pretty awesome but their hitboxes make it difficult to play. After I got the hang of them though I did alright. Shame there was only 2 levels.

syner_d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I think I did the first stage very long.
but even so it is still possible to move with only 1 second.
I will improve it.

=D

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I don't get it. Clicking instructions doesn't work for. Can I do anything else but running and jumping? I always bust into particles after 10 seconds without knowing what to do :/

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I don't know if it's just me, but the instructions don't show in the menu. Classic "run to the finish" kind of game.

redo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Been a ninja is hard! Excellent character desing, the art is great. I want more levels!

syner_d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

estou terminando aos poucos, agora vou tentar colocar audio, e depois o menu instruções, eu prentendo colocar ataques e inimigos, mas acho que não tenho muito tempo =T

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Doesn't work on mac here.

syner_d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I really love making art of my games but I hate programming, because I'm not any good. hehehe

syner_d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I'm finishing slowly, now I'll try to put audio, and then the menu instructions, I put prentendo attacks and enemies, but I do not have much time = T

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Great art! Rated highly. :D

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Very good graphics and animation. Unfortunately I really suck at platformers so I haven't been able to see much :)

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Some of the art was nice (especially the player character) but I found the buttons a bit unresponsive and so it was difficult to get anywhere!

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57pm

cool game but there's only two levels.

pedroka says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I enjoyed!

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

The art is excellent, but that doesn't mean much, because the clunky controls, uninspired concept, and the fact that the ninja can't jump high enough kinda ruin the few good things. :(

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

MediaFire pulled the download, can you put it somewhere like dropbox or another site for download?

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

unable to download, place the game in a dropbox or somewhere else :(

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

it says "file unavailable for transfer" on mediafire!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

Can't download, mediafire took down the link...

blopit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

Very hard! Wish there were more levels, it was just getting exciting

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

Distribution violation, cant play it

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

can't download! possible terms of service violation?

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

The download link is broken

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

I really do not understand why mediafire is not working, but moved to sendspace

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

I like the design of the main character, and that first level was pretty difficult! :D

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

is difficult but even the first level of 1 second left to spend! I'll put more level and enemies.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

Looks and sounds great, but it's really hard to get anywhere.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18am

Are you fucking kidding me? THANKS A LOT for the shitty malwares that come with your uploader!!
Seriously did you even try to download your own game?? I have never seen anything like this on a LD entry. This shit even changed my default search engine. So create a Google account and put your game on Google Drive.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14am

Downloaded without an account, quite heavy.. Really nice art in this game!

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

i change for mediafire =)

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

sorry guys, I really do not know why mediafire is not working, I'll have to leave it in sendspace.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25pm

I enjoyed the graphics plenty! Also, it keeps resetting me when I complete second level T_T you sure you uploaded the right version to sendspace? o.O

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38pm

I have not made more levels, so it restarts the level 2, but tonight will put more.

=D

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

It was a bit difficult to navigate, as the jumping was sort of weird, but the game was still fun!

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Liked the art, but... only two levels. It was a bit sad.

Tip: publish on the Web.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Can't play it (I have Mac) but graphics look really amazing

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Art is very nice, but the game is too hard. Specifically for a first level.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Super hard game! is it possible to beat?

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13pm

oh yes the first level is possible xD
but I'll leave it easier =)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Great graphics, controls were a bit clunky. Nice entry though!

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

The second level loops when you complete it, is it normal?

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I really dislike sendspace, please next time use dropbox or something else. sendspace was trying to get me to install a downloader or something and also was quite slow :(


Art was great, so was the ambient music!

Was there only 2 levels? i kept reaching end of 2nd level and it just restarted the level.

collision detection was slightly off.


Good job!
p.s. your title when opened was "new project" :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Wow very hard game, I love the art style too!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

Very stylish, but the controls could get some work. It's kinda hard to get anywhere.

Also, please, don't use sendspace next time. Use something like dropbox, where I don't need to download a downloader just to download my download.

syner_d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31pm

staff now made ‚Äč‚Äčavailable at dropbox =)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:02am

Thanks! It was a bit too late for me, but I'm sure people who'll play your game in the future will appreciate that. I hope you get more downloads now :)

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:04am

Nice menu.

Synerd says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Thanks Diogo, your game is so much fun, just try! = D
I'm studying digital games in college and now have class or xna monogame.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

@Synerd Thanks, man! I'm doing a postgrad course in this area, too :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

really cool animation and art for the character, but I found that the physics for jumping were kind of tough. I couldn't even get past the first level =/ It would be nice if there was some sort of quick respawn mechanic like when you hit R or something, so you don't have to return to the menu when you die....since you die A LOT.

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I wish there were some kind of end, not just the endless loop of the second level. The first level was cool, and specially challenging, the art is nice too.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I'm going to echo most of the other comments and say the art is great and the controls are smooth but the game is way too demanding from the outset.

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Very nice character design and mood, but the controls were a bit too infuriating for this kind of precision platforming.

mollymus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Collision detection seemed a bit of? And is there only two levels, or was it a bug that no matter how many times I completed level 2 it seemed I could not advance?:< Anyway I like the art, which seems to have been your highest focus, so good job on that!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Very cool graphics, but I couldn't get past the first level! I think there was a bug where after the first time you die you start at 8 seconds.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Great character design! The level is pretty hard and unforgiving, but I guess that's because there's only one?

For the download: Those 20MB took forever. I'd suggest you get a dropbox account. It's free, dead easy to use, doesn't limit your speed as far as I know, and has a ton of other usages apart from hosting stuff.

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:31am

Nice, but too hard for me

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:51am

Nicely done but a bit difficult :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]