August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Five Seconds

by Latcarf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my Lua/Love2d game, I hope you'll enjoy it!

The aim is to fill the timer by collecting clocks.
You can play either with the keyboard or a joystick/gamepad.
There are five levels.


Linux users:
Install love with your favorite package manager, then download FiveSeconds.love and run `love FiveSeconds.love' (or double click it in your file manager)

Windows users:
If you already have love installed, you should be able to run the .love file directly. You can also download FiveSeconds-windows.zip, unzip it, and run FiveSeconds.exe.

Mac users:
If you already have love installed, you should be able to run the .love file directly. You can also download FiveSeconds-macosx.zip and do whatever you need to do with it.

Web version:
If you have a WebGL enabled browser, you can try the web version. It may be slower than the native version, though.


Update: I converted the wav sounds to Ogg Vorbis. Hopefully the problems that some are experiencing after collecting a bullet are gone now.

Update: Web version uploaded (you need a WebGL enabled browser). I have rather low FPS on my netbook but it's still kind of playable (I finished the game). On my work computer, it works just as well as the native version. I don't know if gamepads work in the web version, because my Chromium doesn't like WebGL and my Firefox doesn't like the GamePad API.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#226Theme3.52
#425Fun3.08
#517Humor2.28
#633Innovation2.85
#724Overall2.90
#767Audio2.12
#831Mood2.37
#1004Graphics2.12

Comments

vani77a says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

I actually enjoyed that :)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Very nice game, with a good learning curve. Nice joystick integration as well!

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Enjoyable game :) Though It hangs every time I try to collect a bullet and then it just says gives me the no time left message

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Fun! Has a nice arcade-feel to it.

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Good idea but not really fun.

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Had a similar concept in mind when I first heard the LD theme. Your execution is quite good! A more deterministic way of telling what items come next and where they go could make the game more complex (maybe). Nonetheless a fun little game.

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Wow this game is really intense and high paced, or I suck, but I still enjoyed myself. Great job

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

That was really frustrating with that ringing noise and extremely sensitive controls. A positive kind of frustrating though :P

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

The game stutters every time you try to grab a bullet. :/ I didn't quite grasp the idea of the game either. You just have to survive?

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Good idea, but the execution is a bit strange. Sometimes I get unlucky and only enemies spawn.

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Like the idea, but had a little problems with the controls. Was able to get the game to hang when the time was running out and either an action was taken or a clock was picked up.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

@Dioiminik: You can't move after collecting a bullet? That's strange, I've never had this bug. Does it happen every time or only sometimes?

@Zuige: You have to collect clocks as quickly as possible. You win when you have more than 10 seconds left.

@Diogo Muller: Yes, the next item/enemy is determined randomly every second, so sometimes you have a lot of enemies and sometimes very few :(. You shouldn't get only enemies, though, if the time is low and there are only enemies, the game will spawn a clock or a bullet (and if there are only bullets, the game will spawn a clock or an enemy).

@apaneske: Ok, I'll try to see where those hangs come from.

Thanks for playing everyone!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

The character moved a little too fast and was difficult to control and collecting things could have been better

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Very fun game, was actually a bit hard to put it down to comment! Also loved all the mouth made sound effects, added a lot of humor to the game haha.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I like the concept. The controls were difficult to use, mainly because of the really fast moving player.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

Nice, but SOOOOO hard!

It was nice meeting you at the event, I'll make sure your brother is kept up to date with future events and he'll trickled the info down to you I hope ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

Nice game

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58am

Mac user here, the Mac standalone works without a hitch. As for the game, I found it difficult to control (I'm using the keyboard). The character was so fast that it was easy to overshoot your target and waste time. Bullets were really hard to use on level 3, as well, which is where I stopped. But the first two levels were still pretty fun.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35pm

This is very neat. I actually liked how tight/responsive the controls were!

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Damn, this must be easier with a pad, 'cause I can't get past level 5 with a keybaord >< Very good. The sound every second should be a little less loud, I think. By the way, is that the sound of a pen falling on a table ? :P

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Laelien, I finally beat it on keyboard! Yay!

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:04am

simple but cool

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:45am

I also had some technical issues with the game. When I would pick up a bullet, the game would momentarily stall. One time it hung the game completely. I was able to trace it to the `play_touc` function. Not sure why, but if I comment it out, the game runs perfectly.

Personally couldn't get beyond Level 3. I'm just not very good at this kind of game.

I think the game might be made a bit more interesting if there were a trade-off that the player had to make with respect to getting more time and killing enemies. Right now, killing enemies is the obvious best approach, since it makes it easier to survive, and will provide extra time. Might be interesting to mix that up a bit.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

@alts: Thanks! The play_touc function plays a .wav sound whereas most other sounds are in .ogg, and I've seen in the doc of Love that playing .wav sounds is buggy, so maybe that's the reason. I wasn't expecting it to be that buggy, though... I'll post a fixed version tomorrow.

Diamonde says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

Crazy hard game but very enjoyable :D

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

It's amazing how fun this game is, without any need of good sounds or graphics (no offense). I'm glad I can play it at last. Level 5 is a real bitch (but also thefunniest)

Nick Cash says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

Very good entry for the 48 hour compo. I like the idea of using time as both a resource to manage and a victory condition. The only real problem was that hat the controls felt pretty loose sometimes; I'd be trying to get a bullet but just end up dancing around it and lose. The RNG nature of some of the levels (that last one in particular) was also a little frustrating, but the levels are quick so restarting was never really painful.

Nice work!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I uploaded a new version where I converted the wav sounds to Ogg Vorbis. Hopefully the problems that some are experiencing after collecting a bullet are gone now.

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Nice game. I thought the movement was a bit too fast and hard to control though.

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Quite addictive. Nice one!

onzephyr says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:41pm

nice concept, took me a death or two to figure out the limited bullets. but I got it. player moves almost too fast for me to control well. but I think that's my limitation not the games. Overall very well done. Also Nice whistle

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Nice idea. I just find the movement a bit too much fast. :)

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Great game! Controls were a little frustrating due to your character moving so damn fast though.

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Nice game, with good sound effects! Only the character is a bit hard to control. I used the keyboard, maybe it's better with a gamepad.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:26am

good job

wilbefast says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:57am

Really nice little game, with plenty of polish :) The keyboard movement needs to be adjust though: it's far to "fidgety". I'd recommend adding an artificial "gravity" (that's what Unity calls it anyway) to the keyboard inputs. That is rather than snapping immediately from -1 to 1 when you release LEFT and press RIGHT, have a linear interpolation of each axis towards the current input. You get this "by default" with a joystick so I can see how the game would work with a gamepad, but with a keyboard it's a bit tricky at the moment.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:40pm

I uploaded a web version, in case anyone is interested (you need a WebGL enable browser, and it's slower than the native version).

@wilbefast (and others): Indeed, I should have done something like that, it didn't occur to me at the time. I'll remember it for the next Ludum Dare :-)

dekart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very good concept, I like its responsiveness and speed. Sometimes it was hard to collect the bonuses, but anyway I like it.

cobrajs says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Great fast twitchy action! Pretty challenging.

GFM says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice use of the theme. It's different from the majority of games I've played.

I played this on google chrome. FPS seemed normal, but controls were really troublesome. You move so fast that it's really difficulty to control precisely where you are going.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Hey, this is very cool! At first I thought it will be sloppy to control it like that but the fast paced action made it work. Good job!

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Controls wern't great, but I love the "I'm only going to give you five seconds" concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]