August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flicker

by lalanl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[FF users may need to update to v23 before playing.]

Navigate to each puzzle's exit with buttons and telepads when every ten seconds, you flicker back to start.

Thanks, everyone! -@lalanl

Controls:
WASD

Used Crafty.js

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#253Audio3.09
#255Graphics3.43
#306Overall3.32
#328Theme3.39
#402Mood2.93
#425Fun3.08
#521Innovation3.00
#645Humor2.08

Comments

lalanl says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Here's my first LD submission, "Flicker"! (And cover art!)

Navigate to each puzzle's exit with buttons and telepads when every ten seconds, you flicker back to start.

Thanks for checking it out!

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15am

That was fun! Beat all 13 levels. The music was perfect for the theme & graphics are very nice. If I had to find something to complain about it would be the controls. I got stuck trying to round corners quite a few times. Although it might be fatigue from the long weekend. Anyway, gj!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:19am

Very nice for a first submission! :)
You've got some clever level design going on!
The music and timer don't seem to work in Firefox on Mac... It does in Chrome, though :)
Also, the controls sometimes seem to stutter a bit, but that could be a Chrome issue :P

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

It didn't work for me in Firefox either, but updating it to 23.0.1 fixed the problem.

Thank you!

tangentstorm says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

Made it to level 9, at which point the playing area turned a dark olive green color. JS console says failed to load resource: maps/9.txt ... Probably just my poor internet connection, but would be nice to have a way to recover.

Up until then, very cool game! I liked how the music telegraphed when the jump was going to happen. Very well done!

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44am

Having some indicator on how much time you have left before you respawn would be nice..

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45am

tangentstorm: That's too bad. If you want to pick up from there, you can paste javascript:Map.load(9); into the address bar to skip to level 9.

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47am

Nice little strain on the brain. I got pretty frustrated a few times there. Nice work.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

Good work on the graphics, but the sound is very repetitive. The biggest problems though: The controls lag and stutter, they aren't fluid and that makes the game annoying. Also, players need to see those 10 seconds elapsing somehow, yes it's the LD and we all know something has to go about 10 seconds, but just teleporting a player like that, out of nowhere is baaad. Give players more feedback and more control, you don't want them to complain that they can't solve a puzzle because the interface doesn't work.

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53am

Thanks for the suggestion. Right now the only indication is that the music loop is 10 seconds long and ends distinctly, so when it starts to sound weird, the teleport is about to happen. If you muted it, it would be much harder to anticipate.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04am

Great first entry! Some mechanics seem to be broke from sometimes, like not spawning correctly and such. Also some levels you barely reached the goal before restarting.

The music had cool bass sound which I liked. Nice touch with the music going more irratic when you are about to flicker back. Great art btw! Good job! =)

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Good puzzle idea, it was hard to make it to the end. It's a really interesting game. Gameplay is a bit strange, stucking me in wall or teleporting me randomly. Some puzzle need near perfect execution to reach the end.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

It's a great entry, specially if it's your first one. The idea is simple but it's well executed.

The design lets the players get familiar with the concepts at the right pace so they can use them in the following levels.

There are just two things that I'd include: Detailed instructions (the game can be confusing at first) and a reset button (there are some bugs and I got stuck two times).

Good job!

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

Nice puzzle mechanics!

mutuware says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53am

Good puzzle game. Got stuck at level 12. Made me think too hard :) Liked the audio fitted in nicely with the 10 seconds theme.

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

THIS WAS SO MUCH FUN. super great job.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

cool little game it felt weird moving around though good job!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Nice game. Feels polished. Sometimes, I had the feeling to reach the end only with luck.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Oh my goodness what sort of wonderful disease do I have I keep teleporting to random places what is going on and why is it so much fun!

Wuhao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

Flicker is very lovely, I like this small guy. And I can't help think about one of my favorite games--poketmon. But this one is professional. This game recall my memory of childhood.

bombjack says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

great game!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Really lovely game. The only comment I really have is up in the left hand corner "FLICKER looks alot like "FUCKER" cause of the way the L and I are...... I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

lalanl says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Thanks so much for all the wonderful comments, everyone!

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice! I wasn't aware of the timer until level 3. Level 8 was awesome. I reached level 12. Good incremental difficulty. I missed a visual indicator for the timer.

rezoner says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:00am

Quite solid and polished puzzle game. Could use some cute jelly walk animation.

Neil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Good level design and nice graphics, I enjoyed it! The controls are a bit "sticky" and a counter would have been nice, but otherwise, good job!

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Very clever use of the theme! Movement/collision was a bit jerky some times, but other than that very good entry.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:04am

...Did I just notice that flicker spelled in capitals looks like f****r? D:
But this game is awesome! Great graphics and I just love the main character design.
I got stuck inside the yellow doors a couple of times but it's not a big problem.
Great job!!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:08am

The music is kind of annoying because I kept glitching on the teleporters. =( Movement was a little bit frustrating because sometimes the character would stop and I had to let go of the key and press it again...
On the other hand, I really liked the graphics and the mechanics. =D

lalanl says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:55am

I just put up a link to a non-compo version with fixed controls. :)

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:14am

Lovely graphics (especialy cover). Puzzles and game design is very solid! Sometimes collision is problematic. Other then tha t very solid entry! Good Job!

Vaughn says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:01am

I'll pretty much echo what most people said about the issue with controls and collision, but besides all that, it's a really good piece. It's a solid puzzle game that's a bit flawed by the glitches, but I was able to complete it and definitely enjoyed it!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

clever and fun, and pretty balanced difficulty curve. felt very complete in a way, and just that is a great achievement. good work with those graphics and the music too.

and thank you very much for your comment on my game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]