August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Slices of Life

by epiplon - Jam Entry

Slices of Life is a typing game, with a philosophical message.

Type the words written in the background in 10 seconds.
If you succeed, the next scene is brought to you.
If failed, you must try again.


Ps.: should work in any modern browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#54Mood(Jam)3.69
#113Theme(Jam)3.49
#179Audio(Jam)3.18
#219Innovation(Jam)3.14
#256Overall(Jam)3.19
#371Humor(Jam)2.11
#400Graphics(Jam)2.86
#440Fun(Jam)2.54

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Very nice atmosphere, thank you!

ivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

love how it gets really stressful over time, 'you are not your job'

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Nice and moody, but the difficulty is probably too high for most people. I got stuck on "That's natural. It's nature doing her job. You have the only option to accept fate." and there's no way I could type even more than that in 10 seconds :)

pg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51pm

I've helped on the development on this game and i'm very happy with the feedback about the difficulty and the mood of the game.
I would like to hear from you guys about the sentences in english, cause it's not my native language, so.
I know we got some other things to fix but i'm very happy with our result.
Thanks Ludum Dare! =)

claudiovc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Great game, loved the mood and the music. The artwork really adds to the "atmosphere", as Alex said. I agree that's really hard, just couldn't get through the 4th message...maybe you could add/shuffle some easier messages in future versions, so that'd be less frustrating for the starters (myself included =]) Nice job \o/

Cherno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

Atmosphere is great. Sentences, you wrote "a opportunity" instead of "an opportunity" at one point, but that's all right. It's legible. :)

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

Philosophy! I like philosophy. Nice graphics and text, and having to type what i read (and on a timer) really makes me pay attention to the words.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

@pg The only thing I noticed grammatically is that I kept stumbling trying to type "an opportunity" instead of "a opportunity" in english we use an if the next word begins with a vowel. a banana, an apple.

I like the gameplay and the concept. the scenes were really cool too!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39am

whoo.. gets tough! and i thought i was okay typist.. enjoyed it.. even if it was depressing haha good job .. never thought i could enjoy a typing type game..

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48am

Are we allowed to fix the language mistakes for the Jam? Because I think it falls on the typo category.

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Feels a little morbid, but still made me think. Not bad.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

This game just has something that Typing of the Dead just cannot give me.

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Its really hard for who is not a native writer of english :D but awesome atmosphere.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This is a wonderful entry! There are grammatical errors here and there, and the "philosophy" seemed kinda shallow, but I digged the idea behind the game. Awesome work!

agumaster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47pm

it was a hard game that lead me into remember my every day depression...AWESOME. Incredible mood, and because life is passing by, and we are dying every second, i want to make more games :D !

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28am

Good work! The mood is excellent (we should always keep present that "You are not your job"), and the difficulty becomes a challenge (but not something impossible) soon enough, which is a plus for me.

I can type at a reasonable speed, even though I'm not a native English speaker. Still, I struggled through the last levels to complete them (which I did...yay!). I found it interesting how I had to "unlearn" typing punctuation marks to separate words to save on unnecessary key strokes.

Congratulations! :D

lmatiolis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

Beautiful game! Very moody and a great experience. I just love the unsettling feeling it causes on the player... and the fact that its not just another thing you load, play and in the next 3 minutes you don`t remember it anymore. I`m sure this game will last long in my memory as something truly unique! Great work guys and thanks for the game!

Shmarah says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:24am

A few nitpicky grammar things like "You born" should instead be "You are born"
It definitely achieved the mood it was going for, even if that mood was a saddening, "Life is pointless" kind of message. I'm glad I can type fast, but the line with the numbers in it threw me off!

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I was enjoying it til the opportunity screen came up. A little too hard for me and I'm a pretty fast typist. An interesting idea for a game.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I can't touch type, so when passing the stages I ended up missing a lot of the animations. It's a cute idea though, saying nothing of the philosophy.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice enough, but I can't type fast to save my live...Isn't this a bit difficult?!?

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I can't get past "from 10 to 10 (...)" It's too hard but despite I never got to the end I get the message perfectly, very intresting game with a strong atmosphere.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Very philosophical.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Very contemplative mood. The graphics and gameplay make you think about the messages and your existence. It was challenging not to type punctuation because it's second nature.

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:06am

Very unique concept! Fit the theme well and the game is thoughtfully done, nice work :)

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:26am

maybethsisjustabadtriporanopportyunijtynto maybthisijustabadtriporanopportunityjtomejf
FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!

Awesome game though!!

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:01pm

This is a very nice production.

Very hard too! I got stuck in "Life's passing and you're not doing anything useful". I'm not a very fast typer :(

I like the moody feel. Nice job!

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:24am

Great! a typeracer with some storyline!

Great job! :D

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:19am

Was pretty easy, but difficulty was just right. I could see this with a more fleshed out story and better graphics. :) would be cool to add those spaces and commas too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]