August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Clean Quickly

by Lyonsbanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi everybody,

This is my third time at Ludum Dare and I present to you "Clean Quickly".

The goal is simple : "Try" to clean all the room... in less 10 seconds. Pretty easy ? Not sure ! There are several game modes to unlock, think to go back to the menu.

The game is not perfect, especially because of some bugs with collision, but it's playable. I'll do better next time.

This time, I added images... and sounds for the first time. Of course, this isn't the best sound, but it's something. Put your headphones... and throw them away after hearing vacuum machine after one minute. ^^

Anyway, enjoy and if you leave a comment, thank you in advance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#563Humor2.22
#584Theme3.15
#872Fun2.53
#884Innovation2.50
#902Audio1.62
#986Mood2.06
#1004Graphics2.12
#1011Overall2.54
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

Concept is cool, but sometimes I got stuck in the crates. Are you using collision detection for this? An array would suffice.

Sound is very annoying!

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Some little bugs, but very nice :)

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I feel like such a failure for not being able to clean the entire room. :)

CogComp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Reminds me of Hover Bovver a bit. Except I still haven't succeeded in cleaning a single room :-)

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Do you really think I want to clean something on video games -_- ?

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

A fun game, but I'm not sure I could ever clear the entire room in ten seconds! The collision detection was a bit sticky, as you pointed out in your description, but I liked the randomness of the levels.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Reminds me a bit of the Hairy Chestival.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I'm not convinced this is beatable but I had a few tries on the last game mode. Collision detection is wild but what do you expect when the vacuum is driving the person!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50am

What have I become? Doing some nice cleaning in a game while my room is still a mess...
Anyway, funny idea!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38am

Nice job on the levels generation, and to have different unlockable modes is a neat idea.
Even with the extra time, I wasn't able to clean a whole room, it was a bit frustrating.

nSun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

I agree with Colapsydo.
Maybe start in small room wil be easier at beginning.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10pm

its an odd idea but fun.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Clever concept :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Pretty good game mechanics. I was able to get myself stuck inside of a box on my second attempt playing the game =/

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Quite buggy, bug great idea :)

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Great idea. I like how fast paced the game feels and the responsiveness of the controls. I wish there was something else to collect or something while cleaning. Something to give me more time back on the clock etc. Nevertheless, great work!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:12am

Challenging! Vacuum cleaner going crazy? pretty cool idea.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Couldn't clean the room in 10 seconds!. Sometimes I got stuck on the crates.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:51am

The premise seemed a little impossible after the first couple tries. Clean the whole room in ten seconds. Especially with some sections of the room being blocked off. Also the movement was rather glitchy. The one sound that was in there heart my brain. Wished I could have turned it off. Icky sound, glitchy game play, none too good I'm afraid.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:25am

Sometimes the dirty area is closed between four crates :) If the room was smaller, might be doable. I like the concept but needs polish.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:18pm

No chance... this is to hard :D Failed at the first Level ;)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:12am

Sound is a little annoying. Seems very difficult, maybe even impossible to finish a level.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]