August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

De Bomb Da Bomb

by Ariake81 - Jam Entry

ATTENTION FIREFOX USERS!!!! To play game without any issues, please make sure 'Quick Find' Funcion is disabled!
( Firefox/Tools > Options > Advanced : General: Accessibility: THEN UNCHECK "Search for text when I start typing" )

CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys: Movement
1,2,3,4: Character Selection
Q: Quit
Spacebar: Skip Title Menu

GAMEPLAY:
4 people trapped by an evil villain in a rigged building with a bombs set to go off after 10 secs in each room.

As soon as each door is opened, the next bomb timer starts. Work out and position each person in the right place to do the tasks needed to survive and exit to the next bomb loaded room.

FEATURES:
>> Double fun action puzzle game of speed and tactics!

>> Cute as hell Pixel Art!

>> Superfunkypants Music!

Who the F&@k needs a Warrior, Elf, Dwarf or Wizard when you can have Mechanic, Electrician, Teacher and Doctor!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#75Innovation(Jam)3.56
#123Audio(Jam)3.36
#140Graphics(Jam)3.82
#169Humor(Jam)2.89
#173Overall(Jam)3.38
#181Fun(Jam)3.21
#218Theme(Jam)3.26
#231Mood(Jam)3.09

Comments

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

Not that bad.

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

Never seen something like this, so pretty neat. Unfortunately it's easy to get stuck on walls.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

I liked it :)

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

Not bad. The character switching mechanic is interesting.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

Nice game. The art and sound are very good. The game took a minute to get used to switching between the characters but it worked great once I got used to it.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

Pretty neat, I like how you have to plan your moves out before you execute them,
I think the last level has a bug, you can walk through the top 2 flames.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

Interesting.. had a bit of trouble with the switching mechanic.. figured it out tho! & enjoyed it.. cool idea with the switchies

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

Neat game! Like what you do with the mechanic, being able to switch between characaters.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

Well done! Really nice graphics and audio. BTW I tried this first in Safari and it wasn't ideal (no audio and blurry graphics) but then I tried it in Chrome and it worked great.

VoidChronos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04am

Cool entry. Looking to see more from you next time!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:22am

I like those character switching games! They always remember me of trine (even though completely different genre lol)

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:02am

Wow, really cool! I like how you have a bit of time to think about what you need to do first. Graphics and especially the music are awesome! great work!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:02pm

thanks for the good feedback so far!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Pretty game, but too hard to tell what to do.

h_double says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:38pm

This is great! Awesome idea, great art style + music. It's HARD, and the controls are a little fiddlier than they ought to be, but this is top notch.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Nice entry! I really like the graphics and music. Overall good job!

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I found no faults with it :) Good job
I enjoyed your timelapse as well

Sebastian says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Clever idea. Would have liked some more challenging levels though! I love the art style!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

A little difficult to understand at first - the character art style made me think that it was a side-view instead of top-down for a minute. The switching mechanic could have been explained a little bit - I couldn't figure out why I couldn't switch to the 4th guy at first. Collision could be cleaned up a little, too.

The art is good, aside from the perspective weirdness, and the music is cool, too, but it could have used some sound effects for opening doors, the bomb ticking, maybe for switching characters, etc. Would have been nice to have more levels, too, as the three here aren't particularly difficult. Still, it's a fun concept and relatively polished.

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:02am

Fair enough, good points to consider if I decide to flesh the game out more in the future.

megashroom says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:43am

The mechanics were pretty cool, but I struggled minorly with the control scheme for a while.
Not sure why I did though, as it was pretty well designed.

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Great concept, but too short and hard to move around!

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Great concept, really nice graphics, only problem is walls that are too sticky. I'm thankful for the prep time to move people to the right places before your first action.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]