August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds of hope

by tobbez - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions are available in-game.

The game is beatable.

I had initially planned to include sound this time, but there wasn't enough time (partly because I decided to use SDL2 for the first time).

The game compiles and works on linux (using the provided Makefile) as long as you have the required libraries installed (SDL2, SDL2_image, SDL2_ttf).


Tools used:
* Visual Studio 2012
* SDL2 (and SDL2_image, SDL2_ttf)
* Paint.NET
* MinGW (for redistributable binaries)

For timelapse:
* Chronolapse for capture
* MeGUI for encoding

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#851Graphics2.39
#864Humor1.71
#912Theme2.72
#919Audio1.52
#993Mood2.05
#1021Innovation2.24
#1090Fun2.10
#1124Overall2.26

Comments

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

Not a fan of the concept - dodging is just about being lucky and moving in circles. Maybe you should have considered a less original but more fun method of bullet spawning: spawn them randomly off-screen with random velocity. Background is hard to look at

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Damn that was hard! :D

Kragnir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

I don't know what the background is supposed to be, it would fit better as gemstones in a mining game.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I love this type of games and the concept, i like it!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Nice pixel art!

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Aaaaah too hard for me. Nice background art!

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Wow.... that's really fast paced... An easier mode with slower ticks would have decreased the difficulty a bit.

Also, I'm unable to change the screensize... on my wide-screen monitor, I can't even see the entire game.

But hey, nice concept, and all that within 48 hours. =)

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

very pretty :)

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I like the colorful pixelated look. Is it supposed to move this fast, though?

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Game was quite a bit too fast for me, it felt very luck based and I didn't feel like there was much I could do other than simply run around and hope I wouldn't get hit, because everything moved so fast it was hard to really get an overview.

The defense drones didn't really seem all that effective either.

So, my two primary concerns were difficulty and the main objective of the game not really feeling as important as it should.

Bullets were also very hard to see, and because I tried to focus so much on avoiding enemies, I didn't feel I even had enough time to try and aim the places I wanted to.

Besides this, the pixel art is very colorful :) And I also like the small history-driven intro to the game, that little story could spark some interesting ideas.

This is all just my own personal opinion though, and I don't mean to sound harsh at all. Just wanted to give some constructive criticism :) Good job on finishing an entry and good luck in the competition!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I like the look, but I agree with those who have said it is too fast.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

It does compile on Linux, but when I press space at the first screen, it freezes and I can't do anything else.
My computer is not very fast, so if your game is CPU intensive maybe it's just too slow here.

kratorspore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30pm

The gameplay was just too fast for me to make much headway. I liked the colorful background though!

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Personally, I liked the speed of the game. However, it would be nice to know where balls were going to spawn from on the outside so that you don't get hit without the chance to avoid them. Another thing, since the whole gameplay is based around ten seconds, a timer to show progress would have been very helpful.

By the way, I didn't even know I could shoot until I beat the game and read some of the comments. After going back, it turns out that just dodging was more fun and was actually easier than trying to focus on shooting(which didn't seem to have much effect).

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

@Latcarf: There was a bug that only affected g++ on Linux that caused the freeze. It's fixed now though, so feel free to try again.

Tinco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I don't know if there's any more to this game than moving around dodging bullet things, that was entertaining for a few minutes though :)

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I played it a bunch of times trying to figure it out... but I just don't get it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Not a bad idea but it's waaayyy to fast to be playable and it's really difficult to shoot the defense drones while also paying attention to the enemies.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Hmm, too fast paced for me, couldn't survive for more than a few seconds, was that the point?

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Bullet hell! xD
I didn't manage to beat it, sadly. Maybe add an option to choose difficulty level? Nice backgrounds, are they procedurally generated?

tobbez says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

If you survive for long enough there's an ending.

Andresh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

Fun but the targets blend with the background and its hard to spot them

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59am

This is fun, yet too fast, waaaay too fast. The concept seems nice, and love the intro and death screen.

Katamori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I'm sorry to say, but this game is terrible. No sounds, no music, awful ouofplace graphics (background pixels are OK), and not even fun.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Soooo fast! Soooo hard! I like it, challenging like hell :) Pity you had no time to mix up some fatass tune - fast music would rock the shit out the game even more! Gratz! :)

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Absolutely ridiculously difficult, you needed to dodge bullets moving incredibly fast and following you while also looking for tiny drones, positioning your mouse over them and clicking them. I liked it while I lived, but it was far too hard for me to enjoy playing again and again.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

The premise is really interesting and I like the setup from the intro and endings. I had a hard time dodging because the bullets were small, but I liked the speed.

Aifryz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:08am

For me it was WAY too fast. I couldn't really do anything beside clicking randomly.

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Interesting idea but the game play was a little fast.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:17am

This game was so fast/hard... I also had no idea what those things on the ground were... I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzQ8TXQohmI

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I really like the visual style, but I have to say I was bored with the gameplay a bit quickly. It didn't feel fair enough to keep trying.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]