August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

IMPACT

by ENDESGA - 48 Hour Compo Entry


(updated 27/08/2013; bug fixes)

Brace for IMPACT!

Randomly generated terrain!
Fast-Pace music & action!
10 SECONDS to run as far as possible!
Jump obstacles!
and Simplistic art by yours truly!

The controls are simple:
JUMP with the SPACE BAR


Thanks for playing!
Leave a rating when you can! :D

This is my 4th LD :)

-ENDESGA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#74Audio3.58
#183Fun3.43
#215Humor2.98
#265Mood3.14
#268Graphics3.39
#409Overall3.20
#616Theme3.12
#1004Innovation2.27

Comments

levsha128 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:45am

Something wrong with this game on my PC(windows 8, i7-4770, no videocard)
Screenshot:
http://take.ms/MebBA4

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:11am

its all very good but if you run perfectly you can only get 173 and that isn't very hard, game is too short

senseidav says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:42pm

advpack.dll missing error..

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27am

Interesting integration of simple runner with theme. Great job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29am

The graphics and sounds are very well done!

There being a hard limit on how good you can do put me off though. It seemed like 173, maybe 200 was the max score, and it was pretty easy to hit that. There wasn't much incentive to keep playing after that.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32am

No problem running the game (win64 i7). 181 meters is my personal best ;) Nice music, funny, and cute graphics. Good job !

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35am

Thanks guys!

Remember you can press 'Shift R' to run for 30 seconds!

Tell me how far you can run in the 30 seconds ;D

-ENDESGA

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

Nice runner, mood music, actual story.
Game is working! Good job.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57am

Having myself spent months working on a randomly-generated runner in the past I know how annoying writing good generation algorithms is, and this one is pretty damn convincing for 48 hours! The visual aesthetics remind me of Action Button's ZiGGURAT (my favourite mobile game!) so that is cool too. I like the concept of a guy trying to run way from what is obviously an unavoidable death; it's delightfully morbid. Music is catchy.

It does seem apparent from the inclusion of a 30 second run that the final design ended up somewhat far afield from the theme :P

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:59am

Pretty good, I really like the art style and the sense of speed. I feel like since these kinds of games are about getting really far, 10 seconds doesn't really work too well if you're using it as the timer. Perhaps a different mechanic mixed in with this type of game that has something to do with time could make it last longer and be a bit more interesting. Not sure what that mechanic could be exactly, but your execution was well done!

1fir3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00am

I love this soundtrack

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01am

Pretty fun, wasn't too easy or too hard. My high score on 30 seconds is 561.

cwkx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08am

Fun entry!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09am

Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0x00000010 in 32-bit code (0x004820ae).
Register dump:
CS:001b SS:0023 DS:0023 ES:0023 FS:1007 GS:000f
EIP:004820ae ESP:0032f9e0 EBP:0032feb0 EFLAGS:00010297( R- -- I S -A-P-C)
EAX:001367b0 EBX:00000001 ECX:45bb2a00 EDX:00000000
ESI:00000000 EDI:00000000
Stack dump:
0x0032f9e0: 00000000 00000001 0047d968 00000000
0x0032f9f0: 00000000 00002a38 007f2c00 00000000
0x0032fa00: 00477eb6 00420d91 00477edb fffffffe
0x0032fa10: 00000000 00000000 00000000 004f2045
0x0032fa20: 555c3a5a 73726573 616d615c 61797472
0x0032fa30: 776f445c 616f6c6e 495c7364 4341504d
0200: sel=1007 base=7ffc0000 limit=00000fff 32-bit rw-
Backtrace:
=>0 0x004820ae in impact (+0x820ae) (0x0032feb0)
1 0x7b84c98c in kernel32 (+0x3c98b) (0x0032fec8)
2 0x7b84f813 in kernel32 (+0x3f812) (0x0032ff08)
3 0x7bc619dc (0x0032ff28)
4 0x7bc62804 (0x0032ffa8)
5 0x7bc619a2 (0x0032ffc8)
6 0x7bc3d4fd (0x0032ffe8)
0x004820ae: movl 0x10(%esi),%edx
Modules:
Module Address Debug info Name (37 modules)
PE 330000- 346000 Deferred xinput1_3
PE 400000- 6c2000 Export impact
PE 10000000-101ff000 Deferred d3dx9_43
PE 40790000-407a7000 Deferred wininet
PE 41d10000-41d1a000 Deferred mpr
PE 41d30000-41d6a000 Deferred user32
PE 41e80000-41e86000 Deferred gdi32
PE 41f50000-41f54000 Deferred advapi32
PE 41fc0000-41fc4000 Deferred version
PE 41fe0000-41fe4000 Deferred psapi
PE 437b0000-437b9000 Deferred msacm32
PE 43910000-43918000 Deferred shlwapi
PE 43990000-43ae9000 Deferred shell32
PE 43bd0000-43bfe000 Deferred comctl32
PE 43cf0000-43cf4000 Deferred msvcrt
PE 43d80000-43d84000 Deferred dbghelp
PE 43de0000-43e51000 Deferred winmm
PE 43ea0000-43ea8000 Deferred ole32
PE 43fd0000-43fd4000 Deferred ws2_32
PE 44810000-44814000 Deferred rpcrt4
PE 44890000-44894000 Deferred gdiplus
PE 44920000-44928000 Deferred oleaut32
PE 44a40000-44ad3000 Deferred comdlg32
PE 44b30000-44b38000 Deferred winspool
PE 44bf0000-44bf4000 Deferred winex11
PE 44dc0000-44dc4000 Deferred imm32
PE 45810000-45814000 Deferred uxtheme
PE 45980000-45985000 Deferred localspl
PE 459b0000-459b3000 Deferred spoolss
PE 459d0000-459d4000 Deferred dwmapi
PE 45b10000-45b1e000 Deferred setupapi
PE 45b90000-45b94000 Deferred d3d9
PE 45d10000-45d14000 Deferred wined3d
PE 47790000-47794000 Deferred mmdevapi
PE 49180000-49184000 Deferred dsound
PE 7b810000-7b99b000 Export kernel32
PE 7bc10000-7bc14000 Deferred ntdll
Threads:
process tid prio (all id:s are in hex)
00000008 (D) Z:\Users\amartya\Downloads\IMPACT_1-1\IMPACT.exe
00000024 0
00000023 0
00000009 0 <==
0000000e services.exe
0000001f 0
0000001e 0
00000018 0
00000017 0
00000015 0
00000010 0
0000000f 0
00000012 winedevice.exe
0000001c 0
00000019 0
00000014 0
00000013 0
0000001a plugplay.exe
00000020 0
0000001d 0
0000001b 0
00000021 explorer.exe
00000022 0
System information:
Wine build: wine-1.4.1
Platform: i386
Host system: Darwin
Host version: 11.4.2

I guess this is what I get for trying to run this on wine. ;)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10am

So sorry didn't realise the error was that big! Really really sorry.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13am

Pretty good game man!!! Graphics and audio are really hilarious!
You are worthy of a Programmer Fan Art:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/impact-fan-art/

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18am

There's a great frantic sense of pace to this one, I like the look a lot and love the soundtrack. Feels quite nicely polished with a decent difficulty level that feels just about right. Great job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:56am

Love the style and feel of this one! Great pixel art, music, and sound. The changing colors of the sky are great!

Though, I find it a little odd that the score is based on distance just like on typical endless runners. Since this one's not endless there is a definite cap on your score, which makes it not really appealing to high score chasers. I think I made a perfect run one time (no obstacles in 10 secs) and got 188m. And with that, I feel like I've "beat" the game and have no reason to play again.

Still... great work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08am

haha, fast paced and made me smile

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28am

Awesome, great job! I played and is't very good ;)

senseidav says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I liked too much the game, the random does good screen compositions.

My record is 500 mts. with 30 secs., but here is the question:

Why if the dummie fall at spikes the game restart without my metters score, while i got it when the meteo fall?

BEst regards, and congratulations.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I did 176m (10s) and 431m (30s).
Very cool scoring game !

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Haha, so much fun!!!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Kind of interesting. I see no particular reason for there to be both a 10 seconds and a 30 seconds mode. Why not an endless mode and 10 seconds instead?

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53am

Nice game, interesting concept! :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:51am

Fun but i got really motion sick when playing it. The city in the background was not my thing. I wish there was a disable city thingy.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Simple runner, but with some small extra's which make it fun to play :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I really enjoyed this game. The artstyle is lovely and the music fits perfectly with the genre. The only bad point is that 10 seconds should not be a time constraint here, I really wanted the game time not to be fixed. Maybe the crash of a meteorite could have made the run harder with more obstacles or other stuff on the path.
Anyway, good job! :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice auto-runner. Parallax to the extreme. I just wish there was a way to escape the impending doom of the asteroid crash. My best score was 186 in 10 second mode.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:02am

Hello!
Wow the graphics look cool!

Unfortunately I only have WINE and see a "cabinet is not valid" message. I re-downloaded multiple times to make sure.

Perhaps if you supply a non-self-compressed exe zipped up? :)

Gazok says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Good to see the run to the right genre is still alive and kicking.

Neil says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This is a lot of fun! 184 points is my best!

Erhune says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:28am

Nice and well done!

Hegemege says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:43pm

What a combination of soundtrack and simple gameplay, I knew this game was going to be gringe worthy from the beginning. Nice job with animations and the mood of the impact!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]