August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TimeOut

by h8urf8 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey folks, this is my second entry. And in fact the second game I finished alltogether.

It's a Text-Adventure with pressure of time. And your unique Ability to stop time ... ... ... for 10 seconds.


Should work fine with Windows/Linux/Mac as long OpenGL is supported and there is a Java VM. If not, write it down in the comments, if you like.

Btw game starts Fullscreen. It's for the mood. :P
There might be some mature content, too. But seriously, it's just text.
Also there are no typos in this game. If you find some, you hallucinate and should see a doctor.

Edit: Added version that is windowed. (Experience is better in fullscreen, though.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Mood3.42
#272Humor2.79
#366Theme3.36
#373Fun3.14
#430Innovation3.14
#471Overall3.14
#489Audio2.68
#1110Graphics1.86
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

lparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32am

Love it, I think that maybe some graphics would go well with it for more of a visual on what was happening in the story.

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

I liked this entry. There are some typos here and there, and the text displays way too slowly, but it's an interesting playthrough.

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Nice story, it was great :)

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Love your game , nice entry.I enjoyed it well!

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice game!
Wanted to replay it to see if I could change the output, be the text is displaying too slowly. Is there a key to make it appears completely ?

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I love it, I really do. I loved the mood and the take on the theme, I wish there were more text-based/adventure games out there, far too many platformers if you ask me. Really great job, too bad for the typos but with 48 hours I guess it's understandable ;)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Nice game!

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

@iblion
I thought about it, but I wanted to prevent, that people make the text appear completly and the clock starts running while they still hav to read it.
That's the reason, why it's a bit slow, too. For people, that aren't that good with english.

@Morgawr
I actually wrote down 6 sheets in OpenOffice just for the appearing text while it was around 0:00-2:00.

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

An interesting story, with a lot of different options. The music was a bit repetitive, but quite atmospheric. Very nicely done.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Pretty good, the story is pretty good which makes it fun.
The music sometimes don't give the right mood, and the bugs are confusing... but overall pretty good game!

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Cool story, nice game.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I am not into text games, but this one i liked :)

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01pm

What a bad day I had in the game, I guess I chosed wrong more than one time. :D

I think this could be a interesting text adventure without the time limit too. I liked how you got four options to choose between. :)

brogrammers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:37am

I loved this one! the replayability is a bit lowered by the fact that the text displays too slow. I wonder how to have the best ending, please tell us, I'm really curious! 5 mood stars!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:42am

Interesting game, there really should be a way to make the text appear faster.

There appear to be some kind of bug:
After making a bad decision and ending the game I tried starting over and got back to the same decision as I failed on. After picking a better option this time it jumped back to the second decision of the game.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:02am

Had a cool story that kept me playing.

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Graphics would make the game much better.
Overall liked the game

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Nice idea of the theme use, I liked the story, and it was good enough to be played. can't vote for "graphics", but I gave it 3 stars because everything seems to be in the right place.

Ninquo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:13pm

interesting game, is there a way to get a happy ending? :)

btw it seems you've uploaded the wrong source code, looks like it's the code from your game from the 25th Ludum Dare

h8urf8 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:00am

there is a way to get a "better" ending

Thx for the tip with the code. Will fix it tomorrow.
And ofc thx to all who played, rated and commented my game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]