August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Woodman for President

by lcarpentier - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is not a political statement. Think of it as a global satire of political campaign, without a particular target.

Manage your political campaign. Keep an eye on the pollings, the last candidate is eliminated at the end of each primary month. But don't neglect voters, you'll need them if you reach the election!

Made with FlashDevelop, with the help of Ableton Live 9 (trial version), sfxr, paint.net and a couple of real wood mannequins (I should totally upload some pictures of those...).

Typo is Pixelade from Dafont, by Astramat

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#55Humor3.70
#178Innovation3.56
#268Graphics3.39
#319Fun3.23
#340Overall3.28
#368Mood2.98
#757Audio2.15
#1109Theme2.26

Comments

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19am

very nice indeed : )

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56am

I had no idea what I was doing, so it probably was a realistic simulation of a campaign :) Good job thinking out the box!

Yakka says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

I had lot of fun by hunting tigers and make nazi parties. Good job!!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Took me a moment to figure it out, but I liked it, nice game :D

Lt.Emi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

<3

Red_Squirrel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

Niice :)

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54am

Always dreamed about hunting tigers in nazi uniform :)

Nangie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

The option are pretty cool (but poor tiger =() I had to random a little for the debate answer cause 10seconde isn"t enough for me to read all the text, but a very nice overall =D

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I guess it was pretty cool, probably the most you could make out of a political campaign

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

A great idea and very well executed.

Woodman for president!

svenardo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27am

Great fun, enjoyed it a lot. I would like more options for things to do between debates. I think I consecutively partied in a nazi uniform for a week. :D Woodman did not get elected...

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42am

I enjoyed this one quite a lot. A little more variety in your choices would've been nice, but there's already quite a bit there for a 48 hour project. I particularly liked the use of pixel-art mannequins for the character graphics, gives the whole thing a nice touch of charm. Nice work!

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

Excellent presentation, but not very much connection to the theme. Also interesting the way the difficulty picks up in March, since all of a sudden all the poll points you haven't earned are now stacked on *one* opponent instead of spread around.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38am

Cool and original idea. I won the nobel prize about 11 times :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38am

Loved how you worked the theme into the game. Feels like a very 'complete' experience, which is always great. It was really a good idea served by a very good execution. Well done!

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

The theme felt tacked on but a pretty fun game - I played it through to the end (pretty rare when rating games) and enjoyed it. The mannequins were a great idea too.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Feels complete and really polished, even if the theme feels a bit tacked on. Still, I for one celebrate the newly elected President Woodward. A guy with that many nobel prizes must have done something right, no matter how many tiger corpses he leaves in his wake.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

You got me there. I really didn't like the theme, didn't feel like a theme at all (what happened to "This is a game about..." ?), so even if it started around the idea of a lot of 10 seconds gameplay phase, I made the choice of keeping only one of them, for the game sake. Also, I wanted to introduce a "10-seconds-party", some kind of satyrical tea-party issued movement which wouldn't even have time for tea anymore. Didn't get time...

I'm glad you enjoyed the game anyway, thank for all your comments :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

fun theme, very accurate about randmoness of these things :) and nice pixelart!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I didn't liked the theme either. Let's replace politicians with stick figures! :D

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

really offbeat and funny. great job!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

Fun.
Like Nangle said, 10 seconds in the debate is not enough for me to read everything.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:55am

Oh hey, forgot to comment your game here. Fun entry, good execution rather smart mechanic, I liked the art a lot, and I KILLED TIGERS.

But the 10-secs part feels a bit pointless to me, I don't have time to read everything, and it feels like a way to use a theme you obviously didn't like :p

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

With the time and effort I put into making jokes about clandestine surveillance program "LOG" and detention camp Guantanawood, it's a shame people don't have time to read them :(. I promise I'll stop mistreating themes from now on.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

brilliant concept loved the game. great humor and style. Didn't notice much with the compo theme outside of the debate questions. but I was too busy hunting tigers to care.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Well put together, but I felt it dragged on a little after the first month. The debates were the standouts, so would like more of them.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

"politics in a nutshell". love it.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I was rallying like a Nazi and still and became the 97th (or 93rd) president :D the system works!

This was a fun/humorous little game I'm glad I played it! keep up the good work.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

good job

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Fascinating idea! I would've liked to have music for this but I understand it was lacking probably just because of the time limit. I would have also liked it if there was a counter telling me how many days i have left. Also, the game felt kinda easy.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Thank you all for your comments. About music, I discovered Ableton the day before the compo and painfully managed to handle the 7 seconds of the intro music... I'm really proud I did that but it was the most I could do yeah.

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Yuhuu! I got to be the president, this game had so much unexpected tension! :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

Ha, this really is a satire in regards to politicians! The fact that they are all woodmen too. Good balance of each chosen action as well. I had fun playing!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

Good job on this one

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:29am

Great game. Ignoring the theme integration, everything about this game was really well done. I would have appreciated more variety in the campaign cards (and maybe more wood puns), but considering the time constraints, I'm really impressed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]