August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time War

by Mr. Jif - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Time War is a top-down shooter/puzzle game. You have 10 seconds to clear the level of enemies.

Each enemy killed gives you a little bit of your time back making the layout of the level and the order in which you kill enemies very important.

Features 7 unique levels and 2 powerups.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#296Fun3.26
#442Audio2.74
#467Theme3.27
#471Overall3.14
#617Humor2.14
#641Mood2.62
#664Graphics2.71
#882Innovation2.51

Comments

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41am

Amazing - definitely the most fun so far.

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Fun... love the different weapons - reminded me of all the Contra guns, was waiting for the Laser! Didn't get one, don't know if it's in there, but I like the game, the concept, and it's really hard. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Well made! Pretty solid.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Good fun! The time limit is balanced so as to keep you on the edge of your seat. Only the powerup drops are a little too random, in some cases you don't get any powerup in the entire level.

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

A bad explained game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Even with a mini-map, cool :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

really nice graphics, I enjoy it really much and it is fun!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very fun! Really enjoyed this. Kind of reminded me of Smash TV. Great gratification. The game kept me coming back.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very fun! Really enjoyed this. Kind of reminded me of Smash TV. Great gratification. The game kept me coming back. Great use of the theme too :-)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This is really fun - love the power ups. I'd love to see this be expanded as it's a really good idea!

van noctar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Good game, it's very representative for the theme!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22am

Pretty fun game. I liked the different types of guns, and the music too. And the difficulty curve was very good, a nice easy first level to learn on, and then the challenge starts ramping up nice and quickly.

The aiming at the little guys was a bit tricky though, since it seems to shoot the bullets just slightly to the left of the mouse pointer.

Nice game :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21am

That's a solid little game! Good work.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice work! gameplay was pretty smooth, it was hard to hit the little guys, but things get fun every time you get the rapid firing gun.

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Fun game! Powerups were great, normal gun not so satisfying. Was frustrating when an enemy was right under me and I kept shooting without being able to hit him, haha

RSUGameDev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Very fun. Good job

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Very well done game. The weapon power-ups were fun and the feedback was very nice. Good job!

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Alright! Negatives first: audio loop was a bit short and some work on the graphics would be nice.

Otherwise: very nice to play, quite smooth, won like 3 levels and then gave up on the squar-ish one. I like that there is a strategy element to the game even though it is basically a top-down FPS. Are the enemies toads? :) Gratz!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Solid shooter!

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Extremely funny and addictive! Nicely balanced and the power-ups are a welcomed addition. Well done!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:30am

Really fun game, I loved it!! I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]