August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trapped

by svenardo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to move your guy around. Meet up with the wizard. He'll let you know what's what.

Man, wizards are evil.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#655Fun2.80
#878Overall2.71
#908Graphics2.29
#925Theme2.70
#1043Innovation2.20
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Ah! I got to a room with 3 locked doors and I chose the left one with all the diamonds. It kind of says something about greed keeping you trapped, hm?

That's deep.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Interesting little game. I thought the "speed puzzles" were pretty fun. The graphics were decent, but some sound would be nice. One suggestion I have that would make this game better would be to only detect collisions for the area around the character's feet.

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35pm

:/ I think I got stuck in the 4th or 5th level. There were 3 doors and I went to the left one (which was a dead-end), and couldn't open the other ones nor reset the level.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Doesn't load for me (Firefox on Mac)

Blupsy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I got trapped in a room with no keys but other than that I really liked how smooth everything felt. Also the main characters animation was pretty satisfying for some reason.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Nice and straightforward design. It's a little confusing that some of the levels are more complex than they need to be, though, or that there were more obvious and more direct solutions to the puzzles. I like that resources stick around between lives, but there was at least one level where it was possible to get stuck permanently, and reloading the web page just put me back where I'd left off.

Also, this might be a matter of personal taste, but the text didn't really seem necessary. It's pretty easy for the player to figure out on their own.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05pm

It's a bit easy to trap yourself on the level with the 3 locked doors, and when the time runs out the level doesn't reset. Also, when I beat the last level I got to, it just started the level over.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38pm

A game from my childhood! Thanks!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:05am

I, too, fell prey to the treasures behind the leftmost door.

I'm still in here.

Please, send food.

blay09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Haha, nice trap on the three door level. Everyone's being driven by too much greed! The graphics were okay and gameplay was mostly smooth, I would have expected another collision box from the player though. Nice level design, wish there was a restart button.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Fun little run around, somethings were a bit hard to identify

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Didn't work in Firefox, but it worked fine in Chrome.

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Collision detection was a bit too sensitive for my liking. I touched the lava while trying to round a corner in the level with the long winding halls and that effectively disabled the game, since you need those +10's to make it there and they don't respawn. It needed a bit of polish, but for a jam this is a pretty big game!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Not massively original (except for the time limit and time extensions), but I enjoy top-down mazes like this one. The dialogue is funny, and the character sprite looks good.

Unfortunately, a few levels in I ran out of keys and had to restart, since items didn't respawn when I died. Now the link to the game doesn't work at all (I get your logo, then just a black screen).

Fix those technical problems, and this will be a very fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]