August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PanicRunner!

by ISaySup - Jam Entry

First ludum dare jam game. Keep up the momentum and try not to die to much. It's hard and short but I've been told it's fun so yeah, I hope you enjoy!

Controls:

WASD for Movement
Space to Jump

Special thanks to Bradley Mccarten and anybody else involved!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Hey! There's no play link for this :( Check that your links have http:// at the start, or they don't show otherwise.

ISaySup says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Sorry about that dude. Should be fixed.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I played and rated. It was rather difficult since you can't see your feet and thus don't know the exact timing for your jumps, but still pretty fun.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32am

Nice game, good atmosphere but the camera is just way too fast.

ISaySup says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

Thank you for the feedback. That was a concern that a play tester had raised but I never got round to tweaking it. I thought about putting in an option to reduce mouse sensitivity but I never got round to it due to my own laziness.

I'm glad you had fun though.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

Pretty fun, but very difficult!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Very nice and fun, only problem was it felt like I was falling off the edges of the boxes a bit earlier/passing through them. Played it in Firefox on a Win8 64 bit machine.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Challenging. I thought the skybox was pretty cool and the music added to the mood. I'm not sure if I just wasn't making it in time, but it seemed like the second time bonus thing was never awarded. I played the web build. Also make esc or something make your mouse visible so you can get out.

oajfh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

That's really weird : the music stops when I switch windows, but not when I switch tabs. Didn't get very far. I also feel the controls (tough on touchpad) and collisions aren't quite spot on, but nice entry. Also, no checkpoints :( but I was bad, so probably aren't necessary.

ISaySup says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Hello everybody.

To SuperCannon thank you for your kind words. In regards to the pickup they are very difficult to pick up, something I do regret because I now wish I had done some kind of checkpoint system similar to a racing game so the player doesn't have to be so precise with picking up the powerups.

To oajfh I want to say sorry for the shitty collision detection, this is an issue which for some reason is felt more in the web version of the game but is still present in individual builds. It actually has to do with the shape of the character model and my poor hindsight. I'm glad you thought it was a nice entry.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:35am

Felt like doing some quake speed run :)

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:20am

Hard to play. What I like is green clouds around - want the same in my game)

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I felt like I was always being cheated when I'd jump in time (I swear ;) but it wouldn't register the jump before falling. I know "technically" it was right, but like Mario Bros. the player should get a bit of slack!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]