August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Dwarf

by pfaulty - Jam Entry

Dig Dwarf.
You have 10 seconds to reach the bottom in this 10 level game. Collect beer on the way down and avoid the things lurking below.

Created by:
Sean McDonald (Design)
Craig Pfau (Programming & Art)

Controls:
Arrow keys to move.
You cannot dig up, however you can climb up an already dug section

Other Details:
* Works best in a browser with WebGL (Chrome). The only difference being that the graphics will be blurry.
* Game Maker Studio was used to create this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Theme(Jam)3.40
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#257Graphics(Jam)3.40
#312Overall(Jam)3.07
#498Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1906Coolness10%

Comments

Falconstar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02am

Hey, another Dwarf-related game! And you also used GM: Studio! :) I'll definitely give this one a try!

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I really like the art (the game's pretty fun, too)! Dig Dwarf! Crush Guy!

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

+ cool hero sprite
+ I played the whole game :)
- too few animations
- no sounds :(

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06am

Awesome art! Great little concept! Too bad we can't dig for beer in real life!

thethey says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:38am

Really simple but really fun, great sprites XD

jglrxavpok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01pm

There is too few animations and no sound... But was a fun game to play!

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Very good concept and game mecanism. Graphics are ok but I excepted more animations.

IMO you should reset the level when you fail to reach the end, otherwise it's easy to finish it in multiple lifes. But it still works with the fact that you only have 3 lifes, so maybe that's ok.
Also It would have been interesting to use gravity (you go down if there is space under you, you can't go back up).

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Nice art and idea. Hurt by the small levels and lack of challenge. I'd work on this further and polish it up. The theme and idea is solid.

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:10am

nothing better than a similing dwarf!
it's a fun game, great job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]