August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Delayed Reaction

by Stryphe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Delayed Reaction is a side scrolling endless runner where there is a 10 second delay from when you press the jump button to when the character jumps.

Don't fall or get pushed into the wall.

Instructions:
Space-bar or the in game jump button jump.







b.t.w. turn the volume all the way up to hear the "static sound track"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#503Innovation3.04
#536Theme3.20
#1146Overall2.15
#1156Coolness48%
#1156Fun1.81
#1184Graphics1.46

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

I just wish the game was a bit faster. Interesting take in the non-stop running genre.

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

It's a clever idea to use 10 seconds as 'delay'.
The game is pretty hard.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

I can only describe this game as ruthless. It's great fun, but good Heavens, is it hard.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Cool idea on paper, but even with the super slow scroll you still can't prepare what will come ahead and I just found myself just spamming the jump and hope for the best.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

You and I had a similar idea. Nice job!

Tinard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

fun game! =) nice work

Blinked says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25am

Cool idea, however it's very difficult haha. Also, make sure when you reset a scene in Unity, to also reset any static variables such as the timer.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

Time doesn't reset between levels.

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

Really unforgiving! Cool concept though, nice job!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32am

However apart from that there are some more problems. Overall your game was rathe poor in the whole graphics/audio department. This is really killing it's mood. Using the default UI skin the comes with unity GUI doesn't help either. However I found your use of the theme refreshing on paper, this did not translate into a fun game though. The reason was that even with the character walking so slowly I still couldn't see what was coming up in time.

Blinked says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

Also, the link to your source is not found.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:50am

The source link should be working now.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07am

Man, that central mechanic is pure evil, but I like it :). Clever use of the theme, but jeez Louise it's hard.

Blooperly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38am

Great idea, but it basically boils down to a random chance button masher. Still fun though :)

syradinegames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39am

Crazy hard game. I feel like that guy in Austin Powers who gets run over by the slow moving vehicle while he yells "NOOOOO" for 5 minutes.

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

It's kinda the same idea has mine, and I like it !
And it's very difficult ! Good job !

stenol says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Hard game but cool concept. Great work !

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:38pm

The delay was soooo tricky to navigate, could be a bit faster though

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:54am

interesting concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]