August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Frost

by coreym1988 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wasn't able to get this quite to where I wanted it to be, but I still managed to get it to a state where it's actually a game. I ended up spending way too much time on art and had to severely neuter the components of the game. Such as sound.

The goal is to create a tent to survive the winter. To do so, you must collect the scrap metal around your crashed helicopter, as well as a box of supplies. Once you have them all, you can construct your tent and enter it to win. The catch is that the temperature is so cold, you can't stay out in the weather for more than 10 seconds. To recover, you must rest in the wreckage of the helicopter.

The controls are as follows:
Arrow Keys to Move
Space to Enter Helicopter and Tent
Enter to Place Tent
P will quit the game when you're done playing.

Also, for some reason, there's a bug that causes the words to start offscreen. I don't know what's causing it but I'm trying to fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#158Graphics3.66
#520Theme3.22
#748Mood2.48
#804Innovation2.64
#953Humor1.44
#990Audio1.18
#993Fun2.34
#1003Overall2.55

Comments

teddy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26am

The concept would actually be pretty awesome in a full blown game. survival and scavenge! always a blast! +5 inovation

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

The artwork is great. I only wish that the player would rotate, but given that the game is somewhat isometric, that's a tall ask.

Also, I would've let the bar regenerate at a certain rate, rather than instantly, when inside the chopper.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Blaaaaaaaaa, THEEEERREE ISSSSSS NOOOOO LINUX VERSION :*(

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

If you happen to have Game Maker, the main file is there that you might be able to run. Unfortunately, I don't have any of the add-ons to allow me to export different versions.

lambomang says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

Interesting. It's a little bit on the short side though. Would've been good if the world was a bit bigger, and items were a bit further away.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25am

Aww...This sounds really cool, but the RAR file isn't extracting. Some files might be corrupted somehow?

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

I just checked it and what might be happening is your antivirus software getting rid of the .exe because that's exactly what it did to me. You should be able to restore the file so that it works properly, if that's the case.

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Super easy and short, but graphics were really good :) Also it'd be great if it wasn't full screen but a window.

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Artwork and concept are really nice!!
Too bad it's too easy.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Pretty cool. Loved the art. A little to easy and short though.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Good art. I'd suggest you take a look at the camera logic. It's kinda shaky.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Loved the graphics... think some audio would make this lovely :P

It's a nice small easy concept but it works :)

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Looks really nice. Too bad it's so short.

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

the hud is cut off for me other than that, pretty cool

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26am

Cool game idea, very nice looking graphics. However I found it a bit bothersome that neither ESC nor ALT+F4 would close the game after I won (I didn't see the "P" comment at first). Also, it seems you can build a tent and win without the box of supplies.

Overall pretty good though.

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41am

I am sitting without air conditioning in a heat wave, so this game was pretty welcome! Short and simple, but nice concept.

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Nice work. It only needs more levels. :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Pretty cool easy game. I enjoyed it loads and hope it gets expanded! I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:41am

Color palette is very nice! A little short and would like to play full version with a little better pixel resolution and more things to do.

psc1997 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:58pm

+10 for idea! Great survival idea!
Good graphics too! ;)
I want more games like this ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]