August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Get Out!

by LordHellMaX - Jam Entry

You are trapped in a dungeon, try to get out! The flashlight will last only 10 seconds but there are batteries scattered around that may help. Will you leave the mansion alive ?

Control:
WSAD or arrows to move. Mouse to look around. SPACE to shake the flashlight when out of light.

Bonus:
There's also an easter egg, it's hinted in the screenshots if you want to find it!

Here is the complete soundtrack along with the bonus 10 seconds tracks : https://soundcloud.com/fran-ois-bilodeau

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#22Mood(Jam)3.98
#55Audio(Jam)3.68
#105Theme(Jam)3.51
#132Overall(Jam)3.47
#186Fun(Jam)3.19
#243Graphics(Jam)3.45
#273Humor(Jam)2.47
#425Innovation(Jam)2.62

Comments

Plu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Nicely done! Also, pretty graphics :)

Deinonychus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

It should be noted that it's better experienced in fullscreen!
For web version: right-click, fullscreen.

As for the Music album it is a small goodie that contains ten 10 seconds tracks with a dark and creepy mood!

itamarcu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

It is awesome.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

This game reminds me of Amnesia: The Dark Descent. If that's what you were after, nice job.

I like the way the ghost hints you where to go, and the little noises and creaks to hint for doors. Really nice touch.

One thing that I miss in this game is a RUN FOR YOUR LIFE button. It would my life easier. Not that button is needed, because not being able to run adds some urgency to the task at hand.

The music is fantastic and fits the game's (and the jam's) theme pretty well.

On Windows 7 (64 bits) the text graphics (Press space to recharge, and etc) were cropped, therefore making it hard to read.

This game shouldn't be playing in a windowed mode, because by doing that, the immersion is gone. To add to the experience, I recommend playing this game without lights (the only light in your room should be provided by your monitor) and with headphones on maximum volume.

Good experience, sets a great mood. 9/10 will play and recommend it when finished. Well worth the 43 MB download...

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Cool game. It was fun and defiantly has potential to be the next scary game. The ghost was only scary the first few times though. I would suggest making the ghost affect you more beside taking a life when your flashlight dies. Make them affect you in someway when you see them(doesn't have to be a negative way such as drain health)

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41am

The game was pretty cool. I don't know what modeller you're using, but in Blender there is a modifier, "EdgeSplit", that would make your lighting look a lot better as many of your models have sharp edges. The vertices are all sharing normals, and this screws up the shading.

Also, it's too bad the theme was not "20 seconds", 10 seconds of play between charges is not much.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

Pretty fun, would be great to play with Oculus Rift. Nice job!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02am

It was a very nice mood. The graphics and sounds was very nice! But it was a little bit short and there wasn't that much to do. I enjoyed reading the texts on the walls ^^

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43am

Great mood. I jumped or got chills at various appropriate times while playing the game. There were some technical/art issues (seams where your verts weren't welded properly) and the very low lighting was a mixed effect. I think you could have achieved an even scarier feel by letting me see more of the space but using the space itself to hide more (curtains, desks, spaces between walls that i see going through doors, etc). Somehow, the absoluteness of the darkness made me feel more safe. Aaaaand then a ghost got me.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

The audio design was really good and helped hugely with the atmosphere!

I was unfortunately playing the game in a bright room and so couldn't see anything - after maxing out the brightness and gamma I saw the glowing green things and managed to exit, but I suggest making the contrast higher (keep the darkness black and scary, but make the small patches you can see brighter). Having the level hidden in darkness is scary, but having to squint to see anything broke the mood.

I really jumped the first time I saw the ghost. Good work.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

Damn! This looks awesome!!!

(i die all the time, yay!)

I have to say, i like it a lot! :) all aspects are fun! :D

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00am

Damn man, had me scared for a couple of moments there.
The music really builded up tension and ansiety near the end, I was expecting a screamer or a new ghost that'd be really scary! x)
Mouse is a little too sensitive, but a fun quick play!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

Awesome man, scared the crap out of me when I recharged the torch! haha

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

Pac-man the horror game. That's the best was to describe this.

You set up a good atmosphere and my palms were sweaty the whole way through. The creaking sounds were a great touch.

- AlucardX60

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17am

Nice game, with a good level of fear induced stress with the spacebar not working initially (the first time I needed to relight the flashlight I pressed it, then started rapidly mashing the button hoping for a light. One thing I did notice is that there seems to be something odd with the normals in some areas as the lighting seemed inconsistent with what I would expect from a flashlight. Sometimes one object or wall would me much brighter event if I wasn't pointed directly at it.

P.S. Thanks for your help in debugging my game. I have the issue fixed now so you should be able to run it.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

Great job on this, love the atmosphere you created and the little touches to each wall writing. It's getting close to October can't wait for Halloween now !

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13am

Very nice game. I really like the horror genre, and taking the time constraints into account, you really made a terrific game! Good job!

jpcote says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

Hi, I'm one of the Dev of Get Out !

Is any of you found the hidden room ?

The location of the door is in the screenshots ! (is it too obvious ?)

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Pretty darn creepy game, the ghost model isn't the creepiest, but I'm glad its more ambient and less of a jump scare kind of game. I really enjoyed it. The door creaking sounds and everything really helped as well.

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Hmm.. I walked for a little while, and when passing near the fireplace, it told me I'd survived and escaped. I think that's a bug? Nice game though, good mood.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Good job, you found the easter egg Steve :)

TheMaster99 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Pretty awesome game! The mood was great (although i played in half volume, because I'm a bit of a pussy when it comes to scary/horror games haha) Definitely has the potential to be made into a full game. Will definitely recommend to my friends.
Amazing work!

Jorqell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Surprisingly tense and creepy experience.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34pm

That's fantastic - I wanted more. Actually, if you keep working on this game I think it would be useful to implement some system to make it obvious where you'd already been previously - because the small fov of the torchlight makes it hard to get a sense of space. Perhaps some ambient sounds could give indications of your distance to "checkpoints" or ... I dunno... I just want moar!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I liked that you don't just die after 10 seconds, but you get to recharge your batteries first. That was a good design decision. The difficulty was just right. It would have been nice to get a better indication when you pick up batteries.

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

A bit slow for my taste, and the ghost was kinda cheesy :D

Norgg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I liked the slow pace of this, though I didn't really find the ghost that scary, especially when it showed up tauntingly and I could just walk through it. It did make me jump a little first time it appeared though.

Found the fireplace, which it's been hinted has some secret behind it, but couldn't figure out how to get through it, then got killed by the ghost even though I could still see by the light of the fire.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Great atmosphere! I really liked that there were no jump scares.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

this had a really good feel to it. enjoyed it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Well done, fellow Survival Horror makers! Sometimes felt that space did not work immediately though. The environment was maybe a little bland. But good job!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Well done. As far as I am concerned, ghosts are jump scares. BUT, hey, the game has a good atmosphere (I particularly liked the chairs squeaking as I walked past them) and the flashlight mechanic had the nice themed-take on itself, although I have no idea what was going on when it went dark since I only let that happen once on accident and panic-spammed spacebar. Good entry, I'll add this to my trophy-list of horror games I've completed for LD.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15am

Very cool! Although I didn't feel threatened at all by the ghosts once I realized the only way it could get me was by having all of my batteries run out. Great graphics and very good sound/music, even if it's a 10 seconds loop. Great job!

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15am

I loved the graphics are cool I liked the ghost, I'd like to see a more difficult version, great work!!

Gazok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

Great atmosphere! Battery hitboxes were a little small, and I found it hard to read the writing on the walls. Good music, cool graphics. Really reminded me of imscared and Penumbra.

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Awesome, makes me wish I'd been able to do mine in 3D.

alfie275 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Hi! Amazing that you managed such a game in only 3 days! I've done a video of this excellent game ;) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2dnB42mZBA I was unable to figure out the easter egg though! Hope the devs enjoy my playing of the game, if so (or if otherwise :/ ) please comment on the video page.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I was completely lost and couldn't get past the second room after several attempts. Nice use of the theme and still a fun game.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:01am

Good job, I was reminded of Amnesia.

cardboard says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

I really like the atmosphere you made with this game. The ghost was a lot scarier when my flashlight ran out than when I saw him in the doorways. The music fits the game very well. It was a bit short, but I enjoyed it while it lasted. :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

good job

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

really great job creating a terrifying atmosphere. *shudder*

zeh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Awesome entry. The ghost scared the shit out of me.

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Well done! Nice atmosphere throughout the game. I was genuinely kinda spooked at times! :D

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

Successfully creepy as hell. Good Work!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:49am

You've managed to create quite a scary mood (even though the ghost I found was kind of cute, but even so it still freaked me out once. Besides, I was fearing that it would be a decoy and there was some really, really frightening creature lurking out of the dark anytime soon). I was also reminded of Amnesia.

Great job!!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Cool Athmosphere, nice sound. Good Work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:41am

Holy crap that scared the sh@t out of me the first time I went through!!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I like the game's concept.

I think the graphics add to the mood, but I think some scary sound effects would add more than the piano.

Also, the ghost spooked me :)

Keep up the good work!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Really nice, creepy mood all over the game. I just wish there was more sense of danger or threat from those ghosts. They look soooo cute! :)

Codexus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Nice game, the ghost made me laugh! It was a bit unnatural to have to recharge the battery constantly maybe there could have been a way to use the theme that made more sense?

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:17am

the game is a bit hard but the executions is awesome and you have worked hard on graphics.
Amazing job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]