August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Short circuits

by Tavrox - Jam Entry

"Short circuits" is a multiplayer battle arena shooter. You are a robot among seven other. Each one of you will die in 10 seconds, but each robot carry a battery that the other can steal.

Then, you'll have to fight to stay alive :) !
Dont with Garry Williams & Tahir Vico (DoX)

You can play with your keyboard+mouse or with 4 xbox controllers. 1-4 players.

FOR PEOPLE WONDERING ABOUT CONTROLS : It's ZQSD because we have azerty keyboard :( Switch it to azerty keyboard if you wanna play easiliy ! Or use xbox controller

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I like the sound and the visuals, but I couldn't really play it because I never figured out the controls. Got S for down and Z for up or something like that - which was very confusing.

Tavibo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

i guess the game would be much more fun with fixed controls. But anyway, great music and great visuals.

Tavrox says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I've made an update about the controls. Sorry for it, it's made to be played on an Azerty Keyboard :/

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:45am

You should simply accept both Z and W for up, and A and Q for left, this way it would work with Azerty and Qwerty keyboards. :)

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49am

How am I supposed to shoot? (I'm using an Xbox controller) Also, is this normal that I just won by being killed several times in a row, without being able to collect a single battery? It seems I earned 10 seconds each time I died O.o

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50am

Or maybe I was just lucky and I spawned on a 62 seconds battery...

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:09am

I finally found the shoot key ! (It's RB)
Here's my comment after playing the game.
Beautiful visuals and great music, good idea. Some things prevented me from fully enjoying the game though:
- the controls, even with a controller: I would rather have the character aim in the direction he is moving, and I'd prefer an other shoot key.
- the enemies respawning super fast and in the same spawn point (maybe other enemies actually)
- dying at the moment I finally found where I just spawned (need some visual notification here, easily noticeable from the entire screen)

Other than that, it's a very nice concept, and very close to be a fully enjoyable game imo!

dox-vico says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

To Niavlys, Thanks you for your comments, i'm happy than you like my visuals ^^. Sorry for the problems... it's only because we didn't have the time to do everything :/ , for exemple, i created the animations (teleportations) for know where we will respawn, but no time for put it in the game. (sorry for my english)

Yakka says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:24pm

You should add a shield when you just spawned ^^ I think it's better in multiplayer :B

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]