August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Meowfinity and Beyond

by Cryovat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Meowfinity and Beyond is a bite-sized Metroidvania starring a stranded cat-robot with woefully low battery capacity.

"Dash through dangerous caves, meet new friends and push giant red buttons, all while keeping a vigilant eye on your battery timer!"

This is my third time entering Ludum Dare, and my first time submitting to the compo. I think it turned out pretty well. Unfortunately, I did not have time to add music and sound effects to the game.

The game has been tested in Chrome and Firefox, and requires a keyboard to play. Touch controls may be added to a post-compo version.

Game engine: ImpactJS (http://impactjs.com/)
Tools used: IntelliJ IDEA, Weltmeister (ImpactJS level editor), Cosmigo Pro Motion, Paint.NET

Please enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#77Graphics3.96
#150Mood3.39
#153Overall3.55
#165Theme3.64
#225Fun3.36
#339Humor2.65
#521Innovation3.00

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Lovely platformer!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15pm

This would have been perfect with some sound efects.

Take a look at sfxr! it's a cool 8-bit sfx generator ^_^

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Quite snazzy

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Well done

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Great game. I enjoyed it but the jump was a little weird.

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Great game, I really liked the level design and the writing (especially the "suicide" scene, too bad for the audio, but this is my favourite so far :D

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Really awesome graphics and I'm enjoying the story and gameplay so far. I want to keep playing but I can't get past the bit where there's a thin strip of blue and that takes you into a thicker bit. I can't work out how to avoid getting sucked up by it. Anyone got any tips?

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Never mind, I got it. *feels dumb*

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Thank you for the really nice comments. :)

Seems like the tractor beam track is giving everybody problems. I regret not taking it out. :(

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

That was brilliant!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

I love metroidvanias, so I am suspect on this one!
The game suffers from lack of sound, though. It could improve the mood and atmosphere a lot.
I liked it a lot nonetheless!

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

I really like the graphics. I think holding down Z to repeatedly jump would have made the large groups of stairs less annoying. Other than that, and the lack of sound effects and music, the game feels pretty solid. The game is puzzling enough to be challenging without being annoying. Great job!

Swizz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10am

Cool platformer and great scenario/setting. The game works well with the theme.

eoutvik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

Actually quite entertaining :) Well done!

Yell0w says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

The blue / brown colortheme really hits home with me! The game is pretty challenging, and has nice mechanics!

Darien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

Very nice game! The only thing I don't like about it is the shaking effect when you're at 5 power or below. It's a bit distracting, and, at least for me, it causes some slowdown.

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

I really like the graphics and the puzzly nature of this game. Great work!

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Good polished game, had a lovely time playing but it lacks some sound :'(

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23pm

REAL good graphics and all games that include cats in space is worth a good rating!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Very nice visuals. The time limit is a bit short for some passages. Also the jumping feels slow and unresponsive. This one has a lot of potential!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Cool game, some tough bits some, not s otough bits, I enjoyed my play through of the game, some robotic meows and other sfx would have added to the atmosphere of it and really finished it off but, for 48 hours, that's something reall neat!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Nice graphics. I liked the way pictures move accross the screen when someone talks. Nice platform design. I found the slow moving a bit annoying once you get to 5 seconds. Nice job overall!

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

Good looking pixels and some demanding gameplay. I like it a lot!

Tifu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I got stuck in the same bit HeyChinaski mentions...
The gameplay seems to slow down a lot when I reach the last 5 seconds, not sure if this is intentional and possible impacting my ability to get past somehow?

soulrot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The 'trigger' for the red buttons seem to be a bit larger than the button itself, which is annoying. Other than that this is definitely a nice game! (The jumping and lack of sound are already mentioned)

Cryovat says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:46am

Hi everybody, thanks for your nice comments. :)

The slowdown is intentional. Since you're at half power, you get half speed. To get through the blue beam trap, you need to have more than five seconds remaining. Try walking directly through it. Don't jump!

pighead10 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

I hate kittens and timed games and platformers. But other than that, I liked it.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:36am

It was rather distracting when the cat-robot portrait moved with every new speech bubble, but this is really solid otherwise. I could wish for WA[S]D controls, where W is jump and A/D moves you sideways.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:50pm

You must continue this game next LD. This was a great platformer!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Really nice, Has a really nice feel to it for a game with no sound, haven't really experience that before. A lot of level content which was really nice and the humour was funny, and overall I really enjoyed it, good job.

Kharza says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:26am

It's a CATastrophy! Just kidding it is really good! I should have played it on Caturday.

michail says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Great game! The level design is very smart, I love these dead-end corridors. One of the best I've played so far, would be even better with sounds.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Yes, another cat game! Would've liked to hear some sounds/music though. :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:33am

This is so cute! There's a heartwarming sense of companionship throughout from the story that kept me playing to the end.
The lovely characters really made all the difference.
Love this game so much!

BipoleMoment says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:20am

Top-notch! My only problem is that jumping is a bit weird, especially when going up "ladders" (steps on top of each other). Everything else is beautiful. The game itself is gorgeous.

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Good game, few collision adjustments and it would be sweet!

joekinglake says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Very nice, really enjoyable - my only complaint is that the screen always follows you, i think having a small distance where the screen doesn't follow you and you could move freely would benefit massively! It's definitely missing some music too. Great job though, otherwise thoroughly enjoyable!

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Yeah, don't do that thing where you don't give the player any cues as to where to go.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Really lovely. I really like the screen size.

manuq says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

A classical game well implemented.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Nice graphics.. Like others say the jumping isn't exactly what I expect from jumping in platformer game :-) Good job

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Thanks for all the nice comments. You all make feel all warm and fuzzy! <3

Making the jumping less awkward and better (chase) camera are things that are coming to the post-LD version. :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

Cute game. I wish I could make it past the tractor beam part.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

It's not as hard as you think. You just walk through it while you have > 5 seconds of time. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]