August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds

by Taffaz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of the game is to breed enough in your ten second lifespan to enable your offspring to create a swarm.

By breeding your green fly with the red flies you can spawn enough offspring to sustain your species. But be careful because the blue flies are trying to do the same.

Normal mode is where you control one fly whereas in dynasty mode you switch to another fly when your current fly dies. This continues until you have no more flies remaining.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Innovation3.67
#281Theme3.46
#508Humor2.29
#592Fun2.88
#660Overall2.96
#841Mood2.35
#947Graphics2.21
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

12323op says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17am

Awesome, I love it :D

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59am

this might be one of the most original ludum dare games, the concept is unique. I dont like the lack of music and the poor graphics, but its addictive to watch your insect population grow and grow :D. Nice entry

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

Pretty cool game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Currently trying to download the game, and it's quite slow. Not sure if it's just me, but may effect thoughts on your game, or lack of since it's hard to obtain.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

hahaha is awesome! i like it!

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Nice work. I enjoyed it. I reminded me of the SimAnt game for PC.

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Where is the music? The graphics aren't too great, but still I enjoyed getting more and more insects! ;)

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice to see someone try something new. Really satisfying when you're winning; frustrating to wait for another try if you've lost. Would have liked to see some kind of "fast forward" after you lose all your flies. Sound and music will make these feel pretty good, I think.

0xc0dec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Very funny =)

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

HAH! What an off-beat idea, I really like it. Props man.

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Intersting application of the theme in terms of context, but I guess using the 10 seconds as a time constraint is pretty obvious too...

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19pm

haha dynasty :D

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Really cool idea and Executed well too!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39am

Interesting game, I included it in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you want to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]