August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Small fish

by Diamonde - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How to play: You have 10 seconds to live between every oxygen intake, so make sure you breathe every now and then.
While you're in the sea you could try and explore the place and see if you find any new friends and forgotten treasures.

Controls: WASD or XBOX360 joystick.

Edit: Linux build added, but not guaranteed to work!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Graphics3.47
#247Audio3.10
#407Mood2.92
#600Humor2.17
#686Theme3.03
#832Overall2.77
#906Innovation2.47
#1011Fun2.30
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21am

Nice HUD-less way of showing the oxygen amount!

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11am

I agree with @rylgh - the HUD idea is very very nice. I like the looks, the moving fin and camera movement as you go near bottom. Still it lacks a bit of purpose and difficulty (currently you can die only by accident)

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18am

Agree with those other fellows about the great way of showing oxygen amount.

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I fourth the O2 Hud. Pretty neat idea! The music fit this game really well too! Loved the art style. Good Job!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

The music is great! The gameplay is a bit boring.. swimming from one point to another having few, limited stuff to explore..

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I like the graphics and music! Gameplay is a bit too boring though.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Nice little game for 48 hours.

jalfp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Very very nice but.. seriously? A fish getting out of oxygen in water?

Latcarf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Could you make a Linux version? I heard that it's easy for Unity games.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Its relaxing and creates nice atmosphere. It has cute visuals also. Nice one!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:26am

It was impressive to see just how much you managed to implement in the second day! It's a very relaxing game with smooth animations and pretty graphics. It might be a little hard to know where to look at first, maybe some small hint could be added for the treasures? Nice work! :)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22am

Cool game. I just wish that I could win. Also that I was a catfish.

Diamonde says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

@Latcarf: I just tried building for linux but I have no guarantee that it will work since I haven't tested it myself. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4457955/LD27%20-%20Small%20fish/Linux/Small%20fish.zip

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I think the gameplay go round in circles a bit. But I love the fish :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:39pm

The idea of showing the oxygen left in the main char was great. The gameplay was a little bit boring but very soothing. A tried to explore and whatnot but in the end I found nothing. :(

namuol says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:54am

Nice atmosphere and music -- the 10-seconds-to-live mechanic actually sort of took away from the more zen-like exploratory nature of the game, which is definitely the strong point.

With some more content/procedurally generated ocean floor, I could play for long stretches just to see what's "around the corner" :)

mamoniem says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:05am

I like the music, 2d art in a 3d camera. And the idea of breathing of course.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]