August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zombocalypse

by pillbrain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

up, down, left, right - to move
left control - swings your hatchet (only swings to the right)
c - brings up the construction menu, navigate with up and down and press enter to make something
i - brings up inventory. can navigate with up and down to see what you have and how much.
space - when you are touching a tree, this will harvest it for acorns and wood.

Zombies spawn outside the buildings every 10 seconds. If they touch you, you die, enjoy the worlds worst family guy impression and zombie moan.

You can kill zombies by hatcheting them or placing spike traps.

-> things to mention:
Maps a bit big but empty
Buildings can be entered but theres no point and its buggy with zeds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#592Humor2.18
#823Audio1.94
#938Mood2.18
#1057Innovation2.17
#1090Graphics1.92
#1111Fun2.00
#1158Overall2.08
#1175Theme1.70
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

The 10 second theme is not really apparent :)

Other than that it seems a bit too ambitious. There's no real incentive to go forward (no score, no goal).

pillbrain says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Fully agree, Ill post more details about what went wrong in the note section later, but basically I got massively over ambitious.

The original intent was to create a survival scavenge game where you could loot the houses and other world objects and build things, and that there would be NPCs who upon contact with a zombie would turn after 10 seconds (that was the intended theme link, it was also planned that some things would take 10 seconds to do).

Anyway long story short I got halfway through sunday and didnt have anything you could even approximately describe as a game, so I frantically chucked the updates together to make it into this.

The 10 seconds link is that that is the interval between zombie spawns (weak link).

Ah well, Ill know for next time to do something smaller :p

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Pretty good! I didn't like that the hatchet only swung to the left, and having to run an installer just to play a game was a bit much. Liked it overall, I am glad you added sounds. Keep it up.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Yeah, agreed with Endurion, but nontheless, still good effort :D

VardGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:00am

did not install just had an error

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

What? Zombies are always fun. Graphics are "unique"

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:03am

It appears that your concept got away from you, I couldn't really tell what the intended gameplay was.

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:53pm

@Vard: Need to unpack the .zip first...

Speaking of installers - does it really *have* to be?

Gameplay is a bit repetitive... cutting down stuff for resources is always awesome though, as long as it doesn't feel like grinding. Zombies are cool, too^^

Theme representation is a bit low, if there was any "reason" for Zombies to spawn at that rate, it would make sense, but right now, it just feels a little random (also, I wouldn't even have noticed that without the programmer's comment)

The game

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:55am

I won't be playing this one because it requires an install on a windows machine. I can only play Windows games on breaks at work, and I am unwilling to do installs on a work computer. I am glad you learned something, though. :D That's the best part of Ludum Dare!

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:30pm

not good use of the them ... gaphics need work ... but fun game play

Erhune says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Good effort, but I guess you were a bit too ambitous :) Next time maybe focus on less features, but more polished? I liked the sounds quite much, though :p

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:25am

Great idea but in its current form its pretty buggy and feels disjointed. As far as bugs go I couldn't seem to find a key to restart when I died and had to close it out and relaunch it each time. Also, planting a tree left me stuck inside the tree unable to move. The zombies appear apparently at random and only being able to attack or place traps to the right makes them tough to deal with for no clear reason.

I'd really like to see this taken further. Its a great idea and it sounds like you have big plans for it. I'd really enjoy a resource gathering / zombie survival game and you're off to a good start here.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:56am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Mekuri says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:33pm

This was.. special.. If you ever decided to finish this game, I really think the idea is great. Resource gathering, building stuff, all while killing zombies. It would be great. Too bad you got over ambitious ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]