August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ab Solanum

by doonay21 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to install XNA 4.0 to play this game. Install process is simple and fast :)

General info:
Discover each map, find a key to unlock next stage and collect nice shiny coins. Every 10 seconds you will get random power-up!

Keys:
Up and Down - Move forward and backward
Left and Right - Rotate left and right
Space - Shoot
B - Bomb

Linux and (I hope) Mac ports will come soon!


IF GAME DOES NOT WORK PLEASE READ BELOW!

Game should run right away, but in case it wont, please make sure you have installed this two things:

- .NET Framework 4 Client Profile
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=E5AD0459-CBCC-4B4F-97B6-FB17111CF544

- XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=a88c6dec-aeae-42cd-a108-d35c013c3b97

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#209Audio3.19
#425Mood2.89
#428Overall3.18
#491Humor2.33
#512Graphics2.95
#612Innovation2.88
#655Fun2.80
#851Theme2.82

Comments

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37am

Interesting idea. The bullet collision is spotty (though bullet collision tends to be tricky).

rot13 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

Really enjoyed this one. My only complaint is that bullets' collision detection sometimes fails, so they tend to fly through enemies or get stuck in a wall when character is close to one.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

@rot13: Yup i know.. bullets are Achilles' heel of my game, but really had no time to fight this "bug". You can use bombs (B key) to fight enemies as well ;)

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53am

This was the first game I played to completion because I wanted to, not because I felt it necessary to judge it fairly. It is very well made, I did not encounter a single glitch or error the entire time. It was short, but you did a lot with that time, and while the core mechanics were simple, you built on them a lot. My two complaints are that the graphics are fuzzy and it was hard to tell what direction I was facing, and that the 10 second theme seemed more like an afterthought. You could take it out and have much the same experience. Overall very well done.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

I suck at this :D Good entry though - I like the concept, I'm just terrible with keyboard controls ;) Loving the music.

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

Hello! Really nice that the game seems finished and has all the components you would expect from it. :)

Great sound and interesting graphics style, though at times it feels more blurry and less pixel-art. Though the blur makes it rather unique. Also it's sometimes difficult to tell which way your character is facing.

Gameplay is quite fun, unrestricted angle movement is a nice touch.

The bomb does damage through walls though, and can sometimes be illegally placed to crash the game. (Not 100% sure the two are related!)

One thing that is missing though, is the motive of the character. What is he trying to do? Even if the storyline is just one sentence, it really adds a lot for me personally, because then i can project what to expect in the future levels, or upon beating the game. It keeps players motivated. (Sorry, if the storyline is implied or revealed later, haven't finished the game yet!)

Can't stress enough that the game has a real nice finished feeling, lot's of detail and content. Great work!

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18am

Looks and sounds good, quite understandable and feels quite polished, but I have a really hard time to play it, partly because I can't distinguish the sides of the main character so I end up going in the wrong way :( But it's well made.

HardScore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

The music is great the gameplay is fun and the graphics are nice. the controls are not the best but its still a very solid entry, good job!

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21am

Interesting idea. I like the game itself, but I'm kind of annoyed with the graphics. It feels like if the assets were at twice the resolution they currently are at, it would look less ...blurry.

Mobs also seem to decide randomly to attack, and sometimes don't attack even when provoked.

Bullet collision seemed problematic, the bullet spawns in front of you at a certain distance, and moves really fast.

But these are all things that are fixed easily and don't interrupt the game too much. Good job!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I liked the game and the idea! Great job!

I found the blurry graphics detracted from the experience, at least for me. It just made it difficult to see which way the character was facing. Other than that, I enjoyed it!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

really awesome!

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

+1 Your game is good, funny and the music catchy!
-1 It's difficult to control the character and the images are too blurry.
I was so disappointed when AbSolanum.exe crashed at the level 10(because I was firing on everything with the speed bullets) :'(

reheated says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

It's fun and has a lot of gameplay for two days' work. Nice work incorporating lots of the runner-up themes!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

Pretty cool. It really felt like a finished game (although, as stated before, it was sometimes hard to understand, which direction your character is facing). Still, a very nice experience. Keep up the good work, man :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Not bad. Style was your best aspect here. Gameplay was a bit confusing and collisions a bit spotty.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58pm

good job

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

First off I think the music is pretty catchy. I didn't particularly like the controls, it would have been much easier to control the movement of the player using up, down, left, right as directional input and using the mouse or another system for firing. I also agree with others that the graphics need to be crisper, at first I had difficultly understanding exactly which way my character was pointing. Finally, unless I missed something, I wished there was a way of disabling cameras - I thought that would lend something to it.

Nice good though ^^

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Great soundtrack, actual game was let down a bit by the spotty collisions, and I couldn't get on with the control system at all. It felt too fast paced for rotational controls.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Oh, by the way - you were asking about an Android version of my game : https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=uk.co.beercave.ld27
:)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Why was it so blurry? It hurt my eyes :( it distracted from game.
Overall it was pretty good. Collision needs to improve. And the idea of controlling forward/left/right was a bit unusual.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10am

I often get killed by the cameras. :( Wish I could destroy those cameras...

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:41am

Audio was great, good job overall!

Sense says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31am

Great graphics!

Delca says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I liked it! Although I found the secondary themes to be more important than the main one (I did not feel like powerups had that big of an impact over my playthrough).
Graphics were cool, I like the blurry effect and the big pixels.
Controls were somewhat hard at first because of being used to a standard WASD scheme.
Nothing to say about bullet detection because I did not shoot a single ennemy in the entire game (adding a nice challenge to some levels).

Vaughn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04am

Very enjoyable experience. Polish and content was very good. Very nostalgic of the DOS-era for me. I finished the game without even realizing there was bullets or bombs... I definitely need an achievement for that :P

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:36am

The tank controls where a bit confusing at first, but after getting used to it, I enjoyed the game.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Vaughn there you go: http://i.imgur.com/TEDcTpO.png

Vaughn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Hahahaha, thank you kindly! Maybe I'll give it another run using the proper game mechanics :P

Niavlys says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

I love the graphic style, and the music is very nice too. It's a nice idea to introduce more complex physics with the orange boxes, but it's easy to get stuck between a box and a wall =/ The movement was very hard to get used to, in my opinion it could be greatly improved. It's hard to determine precisely my orientation when I'm standing still. All this makes the game extremely hard (for me at least), and I don't feel inclined to continue. =/
But, as I said, I love the visual feeling and audio.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Actually it's much easier to do a speedrun, without caring about the coins. ^^
I encountered some crashes as well.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

A bit hard, but a very fine use of the theme!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:19am

Good take on the theme and very cool setting! Nice art style too.

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Interesting unike game. Never played human character with more-like car controls :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Funky music. Not sure what i'm doing in game, but I'm getting a Monaco vibe.

Are you aiming for 1000 games rated?

doonay21 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I have no idea if it is even possible but I am aiming for 2213 ;)

Alexander says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:03pm

nice one

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I didn't get far, but nice mechanic. Maybe some better way to position crates? :)

infernet89 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Really liked the pixellated-style of the graphics, and the possibility to move boxes.. Didn't liked the control scheme or the fact that enemies are very similar to my player.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:54pm

The graphics were alright. I feel as though the game might have been easier to control using a mouse. I like the concept of the game, and the TNT was fun to use. Nicely done.

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Great, music is very cool, and this graphic ^^ But controls are some irritative for me ;D Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]