August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Taen Saeck

by Typedeaf - Jam Entry

******** Controls ********
Arrow keys for moving
z - Pickup loot and drop loot at the gate
x - Motivate your Hero!
c - Use selected consumable item
a/d - Select consumable item

***** Post Compo *****

Changes:
1.0
Added save feature. Game will save when entering and exiting Town Screen (the shop), and can be continued using "Continue". "New Game" will erase old save file, so be careful!

******** Story ********
The mysterious 10-second horde is rampaging outside the city gates, and nobody feels motivated enough to take the fight to them. Nobody except the world's greatest life coach squire Taen, and her trusted Hero Saeck!

Brave the 10-second spawning hordes for loot and glory! Upgrade your Hero and your Motivational skills!

******** Tips ********
1: Health, armor and weapons are good things to upgrade first!

2: Upgrading the hero speed makes the enemies harder, faster. It may be a good idea to take it slow in the beginning!

3: If you try to pick up a nearby gold coin or similar, the Squire will drop the lowest value loot currently in her inventory, if it's worth less and the inventory is full!

4: Stay behind the hero! The squire is frail and is easily defeated. If the squire is defeated, you lose the loot in your inventory :(

5: The squire can pick up loot from a little distance, don't be a zero and stay behind your Hero!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#88Fun(Jam)3.48
#102Humor(Jam)3.22
#109Overall(Jam)3.52
#183Innovation(Jam)3.22
#196Mood(Jam)3.17
#226Graphics(Jam)3.52
#335Audio(Jam)2.67
#385Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

Seems fun! Although it seems like progression is really, awfully slow. Couldn't get very far, even after 10 minutes of playing or so =/

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

Good Lord it's Dragon Warrior all over again. I just sunk 2 hours into this game. I like the bit of story at the beginning and the art style has it's own charm to it. The only real problem is that it takes a while to get the ball rolling. After upgrading my weapon 3 times I finally felt like I was playing. The music also gets really repetitive after a little while. I had to take my headphones off.
Also if you follow it postmortem I would suggest a save function. Sinking 2 hours into it only to lose the progress if I close the window is really disappointing.

-AlucardX60

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51am

Really nice atmosphere, the graphics are good and I love the background which changes position when you move and makes perspective. Great soundtrack too. :)

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

Love the art style. Also, good idea and music (some sfx would be a nice add for a future version).

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01am

Fun! but it is very slow

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20am

Managed to sink in quite a bit more time into this than I had planned. Fun game, though it does get a tad repetitive after a while.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28am

Like the others said it starts pretty slow but I didn't really mind that. Fun little game, like a mix of Age of War and Recettear's dungeoneering segments!

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20am

Pretty great idea, but as mentioned before, the hero moves very slow. Still a good effort!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36am

Funny game! It has a good complexity. Hero is a little bit too slow. Overall a very nice game. High Rated! :-)

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I like the idea that you are supporting the hero. The skill tree and all the items you could buy felt very complete. The humor was also good. Unfortunately it was a bit too slow-paced.

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Eh, kinda dull for me, but I'm sure other people would really like this kinda thing if they spend enough time with it. Music is really annoying for me though.

flarb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Love the art style!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Very slow, but the graphic has some style! I think the 10-seconds theme is not so important here

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Excellent entry, very complex and yet easy to play. Although it was a bit hard for me with my Germany keyboard layout, so if you could fix that, that would be great. :-)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Love the art! Progression was a bit slow for me, but pretty good otherwise!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I have a weakness for upgrade games, and this is a great one.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25am

As others have said, it may be a bit too slow, meaning your upgrades do not really upgrade fast enough.

I ran straight from the beginning to the right, never encountering any bad guy, but than my big friend started taking damage. I ran to his rescue and woke him up. But then I realized the ennemies are appearing in front of you, quite close to the hero (it's not that much of a bad thing).

There are some really cool innovative ideas along often seen elements. But it was quite fun! Good job :)

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

Oh and also, cool cartoony graphics, especially the background. I'd like a better song, but hey good work on the rest!

Surrealix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

I was a bit sceptical when I fired this game up. The music was a bit grating and the graphics cute but in an MS-paint sort of way.

Then I spent 3 hours playing it.

As others have mentioned, the progression felt a little slow at times, but I think it was well balanced and you wouldn't want to make it too much faster. However if you develop this game further, please please please get some more varied music. And please finish the graphics for the last items! I was very disappointed when they didn't look any different after the upgrades.

I didn't realise upgrading the speed made the enemies harder, so I probably lost a lot of time in the beginning fighting difficult enemies when it wasn't worth it. Perhaps a more balanced/varied mechanism for the enemy strength would be good.

I'd appreciate a boss / final monster to get some sense of closure. However I also appreciate this is Ludum Dare and nobody expects people to play their game for hours on end! As someone else mentioned, a save function would be nice.

Finally, I was impressed by how well everything fit together to make what felt like a very complete game. Thanks for the experience!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:27am

Really fun game! Gets a 5 for humor for the theme and starting story, really liked it! It's one of those flash-kind of tower defense and such games that just suck you in and for no reason you end up playing very long without noticing and want to keep going just to max stuff out :)
good job!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58am

Live Game review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831075

Jorqell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I wasted hours on this, good job!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Haha, I really like the story, it's pretty charming! Good premise as well. The animation is fun to watch, it really conveyed cheering :D

The game pace is slow at start though, but picked up well once you get some good upgrades. This is a pretty good game!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Is there a way to save the game? If not, maybe add it!

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

I used to play these types of games ALL the time when I was a kid, I really enjoyed it.. could've been more balanced, but I'm not judging based on "shoulda-coulda". This is so far one of the most fun games I've played!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

The idea is quite interesting and in-game graphics are colourful and cute. Unfortunately, the pace is too slow. Fixing that detail could work wonders. Still, great job, congrats! :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38pm

I got really hooked with this game, but the progression it too slow.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Lovely graphics and skill tree!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

I think you hit innovation straight in the face! with a burly unshaven hero. Fun game!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Had too much fun playing. It's too addictive, ahahaha. But yeah, kinda slow in the beginning every time and gets monotonous after a while.

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

So very, very addicting. A bit too slow paced though.
Love the background art and the music works well even after a few hours in this game.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

good job

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I spent upwards of two hours on this last night, and I think I'll go back and play some more! I like the graphic style a lot, especially the backdrop. The music does get repetitive but I guess that's a hazard when you make a game people want to play for hours!

I did not mind the progression rate, but I'm a total sucker for these sorts of games. I did have an interface issue with the upgrade screen, which I suspect was because I don't have a widescreen monitor, but the graphics and tooltips did not line up. The only things I could not buy were in the column farthest to the right, so it was still playable, but very confusing at first. I will be happy to elaborate if that's helpful.

Overall a great game, one I'd be willing to pay for with a little refinement (and a save function!)

Niavlys says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Several good ideas here, nice work. The progression seems very slow, as other people have said.

Toadpud says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I loved the graphics and the music! I think the game would be a lot more fun with some satisfying combat sounds, though.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Good idea, nice execution, fun to play!

Post-jam version link doesn't work for some reason, though.

Typedeaf says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Oops, accidentally moved the post compo file in dropbox x| fixed now

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:10pm

good idea but it is sooo slooow i could not take it -- nice effort

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:00am

Fun game. Those 'buy to level' games always do well. Fun idea and worked out well.

metjm says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:49pm

a

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]