August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Extreme Trauma Surgeon

by Blooperly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Live the life of an EXTREME TRAUMA SURGEON! This game is a homage to Warioware and other such frenzied mini-game collections of the past. You have 10 seconds to cure your patients (each of which suffers from a Ludum Dare themed disease). This game is chock full of button mashing and horrible voice acting by ME! Levels get progressively harder, see how far you can get!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#67Humor3.63
#489Mood2.81
#535Audio2.59
#626Graphics2.77
#639Theme3.09
#639Fun2.82
#763Innovation2.70
#832Overall2.77

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

I have no idea what's going. But the panicked faces of the characters are quite amusing :P

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Fun and original, loved the opening cutscene

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Dr Bigheads reaction when he finds out it's Ludum Dare day is priceless :D

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Haha very fun ! Too bad there isn't more situations. Also it's a bit frustrating to wait for the 10sec to finish

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Yeah, both problems I could have fixed with more time. I had work for like 4 hours on Sunday, so I didn't get to polish it as much as I would like.

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

fun concept, had fun while playing it, great entry man!

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Sadly only the (extremly funny) intro voice track played. Would have loved to see what's happening in the game. (I'm on Chrome 29.0.1547.57, no messages were displayed in the javascript console)

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Very funny game. The opening cutscene is fantastic, haha Nurse Melons. With a few more minigames it would be perfect. I also love the top of the pill bottle falls into the patients mouth.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Really fun + original game! Made it all the way to the 4th or 5th injection, but there were no more veins so I just stabbed him a couple timed :D Great job!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

A great parody and fits well to the theme, but the game itself lacks variety and innovation. It is basically just doing the same two quick time events over and over again. Not such a great game. :)

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

@Cschwartz sorry man! I'm not sure what the problem is there.
@Benwhi yeahhh that's the part that can't be beat :P I could have fixed that but I ran out of time.
@zuige parody of what? Yeah, I wanted more events, but 48 hours isn't a lot of time to work, especially when you have irl things to do.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

The frame rate was slow (hope it was my computer), would have liked a place with the controls.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Pretty nice game! if there were more levels it would be even better!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

It'd be nice if the cutscene was skippable, for situations like when you play it again.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50pm

The timer is a bit useless and it's a shame that there are only two mini-games.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

I can't even express through words how much emotion this evokes. Really hit home. 5/5

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09am

Definitely a funny one!

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I didn't get to hear the audio unfortunately (Firefox 24), but I liked the graphics and the frenetic button-mashing. I like minigames, please make more!

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:25am

I really love the amusing style of this game. The 10 second minigames idea is one I'm very fond of too. I loved Wario Ware, and this very much reminded me of it. When you have to pick up the seringe, I was thinking of the nose minigame the whole time :P .

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Interesting game, love the fact that you took the time to do many different minigames. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

very fun i'd like it if there were more levels but it's still good

dj_pale says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:40pm

A bit short, but good humor!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:44am

Pffhaha... This is sooo weird...But I like it!
That's exactly what happens to Ludum Darers...

Citiral says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:55am

Really neat game! I loved it, especially the intro cutscene

entrusC says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:30am

Damn, I think he is dead, Jim! On the other hand he also swallowed the cap ;)

I really enjoyed playing that game but I think I killed the patient :P

GFM says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Nice game. :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I first tried it with Firefox, but the audio does not play, which is half of the fun. But with crome it works well and it is quite funny. Well done!

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:06am

Excellent artwork!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]