August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Every 10 Seconds a Window Washer Falls to his Death

by dom2d - Jam Entry

Based on an article on the Onion of the same name exaggerating the rate at which window washers die, our game sends you, with a jetpack, to save these poor cleaners from a horrible death. Read it, it'll explain how we're following the theme! (Plus the ropes take 10 seconds to break :P )

Controls:
Fly around with WASD or the Arrow keys.

How to Play:
Heal ropes by flying over them, kick birds and save falling cleaners!

In Hardcore mode, the game is over at first death.
In Chaos mode, a death meter fills up with each dude splashed on the ground - don't let it fill up completely and try to clean 100% of the building!

PRO TIPS:
- You can bounce off the edges of the screen, left, right, bottom and top. Use this technique to keep your momentum when switching directions!
- Some low-flying birds aren't a menace, don't waste time kicking them... unless you really just want to kick ALL THE BIRDS!
- You can heal two ropes at a time if you position yourself right in between the two!

Made by Dom2D (Art), Fernando Serboncini (Code) and Ryan D. Roth (Sound). See Credits section for music credits!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.38
Coolness100%
Overall(Jam)4.32
#8Humor(Jam)4.23
#15Innovation(Jam)3.96
#15Audio(Jam)4.01
#28Theme(Jam)3.83
#31Graphics(Jam)4.42
#33Mood(Jam)3.87

Comments

fserb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Just made a post about it: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/every-10-seconds-a-window-washer-falls-to-his-death-2/

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

love it :D

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

Awesome! :)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

This game is amazingly high quality for a Ludum Dare game. I spent over an hour playing this, very well done :) And the graphics seriously gorgeous.

puttputt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

This is unreal!

Danex317 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Great Job! It took a little bit for me to realize I was healing the wires. Then it all made more sense.

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

I was really impressed, this is my current favourite in this ludum dare.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

This game is as polished as a nice shiny window.

domrein says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

This is awesome! Good work guys!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

Wow. This entry is just incredible.... Ludum Dare 10/10!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51am

It's incredibly awesome!
Make me laugh a lot!
Excellent work! 5/5 in all! =)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15am

Dom! I missed you! This game is freaking hilarious! I love it. Frantic and super smooth gameplay, with awesome art and sounds. Love the little references on the ground floor. And I really want to kick a bird right now. Awesome job!

7Soul says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

I couldn't help myself from giving it a 5 on everything. It deserves every single one of those stars

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

Hilarious, simple, and well executed!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02am

Rofl, great game guys!

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

funny game & new unique idea :)

kazukishida says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02am

Looks, feels, and sounds incredibly polished! I had a blast trying it out man, great job!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35am

That intro bird-kick cracks me up every time. Fantastic work, plays really nice.

Andrio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41am

BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME? SOMEONE JUST DIED Q-Q

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58am

kick ALL THE BIRDS!

My only complaint is that it was a bit sluggish on my computer. Super fun. Needs a high score table!

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53am

Great game!

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Thanks for playing, commenting and voting everyone! We're so glad you all seem to enjoy our dumb little game! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46pm

10/10 nuff said :D

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49pm

As usual incredible graphics funny idea I love it :)

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Fine mechanics and smooth controls.

DuFF says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Great entry!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Really great overall.
I really like the dynamic of the game, you always have something to do and it's always possible.
I guess it's what is called a great game design.

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Very good game. The sound effects are maybe a little it too loud.

Beavl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice little game! Take on the theme is really funny, heh. And birds! As the onion described it: “it is not unusual for one window washer to be smashing into the ground while a second flails and screams in midair and a third, somewhere above, is beginning to lose balance.” Congrats!

N427 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Loved it, one of my favorites so far! Died in Hardcore after 1:27 and only managed to clean 62% in chaos but still incredibly fun!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Great job! Had a lot of fun with this one.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Really great quality and fun game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Really great! Gameplay is fun, and love the graphics and the music, just overall incredibly well polished. Wouldn't think it was done within 72 hours just by looking at it.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Amazing graphics and super great controls and everything just feels right.

TeamBob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Great Game! I love the style :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

This game is absolutely brilliant! Great idea and execution, the game is utterly hilarious and the sound effect totally nail it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I can't decide if this is the game of the jam or the best Ludum Dare jam entry ever. Can't think of any constructive criticism as it's great in every respect. Amazing work!

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Very nice work ! Very smooth game control. Good game ! :)

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

This is so amazing! I love the aesthetics, the theme, the design, and just the general feel of everything. Great job guys!

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm

very nice theme usage!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09pm

That was pretty hilarious. Amazing style. Simple elegant gameplay.

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Just wonderful. Couldn't stop laughing at the terrible screaming sounds they'd make when they fell in contrast to the cheery music and visuals!

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23am

This. Is my favorite. thing. evar.
The sprites were da best. seriously like they suit the mood so well. I had way too much fun playing this. One of my favorites for sure.

dom2d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:47am

I posted a tiny Post-Mortem for this game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/every-10-seconds-post-mortem/

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:51am

Awesome!

netgrind says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55am

That was great. The jetpack felt nice and loose and the game was a blast to play. I love the animations especially kicking the birds in the face. Well done!

plancien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

soooo nice ! slick graphics

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:37am

Incredible graphics and clever yet simple idea. Rated very highly, similar to where I picture this ranking overall :)

0beah says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:53am

Brilliant!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:32am

That was amazing, very fun!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:55am

So far my only gripe is the loading time. But after playing it was well worth it! Rate me back!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:03am

brilliant. very well polished and fun to play. great job!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:11am

Really epic presentation! The core mechanics works well, the gameplay is great fun. The sound and music is superb! Good use of the 10 sec theme. Enjoyed this :)

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48am

The sound design in this is really great, had me grinning the whole time haha! The controls were also really smooth, and the art cute as heck.
It feels like a really complete package, all parts complimenting each other, so cool

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Very well polished. I only wish that Chaos mode was a little faster.

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Superb! An amazingly polished game with gorgeous art and sound. Above all, it was really fun to play - I've already spent more time on it than any other game so far. Awesome work.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Amazing!
As chaos mode wore on, it almost seemed like a good idea to let the ropes wear out and just save the falling window washers. I never had to to hang out in one spot and heal the ropes.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Made me smile on the inside. Not on the outside though because fun is not allowed.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:59pm

This is probably the most complete game I've seen so far! Remarkable amount of tightness and good control for such a quickly made game. Functions really well as an old-school arcade style game. Aaaand just enough weirdness to satisfy me.

dom2d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Thanks everyone! We're so happy you guys and gals enjoy our game! ^_____^

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Really dug this one, Great job!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:12am

Whoooa, great game! The graphics give me a Fallout vibe, the humor is great, and the game is very polished.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:53am

OMG, this is so hard and so fun, my brain is in conflict! Great job, guys!

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

Everything is really well made, the mechanics are excellent, just love it, good job ! But still, I'm not sure about the theme...

dumasflo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Lots of fun, very polish, would be great on mobile/tablet !
Great great job dudes ;)

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

My favorite entry to LD so far :D

Antidote says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I love this game! xD Hilarious and pretty well done!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

good job

zlowrance says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Great game! Really enjoyed it :D One of my favorites

Toshiro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Yeah ! I love it ! Beautiful art and music, love the gameplay. But it's very hard ! :D

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

A fitting tribute to all the window cleaners that fell to their deaths.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

Really fun! Also made me laugh a bit.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Such a perfect game. This is probably the only one that I can see myself playing over and over again. I almost hate it because its so good... DAMN YOU!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:07am

Awesome. Nothing to add.

Blooperly says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Wow great game. I love the physics!

bitowl says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:58pm

that music fits soo well. couldn't stop laughing :D

Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Fantastic game! Can't stop playing it :). Love the window-washing theme, too...Great job!

AlvaroH says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Amazing game!! Congratulations!!!

AdricZero says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:24pm

The entry I have rated highest in all categories.

imef says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Cool game! Very funny! ^^

Diptoman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:30pm

This is probably the best game I've played this LD(yet). Ad I've played a lot. Just...too good!

Ithildin says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Amazing entry. Windows washers were so cute it hurt to lose any of them.

Really polished in all categories. Great job!!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Nice!

TomCooper3D says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:42pm

awesome stuff really addictive and fun great job

BNeutral says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:25am

Damn those birds! I really like it.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:33am

Loved the soundtrack, but I wish the falling voices wouldnt ruin it. Fun game and very polished.

graytest says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Loved it! It's a lot of fun and the graphics are great!

GreyShock says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Really funny!! Good job :)

dom2d says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:32am

Yay we got an interview on IndieGames.com! Wooooohooo! ^_^ http://indiegames.com/2013/09/screenshot_daily_game_jam_week_3.html

dom2d says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:51am

Featured in today's Worth Playing on GiantBomb!
http://www.giantbomb.com/videos/worth-playing-09-13-2013/2300-7941/

ravine says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

The game was really fun to play.

manuq says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nicely made! Ideas can come from everywhere.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:39pm

This is brilliant, it's full of character and lots of fun to play. The feedback is so polished that it feels good to fly around, and the voice acting is well done!

Chaoseed says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 12:23am

This is hilarious. "Chaos Mode" is aptly named!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]