August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Time

by DaGamesta - Jam Entry

Play as a ninja, but you must be on time, not a second early nor a second late!

Try to finish all the levels as close to 10 seconds as possible, the closer to 10 seconds the higher your score.

Controls:

Space - Jump
Down Arrow Key - Dive

Modes:

Normal: 10 random levels of increasing difficulty.
Marathon: Play all 100 levels in a row.
Vault: Play any of the 100 levels of your choosing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Theme(Jam)3.48
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#298Mood(Jam)2.89
#304Innovation(Jam)2.96
#305Overall(Jam)3.09
#313Graphics(Jam)3.18
#411Audio(Jam)2.41
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

We've very recently discovered that there may be problems running the game on some Macs, I have not tried it on Linux yet. Feedback is welcome.

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

I love it when I get to play as myself. Ninja time is the best time.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Nice. I think the game should have felt a bit faster.

tiagosr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

Are there any other dependencies to the game code? I can't seem to run it on my Win8 64b machine with latest JRE =/

nastynate says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

Pretty nice. Not very creative but solid.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38am

I like how you don't die when you come in contact with hostile objects, it's much better than repeated deaths to beat the same level.
Did you make the graphics yourself?

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39am

"tiagosr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am
Are there any other dependencies to the game code? I can't seem to run it on my Win8 64b machine with latest JRE =/"

Same here...

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice take on the theme. The game ran fine on linux and was pretty hectic.
Nice Levels!

Thomas Ingham says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Not working on my Mac.

Exception in thread "Thread-3" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at com.sun.media.sound.MixerClip.open(MixerClip.java:202)
at com.LudumDare27.MichaelWojnar.Sound.<init>(Sound.java:18)
at com.LudumDare27.MichaelWojnar.Game.loadContent(Game.java:494)
at com.LudumDare27.MichaelWojnar.Game.initialize(Game.java:396)
at com.LudumDare27.MichaelWojnar.Game.run(Game.java:368)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:680)

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Good job! I like the fact that you are not punished by 'Game over' when you reach 10 seconds.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Good game and great idea! I like vault mode, it lets me try to find a better way before giving another level in my face :D

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

@theholychicken
Yes, all graphics/music was made by us, the sounds were not.

@Generalgore Good question, I'll look into it, most people don't seem to have a problem though.

@Thomas Ingham Aha, was hoping someone would post something for me to go off of. Sound seems troublesome on Macs, I'll have to look into it.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

This was fun, I love the simple controls and the idea of non-lethal obstacles, especially as a contrast to how lethal our game ended up! Base character movement felt a little slow, but otherwise great job! The one touch controls would make it an ideal phone or tablet game!

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Very fine game. Quite fun to play. A lot of different levels, with varying difficulty.

However, the goal of the game, to get to the goal as close to 10 seconds as possible, could be a bit clearer in the game itself: like better feedback, when you get to the goal or maybe a time-based score?

I really liked the graphics

Mjiig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03pm

This is a really neat take on the theme, but the controls were very hard for me to use, so I found i just had to jump and run forwards continually to have any chance of finishing the levels at all.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Don't really understand how was calculated the score. Good work anyway ! ;)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Always fun when you get to play as a ninja.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Working well on my mac, last version of Java
Some levels are hard ! :)
I like the idea of just playing the levels, and even if you die you continue playing and go to the next level.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:24pm

@flavio
Thank you! That's what we were going for, a kind of arcade where you play for the sake of getting better and getting a better score each time, but without the hindrance of stopping right when you die.

Also, nice to know it works on at least one Mac, it seems there really must be some general dependency issue, useful information.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

coll little spin on bit trip runner games.

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:27am

really cool music and gameplay.

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:21am

Great entry, I like the sound effects and the graphics! Only a fitting font is missing. Good job on adding so many levels! I had no problems on my Mac.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:36am

just a while ago a friend of mine was talking about hypothetical arcade-style gameplay that is not about death. I called bullshit on him. looks like I'll owe him an apology.

imef says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Interesting idea! graphics are nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]