August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Room Rush

by rogerklotz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Room Rush is a platformer where you can adjust how fast time passes. If you complete the level under 10 seconds you can advance to the next. See if you can beat my average time of 3.666 seconds for all 10 levels!

I originally wanted to have 2 modes, one where the speed mod affects the timer and one where it doesn't. Unfortunately, only had time for the former.

Tools/frameworks used: Libgdx, Eclipse, sfxr, audacity, paint.net, hiero

I may release an android version at some point.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Theme3.74
#246Fun3.33
#569Overall3.04
#602Audio2.46
#622Humor2.13
#769Innovation2.69
#848Mood2.33
#876Graphics2.35
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

nice and simple.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

Pretty fun! I tried to bum it through without using slow-mo and failed miserably and had to use it after all.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Good job, nailed the theme.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

Avg time: 4.73 ;)

Yup, simple, but I liked it, especially the slo mo that made you feel awesome. perhaps away to control slo mo without the mouse?

TheDreik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45am

Once I got to the finish line in the first level, the game сrashed. After that, it became immediately crashes during the next sessions.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

It crashed after first level :/

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

Cool little game. Perhaps it's so fun because it's exavtly what I'd expect from a 10 seconds platform game. Nice!

rogerklotz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

@TheDreik and Ghostik, what OS are you on? There's an auto save feature so I'm guessing it's crashing when trying to save your progress... works fine for me on windows but haven't been able to test anything else.

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12am

Nice enjoyable game :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Simple and fun. I liked it.

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:01am

Simple and fun game, you nailed the theme! Very creative!

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

i adore every platformer that makes me go faster :)

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Great platformer. I really love being able to adjust the slider to help with more intricate manoeuvres!

rephus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:31pm

The game looks good, but when I finish the first level it crashes.

rephus > java -jar RoomRush.jar
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "2,78"

Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:51am

An excellent dashing platformer! The controls feel great and there are no glitches as far as I can tell. The blue acceleration zones are an interesting invention.

I like how the sounds slow down along with the rest of the game. Is that a libgdx feature, or did you have to supply slowed versions of each sound effect?

In spite of the simple graphics, it looks and feels very polished.

Broxxar says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Quite fun. The time slider was a neat touch, but I feel like there should be limitations because in general you just want to go as slow as possible to perfect each jump, and there's little incentive to going quicker.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]