August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hide For Your Life

by crashbanito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to hide from killer robots.

Ready?

Go!

------------------------------------
Tools Used:
Game Maker Studio + HTML5
Wolfram Tones
SolMiRe Midi to Mp3 Converter
sfxr
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#62Audio3.61
#328Theme3.39
#380Mood2.96
#550Humor2.24
#622Innovation2.87
#626Graphics2.77
#688Overall2.94
#908Fun2.48

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49am

It was okay. Though I like the graphics and the audio... Good job :D

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Reminds me of games like chu chu rocket. If it wasn't so easy at the start I'd be happy but the last level made it worth it with its sudden jump in difficulty. Why does wolfram never give me tunes like these! Add a few more enemy types and redo the level design and you're onto a winner. The timer robots are cool.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Pretty good, short and sweet.

I liked the music, their total difference causes a nice mood whiplash when the robots start to come after you.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I like it. The music is especially good.

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice concept well executed. A bit too easy.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I really liked the sound effects in the hunting phase. Personally, I would have introduced the second enemy type one (or two) levels earlier, because I was not sure if the first levels introduced the complete mechanic or if more was to come.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Good concept, nice graphics, especially the bots and the player. First levels are very repetitive. Last two levels are interesting and add new mechanics, more of those would have been really nice.

Oh I like how the feel of the change game when the robots wake up.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I loved the music. The game got perfectly creepy when the robots went on patrol. A little easy but a great game for 2 days.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I love the music, it definitely adds to the atmosphere. Pretty cool gameplay. I wish I read the novel before-hand to better appreciate the game!

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Poor man... changes on graphis and music gived a high Mood! nice job :)

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Nice audio... a little easy though.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00am

I loved the complete change in mood when the robots start chasing you. Nice little game!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Well done, nice sound (even though the music for the "peace time" is a little bit too happy).
I first thought it is too easy but the wires make the game really tough. The last level is kinda crazy but luckily I made it on the first run.

tiffi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I love the robot graphics,nice game. A bit easy though

Sestren says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:09am

The sound effects and music were my favorite part. The tense atmosphere at night is a nice touch.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:36pm

I personally would prefer non tile based movement but the concept is kinda cool.

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Nice use of contrasting music. I found it to be a little on the easy side. I was hoping there would be a bit more strategy involved. I hope you keep working on it.

tchem says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:25am

very interesting proposes,,, the sounds and graphics are cool...

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice! This has potential, you just need more levels, as you said in the end screen. The only defying level was the last one. The others was just a matter of figuring out what was the anomaly in the map. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]