August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You're a fly

by Esenti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a fly. And you have ten seconds before you die.

Controls:
WASD - move
ESC - go to menu/exit game

Made with Python + PyGame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#256Theme3.49
#539Humor2.25
#584Overall3.03
#601Fun2.87
#626Graphics2.77
#683Innovation2.79
#749Audio2.18
#841Mood2.35

Comments

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I enjoy the clean graphics, audio is not boring. The generation is idea is coolish as well. Great one! (note: a bit fed up with WSAD, arrows please)

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I cant find the main class to start it up in the python version

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I like the arcade feel it exhibits.

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Pretty cool little game!

gameXcore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Nice little game, makes me feel sorry for those poor little fly's :p

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Pretty cool little game!

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice concept, would be good though if the area was infinite so you didn't have to keep flying into the same spot to get flies. Well done though, needed minimal instruction to play

Esenti says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

@Ravetcofx - just run the file fly.py. You will need to have PyGame installed to run it though.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I liked the presentation and the use of flies. :)
The gameplay got a bit boring / frustrating after a while.
As a great plus and already said: needed minimal instruction to play.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Loved the game. One suggestion thou: enemies and flyes look really similar. I loved the graphical style but it was confusing for a while.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Very cool little game. Lovely smooth controls and a simple but addictive mechanic (it's a nice trick to have the flies closely resemble the enemies) made for a very enjoyable game. I played this for quite a while - it definitely has the 'one more go' factor.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Wow, I really liked it! I've always wondered what it'd be like to have a mayfly's life expectancy! It's very much an addictive arcade game. I kind of wish the enemies were a more contrasting color from the flies, though. :)

cardboard says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40am

I like how minimal this is while still being fun to play multiple times. The best I could do with a handful of plays was 15 generations in 31.714 seconds.. until I edited the source to make the enemy flies super slow. Nice job with this.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

7 generations :D it was a bit frustrating to start off with, but after I figured out what I was doing, it was a pretty fun game :D It would be nice if you could add some more fly-like movements as at the moment you just gather up an organised troop of nasty flies following you in an orderly fashion :P

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

nice game, i liked how simple the art style was, it looked good, well done.

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

The black = good things, grey = bad things could have been telegraphed a bit better, such as having enemies be red. Border indicators would have also been nice; you need very good reaction time to avoid running into them. The flies sometimes did their best to dodge me and it gets hectic trying to find a mate with a ton of enemies chasing you, but that's what makes it fun. Very challenging, though

PAC says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:53am

Good work :]

Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:58am

Wow, this is hard. Especially when an enemy is coming from the direction you're moving in, it gives you very little time to react. Perhaps this is also because I'm right-handed but it doesn't let me use the arrow keys.

The sound effects are a bit harsh. Otherwise, good job!

bitserum says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:58am

Nice game overall. It hard because when you panic enemies and flies look the same. I enjoyed playing it.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Can't play windows games, and couldn't figure out how to get pygame to run
:-(

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:20am

The game was pretty quiet. I liked the concept.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]