August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Feeding Time

by TimBeaudet - Jam Entry

As a hummingbird, your high metabolism requires constant feeding. If you don't find a flower to eat within 10 seconds, you will perish. Don't think it will be an easy journey to that flower. There are plenty of obstacles to avoid, if you can.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Graphics(Jam)3.29
#369Overall(Jam)2.94
#422Fun(Jam)2.59
#425Theme(Jam)2.82
#439Audio(Jam)2.24
#482Innovation(Jam)2.44
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28am

Wow, it's hilarious that my girlfriend is working on a similar game. She told me about the idea last week. :D

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38am

This was pretty good, great job! :)

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18pm

It's so pretty! Good work, it was really hard though, or I'm a bit rubbish at games that require any sort of immediate reaction. I enjoyed it though. :-)

BlackBird says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

It is extremely hard. Although this was a jam entry we only spent 48 hours on it. Our upcoming post-mortem will tell the story of why the games are so hard. In short, lack of testing and level design pushed until last moments. Literally we didn't even get to play the last level before uploading...

Thanks for the feedback, sorry for the difficulty but the game is beatable, and it will bring you back to the first level and repeat once you do beat it.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

so hard, i can't manage to pass the fourth level...

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:26am

Interesting little game, the graphics are really nice but I felt like the controls were a little strange feeling. It's a pretty design helicopter running type game. The sounds could be a little high pitched at times. But other than that, its a pretty solid game.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19pm

The game was good fun until that. One. Level. FSFSFSFSGSG. The frogs had me yelling at the screen.

I enjoyed the game immensely up to that point. The graphics are cute, and the music is nice. The levels were pretty decent until the last one.

A post-LD version with more (possible to finish!) levels is very welcome. Good job. :)

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:51pm

very nice game

neatly designed graphics

it was hard but I enjoyed trying to master it

played it for a long time

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:34am

Good game, It was like playing the impossible game at the end... no rage quit... Really hard but really fun ! I like the art style too

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Lovely graphics.

And this game was so brutally hard, the first two levels were cake but the difficulty ramped up significantly in 3 and 4.

I liked the controls for the most part (dropping when you didn't press any buttons felt natural, moving up and down was fine) but it was annoying that you stopped moving at all when you were on the bottom of the screen. I think if you would have continued to move then it would have been nicer.

Music was a little minimalistic but had some promise. It seemed a little too industrial/electronic for the style though, I would have expected something more light and airy.

Overall the concept is promising and there's potential here with some tuning!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:56pm

ALMOST ended the last level.
ALMOST~ /shake fists at the gods

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I like how you play as a hummingbird, it's not a common playable character :)

Nice concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]