August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shuutshimi

by awppy - Jam Entry

You need more Party-vision in your life. Get some today! Read how:

REQUIRED DEPENDENCIES:
XNA 3.1: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=15163
NET 3.5: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=21 (You don't need this if running Windows 7)
For Windows 8 build: XNA 4.0: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

I suggest only downloading the Windows 8 build on Windows 8 machines, though it does work with Windows 7.

Extra note: Controls in brackets denote XBox360 controls. So, "C/(A)" means C on keyboard, A on XBox360. We really should have made that clear earlier...Tunnel vision, I guess.

Created in 24 hours! Updated now to the final gamejam version! 3-person jam, Shuutshimi (I'm not typing the umlaut, sorry) is a side-scrolling Cute-Em-Up with lots of hats and little patience for window shoppers.

It's a Wave and Upgrade cycle lasting 10 seconds each. But beware: not all upgrades are useful. Some are bad! But you've gotta pick one.

Oh, and there are hats. Quite a few, so collect them all*!



*You can only wear one hat at a time


PS: There's an extra little something if you earn a score of 5000 or more...


UPDATES (Source code does not receive these updates):

Build 15 - Fixed a bug where wave spawning did not account for enhanced time dilation

Build 16 - Fixed a bug where enemies could be shot while offscreen. This caused severe imbalance later in the game when using the laser. Also fixed a bug where Shop fish wasn't drawing accessories

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#25Fun(Jam)3.78
#38Humor(Jam)3.75
#46Audio(Jam)3.70
#62Overall(Jam)3.73
#115Theme(Jam)3.48
#135Graphics(Jam)3.84
#181Mood(Jam)3.21
#332Innovation(Jam)2.88

Comments

skywing says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:57am

Really nice looking game, its really smooth too both in animation and gameplay.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56am

Man that was hilarious. Simple game mechanics but the randomness keeps it fresh.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16am

AW YEAH that was rad! I kinda got the hang of some of the powerups but I kind of suck - I couldn't break 1000 :|

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31am

NICE! I understand the title now.

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

Best Pun© award.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:10am

for some reason i cannot run it -- windows 8 64bit

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41am

one of the funniest game on here man, PARTY TIME! Audio was amazing also GG!

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:26pm

@sP0CKEr: The good news is, I can reproduce the issue you're having using a VM at work - I'm assuming it's the same problem (System.InvalidOperationException). A general information-free crash being reported by XNA (if you hit More Details from the Windows crash screen).

The bad news is, Win8 x64 has a myriad of compatibility problems with XNA and it might take a while to find out what the issue is. I do hope to resolve the problem though. ETA would be a day or two to figure out what the problem is, time depending.

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

@sP0CKEr2 After some digging, I've found AN error in the AudioEngine constructor within XNA. This error is caused by having no default playback device on your system. Can you confirm whether or not you have anything that plays audio?

I got a working build in my Win8x64 VM by pulling the entire audio engine out, but I'm reluctant to make such a build available because of how important the audio is to the game

rpmoura says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:51pm

This game is really polished, loads of different upgrades!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Tried to play your game (Win 8 64 too) and also got an error. Tried to compile it using VS2010, and it gave me a XACT error.

"Error 1 The .xap file was created with a version of XACT that is incompatible with the XNA Framework Content Pipeline version used by this project. Refer to the documentation for options to resolve this mismatch."

This XACT version may not be compatible with Win 8 (or maybe with anyone with XNA 4).

This may help you:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/archive/2010/09/23/10067171.aspx

Unfortunatly, I couldn't compile it, because I have only XNA 4.0 and Monogame instaled here, and you used some older deprecated namespaces.

I hope this helps you!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:53am

Cool retro game, nice graphics. Great 8-bits soundtrack. Love it !

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:25am

@Diogo Thanks for the link. I looked into it and found a solution:

In order to update the Audio Engine I needed XNA 4, which meant I needed Visual Studio 2010. I got that sorted out, only to discover XNA 4 deprecated / changed(broke) a bunch of functionality. It took me about 3 hours to fight with it (thus far I really hate XNA 4 and won't be using it any more) but I managed to get a port of the code RELATIVELY close to the existing game. Party Time is slightly nerfed due to a bug in how XNA 4 draws alphatransparent textures - or perhaps it's one of my spritebatch or render settings, or the fact that I now have to render to a target prior to rendering to the backbuffer thanks to undesirable changes to the way spritebatch works

But I did it. Had a friend with Windows 8 test it, and he says it works so...Let's never do this again!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

Fun, smooth, stylish, and just as silly as some of my favorite classic Japanese shmups. Reminds me a bit of Fantasy Zone... just with sea critters. Oh, and the super catchy short music loops kept things fresh.

My favorite build; DBZ Scouter + Cannon + Fishbowl + Rapid Fire. Took me all the way to level 16, at 5000 points. Couldn't figure out what Doughnuts For Dinner got me... but perhaps it shall remain a mystery. Thanks for putting this together though!

P.S. Do you do game music professionally? Because I would totally pay you for that stuff.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:51am

@awppy Downloading it now, thanks!

About the alphatransparent textures, iirc, there's a parameter on the spritebatch begin calls that may fix this for you.

I also came from older versions of XNA (the very first ones, actually), ended up relearning everything :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Did a fast run here, didn't work on my work computer. Will try again at my home computer.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Original Windows version worked fine for me on Windows 8 64. Great game, lots of fun. Loved the 10/10 second idea and the variety of upgrades!

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Original version worked on Win8 64? ...huh!

Diogo: if you boot the game up and it closes immediately, a log should be written to C:\shuutlog.txt (I think that's the filename) - what does the output on that say?

netgrind says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

That was really fun. I loved trying to read super quick in the shop screen. It would be cool if the effects would stack but that could have gotten pretty out of control pretty fast. Great pixel art, the background particles looked really nice as well.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Cool graphics and level desing. Good job

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Party vision!
Cool game, very good music :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

I love shmup :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Hah! Not only is this a pretty good shmup, it also has one of the coolest gimmicks I've seen so far. Gotta love party vision, my cannon gun and goku hair.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Hilarious! I love the zaniness of it all. At first I was confused when my controls got jacked up, but then I realized what the heck was going on. The music was REALLY rad, too! Lots to like about this game. - SB

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:01am

The music and graphics all go together very cohesively. The upgrade descriptions were also fantastic.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:02am

Best upgrades.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:12am

Really enjoyed this game. Almost feels like a game that should be played on a NES. Great work

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:12am

Extremely fun! Love all the crazy upgrades and cool enemies!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nice work! Solid shooter game and I love the graphics and creatures :D

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:47am

Really great entry. :D Why is this not on my phone? ;P

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:20am

good job

awppy says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:51pm

@zkenshin Funny you should mention a mobile version - on the Sunday of the jam, AnyYes and I were discussing porting it to mobile devices, and what changes we'd need to make to the game's mechanics for that to happen.

It sounded like an interesting idea, especially the mobile version of the shop screen (which would play much differently). I don't have any mobile dev experience myself, but I know someone who does, and I'll talk to him about porting it if there's enough interest!

davisan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Very fun and loved the music.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Feels very polished, and it has a perfect fast-paced rythm, just making you want to play again and again (and this time I won't get that stupid control scheme).

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Love the graphics, great style and I liked the idea of having an upgrade system, I think I want to add something like that to one of my future game projects :)

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Looks cool but both Windows versions fail to run on my machine (Win7, 64-bit). :(

awppy says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

@SnoringFrog - the only known reasons for crashes are no default sound device and missing system requirements. Do you have the XNA 3.1 redistributable installed?

If you ran the Windows 8 version and it silently crashed, it should create a log file at C:\shuutlog.txt - what does that log say?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]