August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Changer

by ix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Changer is a game about being a quick-change performer. It's also a bit of a puzzle! Winning is not as straightforward as it may at first appear (though it is possible).

NOTE: two colors means "doesn't care about color"; four patterns means "doesn't care about pattern"

Edit to add more description: you are a quick change performer, you select clothing with your mouse. The audience members will ask for certain colors or patterns (sometimes in certain locations).

This is the first time I've ever used Unity or C# -- but I'm not terribly disappointed with the result. (I don't think I'm going to be switching from C++/OpenGL soon, but it was an interesting change of pace.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#193Graphics3.57
#198Humor3.03
#261Audio3.06
#323Mood3.05
#384Innovation3.20
#497Theme3.24
#610Overall3.00
#908Fun2.48

Comments

Taylor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Didnt really understand how to play the game :( Sorry

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Interesting.

Shivers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Awesome idea!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

Awesome stuff. I like the graphical style, 5/5 for that.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15am

Love the graphics, reminds of little inferno style for some reason...

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15am

First time one of the guy's heads exploded was hilarious XD
Nice art style too. :)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

Really great. Very impressive. I'm not entirely sure how it works, though, yet.

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

The art style is really interesting. I just don't know what I'm supposed to do exactly. I got lucky and matched a few designs (I think) More instructions would be great, and I'd like to give it another try. Audio was well done too. So, I guess my lowest rating was the fun factor at the moment.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25am

This explains itself well. I like the voice acting and the smooth flow. If you haven't already you should check out Unity's coroutines. I took a look at your main scripts and noticed that you could use them in there to make things a little easier.Unity!

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Hey this was a really well put game. At first I was completely confused about what I was supposed to do. I still can't say I understand 100% what the signals means, but I can do reasonably good guesses. I managed to get 4 heads awake.

The sound really puts the game together.

One suggestion I would make is to have some way to keep track of progress, like a score at the end of each game session.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

Fun little game with a nice art style. :) Took a while for me to notice how to pick the type of clothing (in addition to the color/pattern). Nice work, regardless.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42am

Haha, I love the effect when you annoy one of the people too much! Made me want to fail the game all over again.. The time pressure felt good, and I also really liked the overall aesthetic. Cool idea using geometry to do your text! :)

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Not exactly sure what I was doing, but hearing the guy in the front row grumble made me laugh which was good because that was pretty much all I could get him to do.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Hah, this audience has some weird tastes! The placement of the buttons to choose the patterns/outfits feels a bit cluttered. Overall fun, and entertaining (although I'm not sure why I couldn't get the 5th guy to wake up).

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Pretty graphic style and funny audio effects :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55am

I loved annoying the onlookers :) Cool Concept.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

It long to understand what to do... but then it was funny to play...

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30am

Great concept. Really liked the way it hinted subtly at what to do and escalated as you added more judges.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52pm

very unique concept ! i like!

maybe a tiny initial tutorial will help people to get into the game ;-)

sorry my bad english xD

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

Really odd game, but kudos for that. I was so bad the guy's head exploded, which is a nice touch.

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Very unique concept.

I thought the game comunicated the concept quite well, too.

Good entry!

gravyhands says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:06am

Whelp, I blew up his head.
I liked the grumblings, not a huge fan of the clock sound.

tigerj says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I really like the idea and hope you build upon it. A refreshing entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]