August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Interim

by Figglewatts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Traverse a small obstacle course within 10 seconds.

It includes a level editor which saves levels to "/AppData/LocalLow/Creation Softworks/Interim/Levels", but at the moment there is no way to put the levels created in the editor in the game without using the source.

Note: The web version doesn't have the level editor because System.IO.WriteAllText is a security flaw on web.

Note: there is a minor bug with the level switching at the end of each level, so you may have to select levels from the menu to actually play them all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#322Overall3.30
#476Fun3.00
#480Graphics3.00
#548Theme3.19
#556Innovation2.96
#824Mood2.38
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

tangentstorm says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57am

Cool game. The level editor's pretty slick too, even if it's not easy to play the levels you make yet. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34am

Wow that's an interesting game ! It's not too hard nor too easy, just perfect! And the editor add a lot of replayability, great work !

VardGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38am

I enjoyed this but some more levels would of been good.

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42am

Pretty decent game. Would have played a few more levels, if there where.

But submitting an editor with it, is really cool.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

I completed it. It quite was good fun. I could see this been developed into something good.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Impressing !

Here a list of things which could be improve in a post-ludum version for exemple :

- Add sound, they are sorely lacking
- the minor bug concerning the switch of level, it drove me crazy during long minutes ^^
- Slow down when you rub yourself is ankward
- The curve of speed is too long, and the max speed is too slow, for me

Your game has potential, really !

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

Acceleration is iffy and movement is too "smooth", it feels very sluggish when you are trying to catch speed and then you get stuck in a corner. Also audio would have been great.

Bad things aside, this is really impressive. Slick and yet simple graphics, and also with a level editor! good job.

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

Like how it looks, but probably needs some polish. And the movement - it is quite strange, yet makes it more interesting.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08am

Finished all you levels, funny thing I found the third harder than the fourth. Well, it's not a bad thing anyway. Really cool concept.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

I think I would have enjoyed it more if the player control was tighter and the enemy tracking was faster to compensate. But I liked the graphics and concept.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

Really well made and interesting game

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Pretty simple, the death effect is awesome. More levels would be good!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I liked this one.
Simple yet with a challenge.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

The framerate was really low for me. For some reason after completing level 2 it told me there were no more levels, so I had to pick the next one manually from the main menu, and then after completing the actual final level, it took me back to level 2 again. The level editor button was greyed out and did not function. The graphics looked pretty decent, but the aforementioned fps issues were disappointing for me. The lack of audio also hurt the atmosphere quite a bit. The thematic implementation was pretty weak, since none of the levels took even close to 10 seconds to finish, and most of the obstacles would kill you before you ran out of time anyways. The art and color choice were nice, though, and there is some solid potential here - with a lot more levels of increasing difficulty and more importance put on the 10 second time limit, this could be much more engaging.

Gus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:05am

I liked the way you used the perspective on this one, The thrill of finish on a level on the run without dying pretty much makes the whole experience, missed some sounds and music though, it would've helped a lot.
I find the presence of a level editor very impressive, but I couldn't manage to use it, hope I'm the only one on this boat, level editors in 48hrs games are pretty rare.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:11am

Simple and sweet! Awesome :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Very cool! But, very hard XD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]