August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Haraka

by gikdew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Please, use Chrome for the Web version*
*Press M to open the doors and start the game*



Haraka is an art inspired game. This is my first game ever, and my first LudumDare also. Haraka means "Fast" in Swahili (I like to name my creations with weird words).

Haraka is inspired in SuperMeatBoy, and the basic controls are Sprint, Jump and Move and of course you can do wall jumping.

START: M (REALLY IMPORTANT!)
Move: Arrow
Jump: Space
Sprint: Shift

I recommend you to play in a high resolution screen and full Screen, I've added support for Xbox Controller but I've never tried it :(

You have to find the next CheckPoint before the time is over.

Jump Fast!

***********************************************************
I have posted a post-compo version, things that I've improved:

+ Reduce respawn time when you died
+ The player moves faster and "light"
+ When you died because of a spike it says "You died!" instead of "Time is over!"
+ Wall jumping feels better (to me)
+ In the menu screen, the instrucctions doesn't fade out

I thought about coloring the white platforms, what do you think?? @gikdew

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#271Fun3.29
#318Overall3.31
#323Audio2.95
#406Theme3.32
#411Mood2.91
#442Graphics3.07
#728Humor1.98
#900Innovation2.48

Comments

kayupla says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Great ! Super meat boy mood. very good work on the gameplay and the level design. tell me when you crate other game please^^.

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32am

nice! Good feel to it!

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

I really liked the art (it's so simple and clean). You also managed to nail down the difficulty, which is not easy to do. I liked the audio as well. All in all a really great game, congrats!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Thank you all for your comments! I hope you enjoy my game!

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I like the graphics style. The jump mechanics aren't great, and some checkpoints were annoying. Overall really good.

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24pm

As an SMB Fan, I can only like :D

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I found it really hard, the controls were tricky for me. I spent a lot of time on just the first 2 jumps. I like these styles of games, and it seems really solid and well done for only 48 hours. Good work!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Overall I liked the game, but very frustrating. Probably spent more time than I should...just ...need ...to...get...further!

Subi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Jump a bit dodgy near edges, but otherwise great!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Good, clean and simplistic! The hitbox was annoying especially at the 5th(?) checkpoint. I looks like I'm just hitting the side of the wall but no, the spike will kill me anyway. Might come back and finish this later on =)

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very long respawn, otherwise good.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

I spent far too long playing this...
It's really smooth and simple to play, which is really nice. The audio was really nice to listen to as well. The controls are a little bit difficult to use but not too bad.
Great entry!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Nice job. I thought the levels were balanced for difficulty until the one pictured in the 2nd screenshot. That jump has to be so precise, and the two out of thirty times I made it I couldn't figure out how to proceed further after making it. Also your hit boxes seem to be a little larger than the spikes themselves. Anyhow, fun game!

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

I like your entry. It's great, especially for a first game. At first I had a problem, because the the instructions on the intro screen vanished and I didn't know how to start the game. The time between the restarts could be shorter, I had the same problem with my entry for the last ld.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Wall jump, FUCK YEAH! It gets pretty hard after while, loved it!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very, very satisfying controls. Seriously, I love the "Super Meat Boy" feel to your character controls.

Also, the graphics show that simple graphics can be great. I really like the mood of your game.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

good job

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10pm

This is very neat. Challenging and fun!

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I really liked that game! It was really fun to play and enjoyable :D Making the jumping a bit more "smooth" and the game would be awesome!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Cool game! Thanks for entertaining me with it :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I reached the second checkpoint, I liked the design

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Good concept, I really like its smoothness and good music.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Cute art style

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice!
+ great simple art style and colors
+ loved how the title screen opened up into the game
+ wall jumping was fun
- the respawn time felt needlessly long (dying every few seconds, then waiting a few seconds as the cube sat in the air was aggravating)
- character felt a bit too heavy for my tastes
- it says "Time is out" or whatever even when you hit a spike

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I will post a post-compo version, and try to improove that, I didnt have time to change everything.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

This is really, really great for a first game :o :D
It has a very clean, neat look to it, the music is great and the difficulty scales just fine.
I also like the fact that controls are on the menu screen and that you can try them out before starting the game :)

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Erm, I cannot get past the second checkpoint because the jump is much too long. :(

ravine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I really like it. Only thing is, I'd like to see a reason the player only has 10 seconds between each checkpoint.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Thank you all, for the big jump you should use Shift in order to sprint, you can't do it without it. I'm trying to teach the player how to play before the following levels.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Very nice!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Fantastic little game, but around the 6th or 7th checkpoint there's a jump that just seems too pixel-perfect to be doable, like scriptorum said. I wish that I could get past it and see how much further the game goes, but after 50 tries I had to give up.

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Nice game :) And very good job with the title screen, I looks great.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Super meat boy is one of the hardest games I ever played, thats why the last level is so difficult, you have to do it, try and try...

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

nice work, a bit too difficult at times but pretty fun overall

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44pm

It gets hard fast, but is addictive. Good job

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Great game, that warmup paid off! The shift key was annoying as I felt like I was holding it most of the time. Perhaps have shift mean walk slower? The wall jump was annoying in a good way but my gripe is with the long jump. Died way too much there and didn't get passed it sadly. The people demand more games from you!

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I like the aesthetics in this little game

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16am

Aaah...had to give up at the checkpoint after the first moveable platform...
The game is nice, simple and challenging. Great work!

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

This is hard, kind of remind me of VVVVVV. Nice music and good simple, hardcore fun.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28am

tight controls and good level design. I dig it. This is also just a nice layer of polish. Good Job!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

Can definitely pick up on the SMB influence here - but it's done right where so many SMB style games go wrong. There is a definite sense of urgency in reaching checkpoints, and you've used the theme really well. The minimal graphics are really nice too.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

Very colorful, cheerful and clean.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16am

nice job! good controls and use of the theme :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

Fun and challenging, just like SMB. Movement was a little glitchy though. Nice job!

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

Nice art, execution and everything!
It was enjoyable, didn't feel repetitive (even though I died a lot) and was in general a great game.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

The wall jumping portion is too difficult for me to pass, so I quit. Just a word of caution: it's very important to have good, responsive controls in games pressured for time. The game does lag a bit when the music loops, which messes the controlling a bit. The wall jumping part really needs to be easier because I can't find how to pass that.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

I forgot to mention: nice work on the game!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

great game :)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10am

It had to happen. A platformer with 10 second checkpoint mechanic. Surprisingly it's the first I come along (had expected that every second game would be this kind) and happily it's a very well executed!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

Great game here, but very frustrating, especially the last section, 2 pixel perfect jumps? Yikes. The movement and jumping seemed a bit off to me. Graphics were nice and stylish.

Did anybody else beat it? :)

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

Bright, colorful art and good scale make this game world mysterious and intriguing. The music was very good and reminded me of 90S COMPUTER; Chip's Challenge, for some reason. Some later jumps were very hard and the slow respawn time made them a bit frustrating.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59am

Great art style and the controls are just slippery enough to provide a good challenge.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32am

I got a strong Super Meat Boy vibe from it ;) Excellent gameplay and level design.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47am

Great game, nice and simple graphic, awesome gameplay!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53am

Very nice music/mood. Was fun!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28am

Reminded me of Starseed Pilgrim for some reason. I think it's the graphics :-)

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

The controls were not very responsive, I think it could benefit from some more post grace on the jumping, the simplicity is pretty cool.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17am

Really liked the minimal art-style, i was quite surprised to see that i can perform a wall-jump! Nice idea adding ten seconds limit between each checkpoint, and THANK YOU for not having us restart from beginning each time.

robb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23am

Very nice, wall jumping is always a plus in my book. Respawn time felt a little too long and I think hit-boxes of the spikes were a little too big as well.

Great work!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45am

It's simple and fun platformer but... Gotta say that the the super precise sprint jumps just simple frustrated me.
Also the way you start the game is kinda weird.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26am

Solid controls and a pleasing aesthetic. Being able to change the controls would have been nice but thats just me. :) The music fit the game nicely. Cool and simple platformer overall. :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice, reminded me of Super meat boy a bit too.
Great design and style, good music, all round a good game :)

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Fortunately the game seemed to work perfectly fine in Firefox so yay for not having to use Chrome. :)

Nice presentation, though I think it would have been better without the autotracker music. Other than that it's a fairly standard but fun platformer. I couldn't figure out how to get past the bit after the second screenshot, after the long jump.

Mjiig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Very nice, really smooth controls and good level design for a 48h game too.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Te platforming felt a bit floaty. But otherwise, good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Fun and challenging!

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Game looks gorgeous, I love everything about the presentation, it started out really fun but stopped being fun after the 50th time I'd failed to reach the second checkpoint. Just could not figure out how to make that jump. Tried with shift, without shift, looked for non-obvious routes - ran out of ideas. Really wanted to play more but with the difficulty level going to Very Very Hard quite that early in the game it's clearly not a game for me anyway.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Graphics style, great work done there!

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

This game gets pretty frantic. The time limit really adds to the pressure of negotiating the obstacles in your way. I really liked this!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I love super meat boy, but idk if html5 made the game a little too slow/laggy. The jumping felt a little unresponsive, and the respawn would have been great if it was a tad bit faster (more super meat boy like, to help with the frustration of failure). Overall AMAZING for a first game ever. My first game ever is my entry as well, and it is no where near this quality, I don't think. :(

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice platformer game. I like this kind of challenge. Great job!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Good platformer!! The music fits well. The levels are difficult but fun. Good job :)

Misfit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

AARRGGHH.. So frustrating and so addictive.. amazing work!

fdevant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Fun! very nice level design.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Very smooth control system. I could really see the SMB inspiration, and the level design was great :) Very difficult, but the mechanics were quite solid so I always felt my failures were my own fault.

cwkx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Great little 2D platformer, very fun to play and good controls :)

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Great game ! Although the flashing-cube-thingy you control was quite slow, the rest indeed did feel like Super Meat Boy.
Because I suck at reading things (and I do read them though), I did not see the wall-jumping advice, and it surprised me in a very nice way when I found out about it.
The ending was nice, and (the way I played) very well-timed.
Graphics and audio were also very good and fitting, good job on those.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25pm

I love the wall hopping and the levels are very well laid out. Nice work gikdew!

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

A lovely little platforming game. I unfortunately couldn't get past the area in your fourth screenshot, where the wall jumping kept failing me (or perhaps I was just failing at it?).

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

not working - page doesn't load.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Game was difficult until we found that we can wall jump, enjoyed the music and the level design.

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Nice retro colors. Kinda hard it is though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03pm

It's really hard !!! good game nonetheless

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I was not good at super meat boy and this game confirms it :) Fun game to play but just lost my patience trying to reach the second checkpoint!

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

well made platformer that I'm not skilled enough to pull off past the first handful of checkpoints. good game play. jump seemed a bit dodge near edges. but that could just be me.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Collision on spikes was occasionally overly sensitive :(

Overally loved the style and graphics and everything!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:00am

Well implemented. Nice execution.
Just think that you can work better in the theme concept.
but nice work

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02am

Pretty nice game in general, would be better without the 10 seconds restriction.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

Very challenging to the point of frustration. I liked it.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

The wall jumping let me save myself in a few sticky situations - I like it. Overall the controls could snap a little bit more though.

Gosh, the game is hard. I mean, it's fun, but in some situations I wish there was a little bit more room for error. Ultimately I didn't finish the game because of that. I played MUCH further than I usually play those games though.

Might I interest you in some http://abundant-music.com instead of autotracker? The quality is MUCH higher.

I really like the visual presentation! It's super simple, but at the same time extremely clean. You have a hand for color choice - I wish more things were colored so I could see that more.

The XBox controller is... kind of working by the way. You used the shoulder buttons for walking though instead of the left stick, which is, eh, highly unconventional. And the movement speed of walking with the joystick is strangely somewhere between walking and sprinting with the keyboard. Curious!

All in all, a pretty cool game! Good job there - and congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

PS: I have a party hat! http://puu.sh/4cCet/10d295f7dc.jpg

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

Shows great promise, but I can't get past the third jump!

vani77a says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58am

I agree, the art is great :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30am

Good gameplay, decend music, clean graphics, i like it :)

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:56am

Great game

gikdew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10am

Thank you for your comments!! I will post the post-combo as soon as possible!

Thank you very much!

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:53am

This game is awesome, stylish and very polished.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24am

Love the smoothness of the controls and open-world feel of it. Great entry :)

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:26pm

The art is great. But I'm not good at platform...

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Super clean + nice art style. Fun!

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Really well implemented. I like the wall jumping mechanic. Has that "punch a baby" level of frustrating that I've only seen from SMB!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12pm

The wall jumping is nice. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46pm

good graphics and I like the fullscreen mode. so emersive, I really feel that I am a cube!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Love the walljump :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Cute style!

Danex317 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21am

It worked for me in Firefox btw. Great Job.

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:48am

Nice minimalistic graphics. :)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

Very challenging! I really like the style as well!

gikdew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:17am

I have posted a post-compo version, things that I've improved:
+ Reduce respawn time when you died
+ The player moves faster and "light"
+ When you died because of a spike it says "You died!" instead of "Time is over!"
+ Wall jumping feels better (to me)
+ In the menu screen, the instrucctions doesn't fade out

I thought about coloring the white platforms, what do you think?? @gikdew

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

I shouldn't have to keep holding Shift to run, this should be the default.
Otherwise your plateform game is really good, and from the start very challenging (that long jump one was hard).
I like wall jumping.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Could use slightly more polished controls...

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

That last part was HARD! I like the aesthetics, and the level design was very nice. Very fun to play although a bit frustrating at the end due to requiring pixel-precise jumping. Fun game nonetheless!

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

This was brilliant, I kept dying and I didn't care :D

everything was great in this game :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

It's fun to play !

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

kudos to the graphics person for making the aesthetics work with such simple art. The game is also fun and the jumping feels polish. Extra points for wall jumping.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:58am

A good game overall, can't really say anything that hasn't already been said. Seems like the post-LD version fixed most (if not all) of the problems :).

deammer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Sleek-looking and simple gameplay, i like it! Would benefit from instantaneous respawn though :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Not sure if I should give points for humor because my attempts at platforming were extremely laughable. Nice entry! Solid graphics, controls, level design. Reliving my SMB nightmares with the added pressure of the 10 second countdown. I really wanted to finish this one but alas I had to give up due to noobism.

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I really like your entry and will be coming back to play more.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

It definitely reminds me of super meat boy in a good way! It has that fast paced tight feel to it.

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:16am

Really cool feeling, the run was a bit hard to use in the small space given to you. The graphics and sound were nice and cute, really fun.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:09am

Very nice game! Was frustratingly hard, but I managed to beat it eventually. :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Cute)

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Pretty hard xD but good, controls are working pretty nicely gratz!

Toadpud says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Good work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice presentation. Pretty hard :) Fought the controls a little bit. Think the game could have started easier and ramped up slower so you were more invested before you started dying a lot.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

Pretty fun! I like the checkpoint system. I think it would be even more fun if the collision detection were a bit more forgiving when colliding with spikes but overall this is nice.

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:13am

Your website does not work.

Sebastian says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:53am

The requested URL /LD27 was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

This is happening to me on all the links, mac - chrome and firefox

gikdew says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

I sove the problem with my domain, I don't know what happens. Sorry for that.

@Steve Cochrane, I have change the collision detection on spikes in the post-compo
@GeorgeBroussard, I think thats what I do, first level is a straigth line, second only jumping and then you discover spikes and moving platform, and last level is Fuck*** difficult :)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Very tricky and slippy controls but looks quite nice

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Good, fun game (once I understood I could wall jump).

JaJ says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

It was difficult mainly because of the low friction controls I think. I did like the idea and the graphics a lot.

haloflooder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:09am

I like how it says "Time is over" if you hit a spike because it doesn't have another death message for the spikes. It was an ok concept but a nice parkour game.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:13am

Reminded me of VVVVVV. Great color scheme, and the wall-jumping felt really solid.

rujo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:31am

good idea. i'd improve a little bit the graphics. nice entry though

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:21am

Very nice! If there was a fanart category, your game would fit great in it. Nice graphics.

Blecta says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Respawn time is a little too long. Otherwise, it's a good game :-)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:03am

Excelent work! It felt like a mix between Super Meat Boy (for the gameplay), VVVVVV (for the graphics) and Megaman (for the leaps of faith). I ignored the warning about pressing 'M' to start, so it took me some time in the starting screen. I played it for some time, it's really fun, and really feels like SMB, including the frustration! My poor keyboard must hate me!
Just wish the respawn time would be shorter (it seems the post-compo version has fixed that, though).

Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:04am

BTW, loved the graphics and music! =)

DuFF says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Really appreciate the art and sound. The controls felt a bit off for me. They lacked a certain smoothness which made the jumps more difficult. Smooth controls is what makes SMB so great. Obviously it's impossible to fine tune the controls to a SMB standard in 48 hours. Overall a great entry. Good work.

zanval says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Very nice and simple game. I enjoyed playing it. gets really difficult. Art is very simple and very nice.

Yapikom says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:21pm

The controls felt too floaty for my taste, i didn't feel in control. Nice title screen.

Ossi says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:43am

Cool game, it's definitely got a Super Meat Boy feel. I kind of had some trouble making jumps off corners, I would just slide off the edge. And some of the friction on the box character felt too slippery especially for the moving platforms. Clean artwork and cute music, well done!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Very cool jump mechanics! it will be nice if the player runs faster :D but that's cool... great job bro!!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:14am

Nice work! Good visuals nice sounds and music. Has a Super meat boy feel.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I liked this, but I hated how you had no control over that few second pause at the beginning of each run.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Yeah, the post-compo feels much better in that regard.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:51am

Super VVVVV Boy ;-)
Good game!

frogmaster says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Hard, but addicting!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]