August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mission Mars

by gre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mission Mars
---

N.B.: My game is intentionally hard-core like some old school games, there is no checkpoint and you need to start from the beginning.


I won't spoil the game story here. Just saying it's a platform game and you have to finish each level in less than 10 seconds.

The intro is a 10 seconds countdown.
The music is 10 seconds long.

Hope that's enough of 10 seconds :)
Have fun!

---

My first time making a platform game & my first time with Pixi.js.
Lib used: Pixi.js, Q, Backbone+Underscore, Zepto
Software used: VIM, Gimp, SunVox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#113Humor3.33
#292Mood3.09
#353Theme3.37
#372Audio2.86
#393Fun3.11
#418Overall3.19
#687Graphics2.68
#763Innovation2.70

Comments

nateriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17am

Cool concept. Great job.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

I got to the boss fight! It's hard to figure out the jumping at first: you have to just lightly tap as you run. Once you get the hang of that it's really fun. The anti-gravity levels were pretty stressful. Nice job!

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Great job! I like the art :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nice concept! But I can't figure out how to pass the level with an empty room.

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Try to Jump (Up Arrow)

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Great idea. Fun to play!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Had a lot of fun playing :) Great job, man.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Are you sure all images you used were made by you during the compo?
This is a pretty cool concept, albeit kinda weird at first (especially the controls take some getting used to).

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

A very interesting game, I love the humor behind it, and it fits realy well with the theme, the graphics suck though, but somehow it works with the game

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Pretty moody, and I like the alarm sound :) But it's really annoying that you have to sit through the entire intro sequence and redo all levels every time you die. Or did I miss something?

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I enjoyed it! The controls could use some tightening, but still pretty good and not game-breaking. Good job :)

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I liked it, but the platforming controls were a little finicky for my tastes. Notably the jumping and at the tops of ladders. The amount of time the character would spend in the air seemed to randomly differ with no real indication as to why. Nice use of the 10 second theme, though.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07am

There is an indicator of the gravity in level where it changes.
This is intentional that you start from the start. You can pass the intro by holding E or Enter.

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49am

funny one but i'd like to have an immediate retry after you die..

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

@rujo @Frozen Fractal : I've made the game skip the intro when clicking on `Try Again` - I don't want to make the user restart the same level but want to keep that old-school hard-core style :)

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Pretty nice platforming controls, feels tight and fast as opposed to some other slow & heavy feeling platformers. Anti-gravity levels were very neat.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Awesome platformer, could use checkpoints at key levels for the faint of heart (like yours truly)... wicked sick otherwise :P

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:45pm

needs to be a larger windows ..

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:15pm

You can zoom with your browser (Ctrl + , or CMD +)

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

I liked the atmosphere of constantly being in danger of suffocation... or some other kind of evil unpleasant presence.... + for sounds

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

A great game! I found it frustrating having to repeat all of the levels to get back to the boss fight, but you have already said that is intentional. ;)

One thing I really didn't like was the bullet shield in the boss fight; there is no indication of when it is about to disappear! Making it flash for a second or so would fix this.

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Oh, two more things:

The level with the horizontal force needs some graphical indicator of why you get pushed to the side; that one always catches me out.

The 'Try again' button on the completion page does not seem to work.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Thanks for your feedback!
About the boss level I'm aware it is not very polished.. I actually had just 3 hours left to make that entire boss level :( That's still a shame on me to not having made that little polish at the end (that would have taken like 10 minutes). Anyway I was very tired at the end :)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Good guy greg LOOOOL nice dialogues and art. Character movement is a bit buggy, but good enough.

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I should mention that I am only telling you these little things because I thought it was a great game in all. Well done. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19pm

The shifting gravity is awesome! First time I've seen that concept I think!
I kept dying over and over on level 11. It seemed to be the wind blowing me off the platform or something. I did manage to beat that once and got 3 or for levels after that but I still couldn't beat 11 the next time.
The game is small and to the point, with unique concept and keeps player interest very well. I'll definitely try to finish it eventually!

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Haha, funny game. Quickly becomes quite hard. Love the story (and that there is a story!)

larb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13am

Nice game. It does get very hard. But it's short, so no big deal repeating once you die. Nice entry.

Also, that was quite the intro.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Good job, I liked that different rooms had different physics, although sometimes a bit unpredictable.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Man, the fact that you have to restart every time you die is really unforgiving, and the boss fight is very difficult as well, didn't actually kill the boss, since I had to restart when he killed my. Good job on the idea and the rest of the implementation though!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Will post video review when ready.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Haha, great intro, I had a good laugh! Pretty fun game! Would be nice to start at the level you died when continuing though.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:29am

Very tricky - the old school style is nice, but I would have preferred checkpoints because I didn't want to keep on re-doing my old work in order to beat the game. Overall quite enjoyable, good job

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

Interesting platforming mechanics, though I'm not a fan of restarting the entire game. I thought by "start at the beginning" you needed to restart each level. :/

orunbot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice game, really felt that urgency.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

good job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

hahaha! Nice John Williams reference on the siren there!!!
This is just as hardcore as I like my games! ZX spectrum kind of hardcore!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Funny game! The audio is a little annoying but helps building up a tense mood, which I thought was nice!

I couldn't beat it, though, like you said it's very hard! =P

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

Quite funny game.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

Great concept and art

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:55am

Good guy John :-) Writing is funny, and the theme is well-represented.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Interesting (and random) game. I got to the boss a couple times but could never finish him. Any tips? He eventually just spams like crazy with 100 balls on screen and kills me.

The physics and rooms are a little weird and unpredictable, resetting the whole game on death seems a little punishing for this fact due to all the trial and error. Overall, a fun experience for me.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Thanks for trying to beat the boss! I'm sorry if it's that difficult, I didn't had time to polish it enough (it definitely need feedbacks on hit and life),

So what you don't see is:
- you have 3 lifes, the boss have 10 lifes. (that's too much I know!)
- the pad is alternating each 5 seconds, and if you don't have it, you can be hit by a ball and lose one life.
- you have to touch him with 10 balls to beat him! (less would have been better, shame on me)

Don't try too much that's hard and there is not really an ending in my story. I was really running out of time and didn't manage enough well my time!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I found this game pretty cool, I found the other guy doing our job weird and difficult. I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

bisk8s says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:48pm

With better graphics you can sell it :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:37pm

The physics / graphics were buggy and that was distracting and irritating. I didn't like spacebar to cycle thru the chat. I don't think the chat was really necessary and didn't add much for me. Art was meh. Keep at it though!

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:25am

Art is cool. I like the hand drawn avatars.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I loved the sounds and the intro.. but I'm very bad jumping :(

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:23am

Fine effort. Brutal but fine. Nice one.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:19am

Solid platformer.

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:21am

it has made me change my mood, it is a funny game. Best of it is the story and how is told.
Great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]