August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Fishers Dream Team

by TijmenTio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My 3th Ludum Dare!

UPDATE: Made skipping the intro go faster, because apparently it was stopping people from replaying.

Summary:
Help father and son, living on a boat, collect their meal of fish by deep sea dive hunting.
You have to switch between the father, who hunts, and the son, whom supplies air via a tube connected to the boat.
The father only has a maximum of 10 seconds of air, so be sure to let his son refill his oxygen in time!


Controls(will also be shown briefly in game):

X - switch between father and son

Father
Arrow keys - move
Z(hold and release) - shoot harpoons

Son
Z(tap) - pump air into the tube


Thanks for playing!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#28Theme4.03
#42Graphics4.16
#52Overall3.85
#58Innovation3.89
#77Mood3.62
#94Fun3.59
#118Audio3.41
#163Humor3.15

Comments

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

Wicked fun. Cool concept too.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

The game and graphics are cute. I found it really confusing to control the dad, though; It's hard to tell if I'm moving when there's no consistent reference point. It would also be nice if I could skip the intro.

Ninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Wow this is awesome. Great artwork and the sfx/music fits well. The gameplay is nice and challenging but still a lot of fun! Great work!

Inertia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Really neat concept. The controls for the dad were super awkward, though, and I didn't complete it yet because I failed several times and the 'cutscene' doesn't seem to be skippable, but I'm pretty certain I'll come back to it.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Great game! Creative idea, good graphics, music and smooth controls. The dual-screen dynamic makes it look like a DS game, it would work great on it.

tiagosr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Really cool concept... The half-screen setup is quite interesting. I could sort of, but not quite completely, understand how to control the son. But overall it's a nice game =D

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31pm

That was fantastic! Great artwork and music, really nostalgic! Your take on the theme is pretty well done, having the choice of when to switch to either the son or the father made me want to see how much fish I could get at once. Fun little dialogue between both characters although I wish you could skip through that start faster than just completing a line of dialogue and waiting for the next bit. Good use of the HUD elements to represent the time/harpoon mechanics although it felt a bit weird to aim. Sometimes the direction was a bit more angled than where I was facing, although that could be by design since it was really challenging to get the fish I needed. Great job!

About the pumping mechanic I assumed that when you were pumping air each pump gave you a second, but it seems like it gives you more. I'm wondering why you chose it to be that way.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

@Ossi Because I got tired of pumping whahaha

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46pm

A lot of nice touches like the air helmet appearing in the dialog and the death scene with the floating helmet.

Also good job making the characters likable with the dialog.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55am

@TijmenTio Fair enough! haha!

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

I'm a terrible son. :(
I loved the "split screen". Remind me of Nintendo DS. Graphics looking amazing and think you nailed the mechanics. I think it would be better if it was possible to quickly restart without the seeing intro and dialog again. Well, I'm hooked!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14am

I really enjoyed this! The underwater fishing was fun to do, and switching back to the oxygen pump made the gameplay really tense! I learned after my first disastrous playthrough that time still flows for dad even when I switch...

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36pm

I really want to play the game as it sounds great and visually looks awesome too. But when I get to dive in the water I get graphical glitches everywhere :(

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40pm

@Catmoo Wow! How did that happen huh!? I'm sorry, I'd have no idea how to fix that, as it shouldn't be (and for the rest of us, isn't) like that :(

Sheep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41pm

It looks really good. The audio is done great as well. The only thing that bugs me is the long intro you have to rewatch after failing. It was also pretty hard to catch the fish.

Mesene says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Nice game :D very polished

Dohan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Very nice mechaninc, however 10 seconds are very few underwater, lol.

Catmoo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Turns out the problem I was having with the game is an issue with game maker and the graphics card on my computer. I've sent them a bug about it.

But I was able to play on my desktop instead, I think your game is great, the juggling between the son and dad is fun and catching fish is very challenging but a fun enjoyable challenge.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

It's a very interesting game mechanic, although I'm not sure I handled it very well :)

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Very, very, very good. One of my favourites entries so far. Great job.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Interesting little game. Had a bit a Ridiculous Fishing feel to it. Music was cool!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Amazing game! Congratulations! Looks and plays perfectly, and it is hard. Wonderful!
Art, sound... And that helmet and "Dad?.." moment is precious.

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Really fun game. Well done! :D

The aiming was a bit hard / strange, but a good idea and a fun game nevertheless. :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Excellent !

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

great concept, but a bit too fast for us slowpokes.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

By far the best game I've seen so far. and about 500% cuter than any of them :P Really nice mood. You care for the father son team :D Really nice audio and graphics too.

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

Lovely idea, nice graphics. Good job!

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

Very polished entry. How do you skip the intro quickly? Every time I died I sat through it for quite a bit, but since the only way to lose is to be forgetful, I couldn't let myself give up on it. Finding the green fish was a little annoying as were the aiming controls, but the visuals and mood were top-notch!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

@awppy If you want to skip the intro you can just press any key each dialogue to go to the next one! :)

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Great characters, you feel really bad for the son if you mess up. The idea hits the theme really well, I just wish I had more precision with the angles I could aim at.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

Awesome design! This is really fun!
Can't think of anything bad about it. Wished there was a shark down there though :]

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

@theholychicken wow yeah a shark would've been awesome!!!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I second the request for a shark! Otherwise, this was awesome. Lovely concept and great style.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Fishing game on staroids ...awsome game neat art well done

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Great and incredibly funny ... DAD?! x10 or more times and I drowned his father again :D And I feel sorry for the boy =P

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Great! I loved the idea of switching back and forth to pump air into the helmet. Fun game. Really well done.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

@MuciojadPL Bahaha, yes I suppose winning is rather challenging.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

good job

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:05am

Hard game, but fun and cute!! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:28am

OH NO
DAD
DAD IM SORRY
IM SORRY I DIDNT PUMP FAST ENOUGH
WHAT HAVE I DONE
IM SO SORRY
FFFFFFFFFFFUCK

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I won. Poor fishes.. :'(
The pixelart is good, even though the style is quite common.
The animations are really smooth! Good job on the gameplay, it worked well.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Great idea for the mechanics. Nice music and graphics too. I think it would help to see how many bubbles the dad has when pumping air.

farmergnome says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:04am

Full marks in quite a few places here, I loved the concept, I loved the DS style split, mechanics and graphics are absolutely top notch. Well done!

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:57pm

WAY better fish AI than Call of Duty. This is hard as crap and really dark/moody. Awesome interpretation of the theme... really innovative idea with the swapping. I think that the harpoon controls suck, though... because you can't aim while charging. You're kinda locked in to place while the fish swim away. Could certainly use some analog stick controls and some tweaks to be really solid, but what you have here is super stinkin' rad. GREAT music, too.

-SonnyBone

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Really really nicely made game. Really well polished, the air pumping is satisfying and the switching between different gameplays is really interesting. Well done and good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:51am

Really fun game with cute graphics. :)
I like the way you control the two characters, though dad it's a bit hard to control.
Game needs also a key to skip intro.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:23pm

All right, this was an awesome entry! It was incredibly fun trying to get the fishes in the 10 seconds(or less) before you switched to the son. Never really found out how to differentiate the orange meat fish from the white ones. But still had loads of fun!

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Thi was perfect, amazing pixel art! I was a bit confused with the controls at first but after my 5th try I made it :)

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:01pm

This was perfect, amazing pixel art! I was a bit confused with the controls at first but after my 5th try I made it :) I couldn't tell a diference between fish colors tough.

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Awesome game like aways, Tio!

I really liked the graphics and the music. The idea of switching screens was absolutely charming :-) The game was also helluva fun.

One little thing, I felt the controls were a bit "clunky". I'm not sure if you were aiming for that, but it was really hard to aim with the fisher. I felt almost as if I were playing on a mechanic controller.

Thanks for the game, and have a video review:
http://youtu.be/cfRu5zJ4kOc

(By the way, did you ever publish your earlier games to the play store?)

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:35pm

@caranha wow thank you very much! Well I further developed my last LD game: "MyMiniCastle" for iOS and it's currently awaiting review from apple ^^

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

very fun and amazing graphics, so cute!!

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Really well done, and well polished! Love the mechanics

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:58pm

A beautiful game, innovative and very polished!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:22pm

really neat idea but very had controls -- good job

TobiasW says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Hey Tij! Or Tio? I don't know, but it's finally time for me to play your game after seeing you in stream chats aaaaall the time.

I really like what you did there, basically intermeshing two smaller games seeminglessly into one bigger one. The son gameplay would be a little boring, but the text does a good job at making it interesting anyway and it carries meaning because he essentially holds his fathers life in his hands - and the fathers gameplay is a fun little hunting game with the added pressure of having to watch a timer. It's a bit hard for me to aim the harpoon - is that by design, or did I just not get it right?

Your pixel art is really cool! And I love the little touches you did graphics-wise, be it the lighting or the shaking of the upper screen when the son pumps. It's the little things that make a game feel polished, and yours certainly does!

The audio is pretty great too. The sound effects fit well and the music is fitting and good to listen to. (By the way - having the music become faster and more pressuring once the timer runs lower would've added further to the mood.)

Regarding the intro: You could've just made it skippable as a whole, that would've made replaying much easier.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:14pm

@TobiasW It was by design, but apprarently mot that good design :p
I tried to make the music go faster as the time runs out, but found myself limited by gamemaker :(
See you next LD!

GFM says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:08am

I really liked this game.

It was interesting having to pay attention to when I should switch characters. This made your take on the theme really original.

The gameplay felt solid! I didn't have any trouble with controls nor with the concept (well, it did take two tries to understand the game, actually... but I didn't read the intro the first time (I was trying to make the text be fully displayed... not to skip it >_<))

And those graphics... just awesome! :D
(sfx was also well done)

Simply... amazing job! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]