August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

At the cafe

by Pierrec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A two players (or not) cooperative (or not) game (or not) made in about 15 hours.

Ctrl+Q to quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#45Humor3.81
#80Mood3.60
#105Innovation3.74
#109Overall3.64
#154Audio3.29
#165Theme3.64
#215Graphics3.53
#309Fun3.25

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20am

Ha, this is great. Love the idea. And the music :)

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56am

J'ai adoré *-*, particulièrement la première scène que je trouve très bien fichue.
/
I loved *-*, especially the first scene, which was very well made.

Laguna says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55am

Nice Idea! One small thing I really missed was the "quit on esc" functionality.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58am

Yeah, sorry about that. I wanted to add it at the last minute...but there eventually were more important things to do at the last minute ^^ I might add it in a post compo version

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

I was unable to play this game because it blew up my xrandr. I was attempting to run this game via wine, and the fullscreen forced me to restart my X11 (display manager). Can you release a windowed version of this game?

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

I liked the game very much although the music was a little repetitive. It took me a while to figure out what to do. But I found it quite funny.
Good Game! -James

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

Very good idea of mechanic ! I love it !
It seems that making good game became habit for you :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30am

@josefnpat : if you run "winsetup" instead of "atthecafe" you can chose to play windowed. I hope it'll work! :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

Cute and fun. A bit hard to understand what to do but I guess that was the point :)

DaggerHog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59am

Nice game you've got here! I liked the visual style and music.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice little game you have here. I had some trouble with the controls... For the hands, I just ended up pressing all keys at once until it worked...

Nangie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57am

I had some trouble for understand what I should do but it's fun ! (and cute how they blush xD) really nice for 15h !

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Like the interpretation of the theme using short vignettes. Twas a little frustrating doing the same parts over and over again, but the end was worth it XP

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

This game made me smile.

Pyrofoux says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Thank you for the smile you gived me. :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I like this idea. A Love story :D

Niavlys says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Hahaha, this one is a great idea, it's a good thing that you finally started a new game a few hours before the deadline! Nice graphics as usual, and nice music.
The only problem for me was that in some scenes it was very hard to understand the logic of the game, e.g. the cigarette that you have to move backwards and not upwards once you have put it in the lighter flame.
I loved the interaction with the eyes of the characters in the first scene.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47am

A true Corbinouze game ;)

I don't have any sound on my computer though (Windows 7, "At the cafe.exe")

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

@Gaeel : did you unzip the game ? I noticed the sound doesn't work if you run the game directly from winrar. Or you could try to change some setings via winsetup.exe.

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Very funny game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Really difficult to work out what to do. Like the graphics a lot and also the music is great it fits perfect

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Haha, great ending.

Love this so much. Initially reminded me of Bientot L'Ete a wee bit, but really this is full of character. Great ideas. First stage in particular is wonderful. The punishing fail states, especially without unique endings, are the weakest element by far.

Your art, as always, is great.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Good idea, and very cute idea first scene. after it's more complicated to understand the control and the consequences of your actions. Good job.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Quirky and very beautiful.

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Haha, that was cute. The first scene was the best and the ending made me chuckle.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Fun to play !

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

"Seriously, 10 seconds!?" HA!
Awesome game!

imef says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Absolutely brilliant! I love the idea!

GreyShock says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Great biopic

sorceress says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

très bon. simple, mais amusant. :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

You have a knack for adding personality to your characters really well.

I saw your blog and read the entire thing, it added an extra appreciation and insight when playing this game :P

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

Great ending! :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Really funny and original idea! :D

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Great entry :D

Boodog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

I like it!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

I love what you did with this! The art and the music is great! I had to try out a lot of stuff to figure out what was the right thing to do, haha!
The idea's very original. Keep up the good work!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

A good little game. I like the music and the mood.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice work! You always make great games, this was a really great idea as per usual! The small fitting music track and graphics really help.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:05am

haha, nice. great ending, and i like the music.

d__adee says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:11am

Oh my! That ending! It's really funny!...

kinda short but still.. xD

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:50pm

The first scene is really cute, and a great idea i think. :)
Don't you wanna make a whole game about that ? ^^

Laelien says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:12am

Same as above, fullscreen broke my computer :(

wilbefast says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:39am

Gah, I just can't seem to hold hands properly - this game is too much like reality :'(

Very cute Pierre, seriously it's like cuteness at weaponisable levels ;) I'll write again when I've managed to finish it :P

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:59pm

That's just adorable..! One of my favourites this ld!

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice little game. I like it a lot!

deepnight says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Excellent idea :)
The controls sometime lack responsiveness but I really like the concept, and especially the multiplayer touch. Didn't try it with a friend, but I guess it's really funny :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Whaat! That was your intrepretation of the theme!? I didn't see that coming, it was for sure the most hilarious entry that I have played it's very nice how the story relates to the gameplay. The first scene is just delightful, the expressions are really well done.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Really loved the concept of this, the art and music too, were perfect for it.

I got a tad frustrated at having to start from the beginning each time, especially when I was stuck for knowing which key did what action, even though I kinda knew was supposed to happen. But that's down to me being derpy. :D

Really nicely done!

panurge says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Didn't have a friend on hand so I had to make out with myself, which was actually very enjoyable! Love the style and the clever mechanics. Really nice work.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Really cool idea. Its fun to follow the story. Also the music is nice. Unfortunatley there is only one way to play and the gameplay is limited to the 'quicktime events'. But nevertheless I had fun. Good work.

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:16am

I always go out of my way to try out your entries. I love the way this one turned out! The "puzzles" were pretty intuitive, overall, and I enjoyed discovering how each one worked.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

This might not be the most fun game, the most moody game or the most beautiful game, but still it's these kind of games that I love the most about LD,so creative!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:55am

This is great, such a distinctive, unusual take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]