August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rewind

by sergilazaro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pause, rewind and resume the movement of circles, in order to accumulate 10 seconds of *forward* movement among them. That is, if a circle goes forward, it adds time, if it goes backward, it subtracts time. Circles stop when they collide with each other.

Click on a circle: pause/rewind/resume (depending on the icon on it).
Right click: rewind (when possible).

Update (2013-09-05): Added binaries for Android (.apk) and Linux. The Linux build is untested, I used the Unity export and crossed my fingers. Let me know if it works, if you try it. Also, the Android version has no right-click, but it's solvable still, just a bit more awkward.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#28Innovation4.02
#42Theme3.96
#224Overall3.43
#314Fun3.24
#548Graphics2.90
#670Mood2.58
#787Humor1.87
#923Audio1.50

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27am

Ha, this is a great / brainy idea! Would love to see this extended :)

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Didn't understood what's the objective of the game.

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Excellent idea, but you should try to explain it because it's a bit diffult at first. Each circle has a direction, moving in this direction add time, while moving backware remove time. You have to get a total time of 10 to win. The game is great and well done, congratz !

sergilazaro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Thanks for playing! I agree, it's a bit confusing, I didn't totally explain everything in-game. I thought I had added a description here, but somehow it didn't save. Anyway, it's there now, to clear things up. :)

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Compo entries require source code. Where is your source code?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice game! It took me a few minutes to get what was the objective but once I got it, it was pretty fun to play. Pity there weren't any music for such a game though. Very nice designs!

sergilazaro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Source code added! Sorry, I had forgotten. It's just a zip with the Unity folder.

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Neat gameplay. Could see it expanded on perhaps with improved art and sounds.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Great idea, perhaps a little slow at times but still an excellent use of the theme. Good work!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58pm

simple but interesting gameplay

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Really great idea. It was fresh playing this. Even after last level i wanted more. Good game.

local minimum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

It so should have music/sounds, one per button that goes forward or reverse depending on how you have clicked them! Nice puzzle.

X-0r says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

The game is quite simple to beat - still, the idea is just awesome! The hardest part was to find out the game rules. After all is said and done, it's a nice new style of a puzzle game.

timujin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Clever gameplay mechanic. What's missing is restart level button.

apaneske says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Good concept and game! Really enjoyable all the way through. Would've like some more. And sound since you are pressing PLAY buttons :)

kbm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Pretty cool concept! I would like to see this further developed! Good job!:)

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

A little difficult to grasp at first, but very clever once I understood it! Good job.

Ninja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I really like this concept and I think it could be expanded upon to make the puzzles a little more interesting over time. Nice job!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice entry! At first had some problems understanding objective, but later was only fun! Nicely done!

OneL3gend says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Pretty Awesome game.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Took me a while to get my brain thinking right but its an interesting puzzle

siat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:43am

Very creative (and fun) puzzle. It would be nice to have a visual indication of which circles were fast vs. slow.

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Awesome concept, it really gave my brain a whirl!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Awesome puzzle game, great use of the theme. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

Exergy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Really clever!

Capro says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:34am

Great concept, you can make an enormous game from it! :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Really good game! Too easy for me, but general idea is awesome!
Good work!

recursor says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Unique gameplay and nice clean simple graphics amde for a pretty interesting little game. nice job

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I love when I find a gem of an idea like this, great stuff. Lots of room to do more with this. The genius part is the rewind/forward relation (moving wrong direction = minus time, right = more. So always completely balanced). Well done.

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Good work!

Sascha says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Great concept! Reminds me a bit of Hundreds, with time instead of area as winning criteria. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]