August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bragmor the Barbarian

by Codexus - Jam Entry

Bragmor the Barbarian decided to take on the Dungeon of Doom, known to kill adventurers in less than 10s.

This is a simple 3rd person fighting game, kill as many creatures as you can. They spawn in greater numbers every 10s and the powerups last (you guessed it) 10s. :D

There is no end, so play for maximum number of kills until you die, get bored or something terrible happens because there are too many creatures in the game ;)

I made this game mostly under compo rules making everything myself, except for an additional 8h of work during the 3rd day (I could not finish for the compo dead line) and for 2 minor sounds (explosion and foot steps) I reused.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#132Humor(Jam)3.03
#161Audio(Jam)3.22
#179Graphics(Jam)3.68
#245Overall(Jam)3.21
#285Fun(Jam)2.95
#294Mood(Jam)2.90
#514Theme(Jam)2.53
#565Innovation(Jam)2.16

Comments

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

It has a really clean look to it. The enemy kinda reminds me of the alien guy from star wars. Pretty cool overall.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30am

I really like it.

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54am

A decent bash-some-monsters game. I was amused by the jump animation for some reason. The voice effects, too. Seems the hit detection on monsters could use a little refining- a few times I was swinging straight at a creature and couldn't hit it. Nice job overall!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

Great title!

The music fits nicely, and gemplay is quite solid and fun. The comments make it awesome :)

Only gripe would be that the cool character-models detract from the quite sparse levels :P

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14pm

The barbarian and monster models look nice (they are even animated!), and I like the comments that Bragmor makes every now and then. I wish the levels had more 'stuff' in them, but I know 72 hours doesn't leave much time to create content. By the way, Bragmor is the perfect name for a barabrian!

lcass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:04pm

cool game

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

had more fun with it then with most commercial games of this kind out there. funny voice acting.
reminded me of Korgoth of Barbaria for some reason. made me sad for all the awesome things that never happened in this world.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:00am

I really like the music, and the meaty little smack of hitting a monster. Good job!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:02am

This is wonderful.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09am

The powerups added a lot and made it was fun not knowing what they would do until you got them. It would be nice if the aiming stuck to the mouse. I liked the voice too!

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

My favorite powerup was the "run fast". :D

antonijn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Very good game, and with the graphical fidelity as is expected from you :) Keep it up!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Very very nice game! Was very fun. Graphics were very nice along with the audio. game was fun to play, and i haven't seen anything like this here yet. Overall great game.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I love your voice acting. And the character models are very impressive. Knowing when to swing the hammer was bit difficult to figure out but overall excellent work for a weekend!

sorceress says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Quite fun. I like the animations and sounds, and the game has good mood and humour too. It's all quality stuff. But on the negative side, the gameplay feels a little weak to me when considered alongside the art and sound.

Melee combat becomes most interesting when it feels more tactical, like being able to jump in/out of combat, or perform aoe attacks that stun all in range so you can crowd control. I can easily imagine this game being fleshed out into something more substantial should you want to develop the idea further... perhaps with a quest system to give a purpose and goal to each mission that Bragmor undertakes?

Good work overall!

Oana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:14pm

"I kill you now!" lol, I love it! Did you really model all of that in just a weekend? It is very impressive.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:18pm

The music was fine but the voice acting could've been better but overall, the game was pretty good. After a while there is just too many of them and they just kill themself with fireballs. thought that was pretty funny.

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Oana, yes, I have a good workflow to not lose too much time but I still spent most of my time on the characters...

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:14pm

the graphics and audio make this so enjoyable! The characterisation is amazing for such a short production. "Haha! I'm strong now!" The gameplay is a bit clunky and the strikes/enemy clipping is a bit fuzzy, but I can't believe how many graphics assets u made given the time frame! Very impressive!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Cool game, looking very professional. How do you get the shadows to work, you have a PRO license of Unity? Groovy!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:36pm

One of the best games I've played yet! Amazing work especially when adhering to compo rules (well, almost adhering ;) ) I particularly enjoyed when I found the treasure room on my 3rd or 4th play through and I started kicking ass. If I had to be critical of something I'd pick hit detection as it seems Bragmor has to approach the enemies straight on and not just hit them from the side in passing. Overall though a really great game. Good job.

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Good job! Funny audio xD

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Great game - I didn't see the point in having a jump button though, the enemies weren't hittable unless you were at exactly the same height.

ddionisio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:22am

Wow, really good models and animation, it is top-notch!

Audio is great too, I love the voice overs, he really sounds like a barbarian. He looks sad in the main menu though. :P

I guess my only complaint is the attacks didn't feel heavy, but that's just aesthetics. Maybe also a larger area for hit detection. Some variety to his attacks would be nice too. The powerups does make the game interesting.

Afal says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:59am

I really appreciate the option to change mouse sensitivity. The default in linux ports of unity games are ridiculous.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:14pm

nice job codexus. getting on the roof was a major advantage. Also having them being able to shoot themselves increased survivability through the roof. XD loved the power ups.

skiesgamingtv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Had lots of fun playing this one. The voice acting was great ;) If any of you folks want to see a short gameplay video !
http://youtu.be/1ifQOffY04k

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]