August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Ten Ten Seconders

by Subi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SUPPORTED BROWSERS (all Windows):

Chrome - Runs perfectly (development platform).
Opera - Runs perfectly.
Firefox - Runs fine, but audio lags slightly.
IE - Runs fine, but audio lags quite a bit.
Safari - Runs appallingly, and the debugger crashes on half the breakpoints I set (latest Windows 5.1.7), so that'll have to wait. :P I THINK it's the setInterval problem, but it's too late to fix that now.

The game was written on and designed for a desktop. In particular you really need a mouse and keyboard (a touchscreen or touchpad probably won't cut it). Also, having just tested the game on my laptop, I just realised that 1280x720 is a pretty silly resolution to fix things at for a browser game. Showing my inexperience there. ;)

------------------------------------------------------------

You don't want any clever arty hipster musings on the ephemeral nature of existence.

You want TEN SECONDS OF BULLET HELL.

And it's RIGHT HERE!

The Ten Ten Seconders is named after the 2000AD series "The Ten Seconders". It's the first game I've completed for an LD (this is my second go), and is written in Javascript using my own framework.

You and nine other ships are given ten seconds of action each and left to it. Your remaining time is displayed on your ship.

WASD moves and the mouse aims and fires.

Moving costs you time, shooting costs you more time, but hits gain you time. Moving and hits also give you points.

No real graphics and no real sound (yay for sfxr!). I did half-write a tune but the game doesn't really last long enough to use it. ;) I was also thinking of giving each of the nine AI opponents different personalities, and adding some powerups like bullet wrap, extra time, etc. But the girlfriend and I have just killed a bottle of wine between us and I think I'll only make things worse. ;)

Pretty happy with what I've done. Yes, the code's a mess, but it helped me see what extra tech I need and I'll redo it properly over the next week ready for next time.

UPDATE 1:

* Fixed some keyboard issues with other browsers.
* Got sound working (badly) on IE.
* Sped up the rendering by replacing all context save/restore pairs with setTransform. This doesn't appear to have helped Safari however. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#362Fun3.16
#620Theme3.11
#674Innovation2.80
#676Overall2.95
#693Humor2.00
#701Audio2.26
#781Mood2.45
#979Graphics2.14

Comments

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Seems like a lot of fun! Does freeze here though when I shoot or get shot a little into the game. (Mac, Safari 6.newest)

Subi says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Okay, I'll check that out (developed in Chrome). Thanks!

Subi says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:26pm

@Bjeaurn: Right, I found and fixed issues with Firefox and IE, but Safari still runs terribly (at least on Windows, latest 5.1.7). I can't properly track it down (I suspect the collision detection) because Safari crashes with a pure virtual call on half the breakpoints I set. :P

I will carry on looking in the morning, promise.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

You could do with handling the mouse/keyboard events (preventDefault or return false), as I keep selecting the whole canvas and it turning blue or moving it around by accident :)

Good game though - glad to see I'm not the only one doing a bullet-hell game in canvas :D

Subi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50pm

@robashton: Interesting, I've not seen that one. Which browser/OS?

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Great fun game! Really enjoy the gameplay!

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great little entry!

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Pretty fun. Hiding in the corner sometimes helped.

Loyalty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Very good idea. simple, but fun and good interpretation of the theme

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Loved it!

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

The chaos!!!!! Very fun concept. I wish there were some control over the cut scenes when you advance or die. They kind-of flashed amidst the chaos and I didn't know what was happening, but the game-play itself was very cool.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

It was impossible to win at first, because I was moving and shooting at the same time, but then I changed my strategy and I won ! Nice gameplay and cool explossion effects.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Fun! My best is 8th dead I think. Worst is 1st....

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

TOTAL CHAOS! :)

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Good Game a bit laggy though

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Chaotic nice! Faster movement would be nice (that is what I like from most bullet hells), and it could become 1 hell of a multiplayer game :D

Hitonagashi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Nice! Took me a couple of tries before I worked out to stop moving. This would be awesome multiplayer..

Sense says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I'm always the survivor, no one aim at me. We just have to avoid bullets it seems ^^

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Very addicting of a game to try to be #1. The sound effects started to hurt my ears so I had to stop playing. Very simple game that we'eve all seen space shooter but fun in a competitive way!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Cool game! but i don't know why do i spawn on the border of the screen D: the first time i didn't understand where i was D: but great work man :D

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Interesting game. I played on firefox and the audio is incredibly annoying (due to so many bullets being shot at once). I like the simplicity of it, but the outcomes feel very random depending on whether the AI decides to focus me.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Very addictive, althoug it does have sound problems with chrome, sound never stops after the game ends.
But i like it a lot :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50pm

The easiest strategy is actually to just dodge everything and not fire a single bullet, they will kill themselves anyway. :p

Still an enjoyable little game, had some fun playing with it .

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Forget what i said about the sound, that was the FF version still being open :)

Tommislav says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Fun game. Good concept - but hard as hell. Sometimes the mouse - or a key - got stuck if pressing everything at once (that's how I do it when I panick ;).

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55pm

That was pretty good! I'm not a huge twin-stick shooter fan, but I enjoyed it. It does eventually completely break in Firefox.

Subi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Yeah, the lagging-and-eventual-breaking in FF and IE is pretty much completely down to the audio. I need to fix that for next time, JS audio is a mess!

Thank you all for playing!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Simple and fun, but it will be nicer in multiplayer game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]