August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dust in the Candy Megaverse

by Xgor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dust have invaded The Candy Megaverse. Get it away before it does any damage!

Short game with only 6 levels. Get's hard really fast though.

Made with Unity3D. with assets made with blender, paint.NET, sunVox, bfxr and audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#180Humor3.08
#285Audio3.01
#492Innovation3.05
#506Fun2.99
#544Mood2.74
#563Graphics2.87
#569Overall3.04
#593Theme3.14

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59am

Nice concept. It's rare to see a gameplay around a sphere, mario galaxy style. It's was fun, the 16 dust level was kinda hard but I made it ;) Good work !

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Strange game but fun :) I feel sticky after playing it for some reason

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Fun game. Love the crazy look of it. Found the controls very hard to master in terms of aligning with the dust.

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nice gameplay and crazy graphics. Controls were a bit difficult to master. Quite fun!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

All hail the master of polar geometry!

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

I like this game, but its far too difficult for me. I played it for about 10 minutes (had school today and still have to do the homework:)). I'm not familar with unity so I don't know how difficult iit is to do such a game, but overall I like it because of the nice idea (as archaeometrican said).

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

So I instinctively blew past the targets and circled the entire planetoid :P

Nice game! Love the orbital movement

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Nice game. The controls feels a bit sensitive, but apart from that it was fun playing.

I don't know if the game crashed or if it was intended, but after beating a level with 11 dusts, I got all the dusts, but the time ran out at the same time, which caused the game to just do nothing.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

@Mekuri Must have been a crash. When I lost and then got it after I just got send back to the start of the level.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

I liked the voices, and the game is fun. The spheric maps reminded me of Mario Galaxy, great thing. :)

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Quite a fun game, although the controls felt loose at times.

TheHobbit9797 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

It was kinda hard but not unsolveable ;)

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

For me the difficulty curve is too high.
But concept is clever / crazy and graphics are nice

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Quite a bit of fun and the audio and color schemes created the perfect mood. I loved being asked if I was ready : ) Working around the sphere is fun, perhaps it would be better if you could pick up the dust if any part of your player runs over it, rather than only when the hammer touches the dust.

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Goooo ! X)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I'm apparently really bad at this, as I couldn't even get past the third level. It's quite fun, though, and very humourous. The voice work is annoying in a good way :)

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

A good concept - close to what I originally attempted and failed! I thought the sound effects were fun, but the psychedelic graphics made it difficult to spot the dust after a while. I enjoyed it!

Blupsy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

The input was a bit spotty for me at times, but that could just be my machine. Otherwise it was pretty fun! I liked graphical style particularly.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I like the idea, nice work!! But it's a little bit hard to complete the levels hehe

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

oh my god these textures irritate my eyes, and the audio is sooooo cooool

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

very nice! I love playing on spheres. music is good, art has a strong direction. great stuff

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Ha! Crazy and colorful, how do you come up with something like that ?!? :)
Not bad!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Heh, what a cute and odd little game. :) Really cool that you implemented spherical worlds, it makes the game a little more challenging. I'm not so fond of the stripes and the colour scheme used though. I got nauseous pretty quick. Maybe consider using softer pastel colours and smoother transitions between them?
Nice work on the music though! And sweet that you added voice overs.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43am

Lovely graphics :) Pleasingly circus-feeling.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

Pretty addictive game, I like the sound effects and the crazy graphic style. It's a bit hard sometimes to control the player, I can't pass the 16 dust level...
Good job! :)

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01am

I had to pause the game instantly to rate you 5 stars for audio. Really cool game. Love the concept and the visuals/audio.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:25am

Okay, this game was kinda ...weird. A bit hard to control, but a neat idea and I had fun with it. Pretty polished for something made in two days, almost as polished as those candies were after I was done with 'em ;)

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

pretty fun game, looks cool too

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Graphics are neat gameplay is fun.

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Nice music effects and idea with movement on sphere :) This vacuum machine(?) is funny :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

What a weird game! Regardless of how unusual it is, it's pretty entertaining. Nice job!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Best thing for me was that voice... ARE YOU READY?!

Oana says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I guess this is what a Roomba feels like... I really like the concept, and the voice is indeed really cute. I also really really love that when you die, you restart from the same level rather than the whole game (as many other level-based games here tend to force you to). Nice job!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I hate it when games force me to wait 4 seconds after every retry.

But it was a lot of fun, playing a rumba ... with a broom ... clearing dust ... on a sphere. :)

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Good work!

awppy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Ah, final level was tough. I had to start in reverse to get through it. Wasn't until the level prior that I realized I was a vacuum cleaner vacuuming literal piles of dust. Vocal levels were a bit low but other than that it was a very solid entry!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24pm

The visuals were some great eye candy (har har) but now I feel incredibly dizzy. In a good way, maybe.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

beat the last level with .04 seconds left!

amusing, I loved the voice over!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:24am

Cool idea. The music was OK, but the graphics were nice and the idea is quite good.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24am

Controls are a bit too sensitive making it hard to play... otherwise very nice!

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:29pm

That's what happen when you're coding under LSD. :))
Joke aside, fun little game :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40pm

I like the idea, but it got very frustrating because of the high speed and the way it swung from side to side, making you miss stuff at random.

The countdown was awesome though.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Fun game. Looks great and the mechanics are solid

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Fun game, we made it to the 16 dust pile level and had to stop playing due to overstimulation.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

Interesting and fun)

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Haha this is awesome, love your "Are you ready"

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Aw, this was soooo much fun! Nice, fast + smooth gameplay. Weird psychadelic graphics were appealing.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Loved the Mickey Mouse style voiceover and the candy factory vibe. The gameplay was tricky in the later stages but the controls were smooth and intuitive. A little more variety would have gone a long way but I did enjoy playing this.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:15am

That voice will give me nightmares.

Zap says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Bizarre idea that I'm not too keen on. I didn't find the character very appealing. The controls are a bit too sensitive and make me a bit motion-sickness-y.
The voice was my favourite element, and added a lot of character to the game.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:57am

Found this game really funny/bizarre. Great job! I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/jm5J5gdV81o

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]