August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10

by Benn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 is a game about top down platforming. Jump upwards towards the camera, and climb closer to the screen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#5Innovation4.32
#94Fun3.59
#103Overall3.65
#156Mood3.38
#257Audio3.07
#419Graphics3.11
#879Humor1.68
#1182Theme1.58

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Really brilliant looking submission. While not really fitting to the theme at first glace, 10 takes advantage of the top-down view for some clever platforming.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59am

Love this! Amazing how much depth and context you can create with just differently scaled and tinted circles. The level that looped back in on itself mildly mindfucked me, as my eyes were seeing some flat circles but my brain was seeing a 3d bridge crossing over itself.

One possible issue: on the level where you start on the platform moving around in a circular path... when you jump off, I think you are still being moved as though you are attached to the platform you left? Maybe once you leave the platform you should stop being moved as if you're still a child object of it.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

I like it! I suck at it, but I do like it. The ambient background sound was lovely. While watching you make it, though, it didn't occur to me to wonder how in hell this matched the theme...?

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32am

Wow, this was incredible! I got through all the levels, and a few seem bit out of order, but this game is fantastic!

I love how you pulled off a 3d game with nothing other than circles. Incredible!

Some sound effects might have helped things out here, but other than that, stars all around!

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Elegant nice game :) I love it :)

Vic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Well, you already know I think this is one of your best games yet. I like the mechanics and how you created depth just with scaling and value shifts. The graphics are also a step up from your earlier games. The graphics are still simple, but very efficient with a good color selection.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Awesome game! I wish it was longer, though... Nice job!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Really nice and well done, i don't see it very related to the theme, but whatever, this is really good! :)

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

The best game so far.

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

At first I was about to write that you could finally learn some pixelart... but then I've played it. Brilliant ambience. You are getting better and better in using shapes as metaphore of visuals. One of my fav entries so far.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

Great game. I really enjoyed playing it, although unsure of the theme incorporation.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

This is a really clever idea. It's pretty difficult and I think there's a good reason why 2d platforming isn't usually top down, but it's still a fun experiment.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

really excellent mood, and the top down perspective is class. sometimes the jump would be a little unresponsive, and sometimes hard to gauge if you'll make certain jumps. still very solid.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Frustratingly difficult, and I'm not sure what it's got to do with the theme. But still, a very fun game. Had me gripped for quite a while there.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Bestest entry I played so far.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:04am

This is a really neat idea. I'm surprised at how well it works. The game is quite tricky, but I really enjoyed it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:58am

Very clever mechanic.

aayars says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12am

I have to agree with some of the other commenters -- don't see how it fit the LD27 theme. I'll give it high marks for innovation, though!

larb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35am

Genius. Love the simplistic graphics and ambient music. Some of those levels were really hard, but I managed to finish it. Really enjoyed it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

You have a distinct style sir! Very good.

tchem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27am

brilliant. unique. atmospheric. so beautifull,,,,

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

Pretty clever idea, enough variation in the level design.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

Hey buddy, minimalism was the theme of the last LD :P But seriously this hits some high notes on innovation.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

Really cool concept, liked it a lot! And the level designs were fantastic!

//Udrian

intripoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Not sure how the theme kicks in, but the game is genious: simple, yet new. :)

Norgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Tenacious.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Wow! You get mostly 5's from me, this was excellent, you have a brilliant game here! Great mechanics, great style, wish there was more!! Not sure how it fits the theme, would have fit perfectly with last LD's minimalism theme though!

Beavl says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Clever mechanics!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

This is a brilliant twist on the platformer genre. It took a bit of getting used to, but once I got the feel of it I was hooked. Definitely hope to see more levels for this down the road.

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Quite not related with the theme, but awesome game.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:53am

I liked it, it's very original, but like most people already said, I don't see where the theme fits in.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Love the idea, love the execution, just too hard for me :/

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I got a new keyboard and actually beat it without many fail tries. So I have to say it's not too difficult.

goyal says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Its interesting. Nice concept!! I like how the size of the circle indicates whether it is higher or lower than the one you are currently standing on.

My only criticism is about the controls. I felt like they were not well tuned.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Clever idea.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Such a refreshing game. Simple and surprising. Love it :)

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:19pm

very innovative, great sound and quite challenging. the controls felt strange though, but i got used to them after a while.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Very cool minimalist idea! I didn't finish it, got to the part with lots of shooty things in the middle, not sure which level it was. I think the shooty parts are a bit too difficult, for me anyway.

Ravetcofx says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:14am

Amazing Game, this is a very new a inovative game. I hope you win and I would live to see this on Android iOS

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:46am

Loved this. Great game, very unique! amazing. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVlJsYHr1MU

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Interesting, I'm not sure I've seen a completely top-down jumping game before. I'm sure there's lots of cool things to be done with this. Liked it a lot.

sorceress says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Quite challenging... Then I realised my keyboard doesn't like two cursor keys pressed with spacebar. After adapting to that I was able to complete the game quite easily. Innovative in design, and elegant in presentation. Well done :)

wally2069 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:27pm

The mechanics are interesting and unique but I just do not see the use of theme at all

GFM says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:51am

Wow, such an amazing concept! It was really interesting to play something as different as this game. No matter how simple, the graphics were perfect to convey what was happening.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:11am

really nice job and interesting idea -- never played a game like that before

Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:30am

Nice use of perspective. I thought your game was very innovative.

laserbeam says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:49am

Beautiful. Doesn't fit the theme, but the game is amazing!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:06am

A really innovative game, nice graphics and music ! Event if it not fit with the theme, it's a great game ;) Good job !

Surrealix says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:27am

It's a neat idea behind this! Unfortunately I think the menu got stuck over the top of the game (it' just said '10, press space to start' all the time, even when I was playing) but luckily it didn't stop the game from working.

meszka says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:55am

Cool idea! This 3d-in-2d thing definitely has potential.

spitfire87 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:09am

Even when the theme is totaly ignored, this game is the innovation #1. Really impresive platform mechanics with a top view and just a few geometric elements. Couldnt stop playing until i finished it :D.

Benn says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Thanks for the awesome comments guys! @Surrealix - There is a bug where if you press the space bar really quickly, the text doesn't disappear D: Refresh and wait a bit before pressing space!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Amazing work. This game is very beautiful. I don't quite understand how this fits the theme, but it just a work of art. The music, the visuals, I can't phrase this game enough. I love how the concept of scale and size is represented in a 2D space, that is something you doing see a lot in LD games. The puzzles of moving platforms were just the right amount of difficult, and addicting; So hard that is takes you awhile to beat, but so easy that you KNOW you can beat it. 10 also oddly reminds me of Spore. The whole playing with scale, making you feel small, gradually building to a goal, etc. Very nicely done. Keep it up.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Amazing work. I wish I would have seen this game sooner, this game is extremely beautiful. I don't quite understand how this fits the theme, but it is an astounding work of art. How simple yet fun it is, the music and sounds, and the visuals are all great. I love how the concept of scale and size is represented in a 2D space, that is something you doing see a lot in competition games. The puzzles of moving platforms/scaling platforms were just the right amount of difficulty, as well as being addicting; So hard that it takes you awhile to beat, at the the same time easy and simple, that you KNOW you can beat it. 10 also oddly reminds me of Spore. The whole playing with scale, making you feel small, gradually building to a goal, etc. Very nicely done. (This is one of the best games I have seen this LD, it actually made me feel serene for a good 15 or 20 minutes, Thanks.) Keep it up, 9.5/10.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:32pm

I was pleasantly surprised by just how fun this game is. And the art style is awesome in its simplicity.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice game and looks great, would be nice to have a 10 sec limit on each levels though.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:53pm

nice puzzle game benn. beat them all. xD Sounds? everything felt very smooth and intuitive.

graytest says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Surprisingly fun. I don't get the connection to the theme though..

Cosr says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:22am

Really cool, nice platforming twist. It's tricky, but the level design was pretty good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]