August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Janitor: Custodial Marine

by radmars - Jam Entry

Get to the mainframe to shut down the evil robots!

Team RADMARS:
Brendo - level design
Adhesion - programming / music / sfx
emarcotte - slam-jamming / programmin'
spacemars - art
tokken - creeper / playtester / champion of vulgarity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Overall(Jam)3.90
#31Audio(Jam)3.82
#42Fun(Jam)3.64
#53Graphics(Jam)4.26
#77Mood(Jam)3.57
#112Humor(Jam)3.17
#115Theme(Jam)3.48
#256Innovation(Jam)3.05

Comments

zeh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

A cosmic tour de force, and a great way to honor cleaning engineers everywhere this side of the galaxy. Bravo.

barcode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51am

Great! Love the style, music! I found one bug with getting stuck on collision in the top right of the first vacuum area.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56am

Looks good. But need some polishing. With such visuals animations too short. And tiles of levels sometimes looking bad. But I understand you, because I running out of time to complete some features(i.e. design) too.

blackhornet says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:42am

:( Got stuck in a block when the jetpack gave out.

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:44am

This was really incredible.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47am

This game should have more comments. Great art, great subtle yet global use of the theme, and great parallax!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:56am

Great! Roger Wilco would be proud. :) The graphics and music are super as usual, and I thought the length was just about right (kept dying right near the end of the levels, though, which was frustrating!). When I use my jetpack vertically right next to a vertical wall, something funny happens..?

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:06am

Hah! Our project went with a Space Janitor hero too. Secret Theme time?

Very well done aesthetically, with solid art and music. Nice way to mix up platformer mechanics with the Zero Gravity sections. Very cool! The 10 seconds thing seemed like a bit of an afterthought, though, like this might have been planned for a different theme. Excellent work nevertheless!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40am

This is rad!

haxpor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:42am

Super awesome game! A second janitor style game I ever know. Nice adaption of the theme!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:44am

Really fun game! I'm impressed! I agree that the theme seems pretty tacked-on, though. Also I noticed two bugs:

-- The music sometimes skips very badly, which is grating.

-- In the "mainframe" area, I was able to get outside the level boundaries, and I ended up stuck and couldn't return to the field of play.

Other than that, great work!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:46am

Nice game! I like the graphic style and music a lot =]

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

That was pretty fun. Also, great-looking art.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

very nice, thought the graphics were great.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

Love this!!! Great job at everything!!

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:15am

hahaha really funny concept, and well executed development! it has a great level design, it seems really big, must have taken some time xD good music

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice! I would've liked some more checkpoints in the second level, had to retry the whole thing a few times. It was very good!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Also, I love how you use the theme in so many ways. Great job with that.

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Yup! "Rad" is right. Some minor jumping issues, but everything else was top notch. I really liked the way you played with the theme as well. Really great work.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Awesome job! A bit like cargo-commander. You rock! Had loads of fun.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Great game. Well done.

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:17am

Nice game. I could see this being turned into a full Metroidvania style game. However, it really needs a mini-map added, since it was hard to tell where I was supposed to go at times. I liked all the different ways the 10 second theme was incorporated. The transitions between platforming to space flight reminded me a lot of Dead Space. My completion time was 127.9.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:29am

Haha nice. I thought I remembered the logo from somewhere and then I saw the blue fox cameo from that previous LD entry.

Skye says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:20pm

very fun. a few errors with collision detection but not bad

UnixXNova says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:43am

Awsome game, i loved the space bit

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

close to perfect -- great job

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Very nice realization for a 72h jam it's impressive ! GG !

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:27pm

got stuck in a wall

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:31am

Nice art! The screens made me expect something like dustforce, but this was different! The robots are pretty harmless.. i liked it

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Funny concept! I like the mechanics changing between space and land, that made the gameplay very interesting. The graphics are good and the space background is pretty.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:30am

haha, really nice. and awesome graphics. :)

Sascha says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Impressive entry, great, complete game. The 10 second theme fit very well in the game scenarios. Awesome job!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:24am

This is so much better than most of the GBA games I've played.. And picking up trash along the way was surprisingly satisfying!

The collision is a little wonky in places... The passable platforms made me jump up again even though I didn't press anything, and I glitched myself out of the playable area once and had to restart. But this should be very easy to fix as I've ran into similar problems before.

Was there way not to die in the end? Must have been silly of me to stick around when the mainframe was exploding...
Anyway.. awesome great job!!

Sestren says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:57am

Awesome entry all around. Great music, graphics, and a pretty cool idea, as well.

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Music and graphics are really great. I like the concept of the 10 seconds in space. Please add more checkpoints in a post-compo version :D

FunByJohn says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:41am

Ah, this is awesome! I like how a lot of things were using the 10 second mechanic, and it was in a good way. It wasn't you can only shoot every 10 seconds, but once you hit an enemy, you get a 10 second cool down. Since the 10 second theme as really a theme here with both the weapon cool down, the timed events, the time until you lost some health while in no gravity, and the mainframe explosion time, it really made it feel like a cohesive gameplay experience to me. The music set a great mood too, and the difficulty curve was very nice.

I think the graphics were nicely crafted, but they didn't stand up to your last entry Tessitron's low poly flat shaded art direction to me, but that's also an unfair comparison since it's one of my favourite graphical styles.

Great game overall. :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:56am

Interesting ^^; Always appreciate your guys' postmortems. Yeah, bit rough around the edges. For your artist, I'd recommend differentiating the foreground and background elements a bit more in terms of lighting, just to make things more obvious from a gameplay perspective.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]