August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Magic Seconds

by jcmoyer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Platforming! Magic! Loot!

You have 10 seconds to live. Enemies drop extra lives and coins in abundance! Each coin will grant you an additional second of life - but you can only store 10 seconds of life at max.

Balance changes were deployed at the last second. Previously, the drop rate for lives and coins was too high, making the game fairly easy.

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to move; up to jump and enter doors
Z to fire

WARNING:
This game hasn't been heavily optimized yet. If you leave a large amount of collectibles on the ground, the framerate may start to drop.

--------------------

For OS/X and Linux, you will need to download Love2D from here: https://love2d.org/

Then, you can run the game from the command line:

$ love TenMagicSeconds.love

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#480Graphics3.00
#610Humor2.15
#626Fun2.83
#641Mood2.62
#700Theme3.00
#724Overall2.90
#817Audio1.98
#1018Innovation2.25

Comments

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

A nice little platform shooter, and very polished! The collisions were flawless! The physics did feel a bit floaty though.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

I like it. Great look and feel to the game play. I really thought those red guys were going to take more shots to kill.

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Excellent, but really hard.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Your game is a bit hard. On the first time I entered the castle I died right away (my time was up, and I only had one life left). There are NOT coins in abundance, and I shoot every little thing I could... That's false advertising right there :P

Other than that: controls are fine. Runs smoothly on Arch Linux 64 bits, and I hate those jumping thingies, seriously... Oh, and I had fun playing your game.

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57am

Haha, I had a similar idea with the 10 seconds. Only 10 seconds, but gain more by killing enemies. Time caps at 10 seconds. Anyways, nice game. I like the sounds for that big orange guy at the beginning.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

This is a nice game! The implementation of the theme isn't very good, but the gameplay is very polished. The platforming is excellent and there were no issues with collisions or tiles. The falling was a little floaty, but it's nothing to stop me from lowering my rating. Nice job!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

The graphics are nice, but I hit two issues that made the game a bit frustrating. First, more than once a group of jumping spider would spawn right where I was standing, killing me instantly, and second, the large round creatures will trigger a hit even if we aren't touching. For the second issue I think the issue is that you are using a square bounding box for the enemy, which means in the corners collision will be detected even though the enemy is several pixels off. You can mitigate this will a smaller bounding box or by using distance from center to detect collisions on round enemies.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

felt like the movement was a bit 'woo-hoo' but other than that very good.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

The first thing that jumped at me was the lack of transitions. It moves so fast and there's little time to react to it, a fair amount of my deaths were due to me running off a cliff or into an enemy because I was still holding right. Putting that aside, it was an ok take on the "jump & shoot" formula of the NES era, but it lacked polish.

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

The graphics are nice. The shooting feels good. The wizard moves sanic-fast, it's hard to control precisely (maybe I'm just too slow). Nice variety on the enemies.

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14am

Interesting game, felt buggy when getting hit puts you on the top left of the screen.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Very nice job. The system is very smooth. I didn't read the instructions at first, so originally I had no idea what I was doing. Once I figured out that z was shoot, it got a whole lot easier. Considering the game is keyboard, it's really annoying to have to use the mouse to start the game.


Nice job!

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Great platformer ! The graphics were awesome, both the environnement and the sprites (especially the little green demon, which is my favourite - I kind of feel bad to kill them :-( ), and discovering new ennemies is one of the thing I enjoyed the most in your game.
One other of those thing was shooting stuff. Pew pew.
Also, how much do you mean by "large amount of collectibles" ? Maybe you balanced it a little too much (or at least, a little too much for me).
Anyway, I liked your game. Great job !

jcmoyer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

Thank you everyone for taking the time to play and comment. I will be implementing some of your feedback at a later date.

@nathanhoffer: I was totally going to add varying HP to the enemies, but I forgot! Thanks for reminding me.

@N0_Named_Guy, Delca: I'm sorry to disappoint you with the lack of collectibles. In retrospect I nerfed the coin drop rate way too low. I think it's too late to change that now though. Hopefully a silly gif will suffice: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19138775/Images/Dev/LD27/ld27-coin.gif

@dalbinblue: I will be sure to fix the bounding box. Unfortunately I didn't have time to add support for shape-agnostic collisions, but it will definitely be a perfect circle in the future.

@Empyrealhell: I definitely wanted to add transitions but there wasn't enough time to do a good job with it, so I didn't add them.

@leafo: The levels have not-so-strategically placed respawn areas. You end up at the previous one from the point you died, so if you backtrack you can eventually end up at the beginning of the level upon death. The lack of transitions doesn't make this very obvious.

alts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:47am

I didn't read the instructions, so I made it past the castle walls without knowing how to shoot. Even now knowing how to shoot, I'm not sure I know how to get much further than that. I also want to echo was josefnpat said. All of the controls are keyboard based. Requiring mouse interactions for (re)starting feels strange since nothing else requires it.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:52am

It's a good basis for a jumpy-shooty; rather reminds me of Hocus Pocus, except a bit less forgiving. :-)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:52am

I liked the theme and the main game mechanic. Graphics are really nice.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:09am

The sound was quite loud on some of the spawns. It was pretty unforgiving.

dagothig says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:10am

Overall pretty enjoyable! But I have to agree with the others, the game is a bit hard. Never was able to go past the castle (second level I guess?)

Graphics put me off a bit at first but I have grown to really like them, there is a lot of work there! And despite what have been said I really like the way the wizard moves. It seems apropriate for him to be so "floaty". Good little game, just wish the coins weren't so scarce.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:13am

Either I'm bad or that game is quite hard haha! I liked it, but maybe I would like to have more lives before getting game over. And music would add a great touch, because it feels a bit empty. But otherwise, I enjoyed playing it! :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27am

Pretty fun. I liked the spooky atmosphere + the big red ball thing. Couldn't get very far, but it was fun to play a couple times.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:14am

Running as fast as the spells got me into trouble sometimes.

murilo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:14am

A white screen appears and it hangs forever :(

jcmoyer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

Once again, thanks everyone who took the time to comment. I'm surprised that the art is passable. I'm primarily a programmer and I don't consider myself to be a good artist at all.

@Supercannon: I've increased their speed in the GitHub repository. Thanks for the feedback.

@murilo: Does the title screen show up at all?

FireZenk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

Smooth movements, good graphics and overall nice plataformer. Good job

Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Really hard but fun

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:36am

I like the setting a lot! It's so difficult, but it is fun

g_o says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Pretty good!
Sound not so good!

Mekuri says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:28am

Nice little game, but I found it hard to get very far.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]