August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rick Rodo's Rival Restaurant Rush

by TeamQuadratic - Jam Entry

(Fancy British accent)
Rick Rodo's life was changed when the buffet was discovered in 20XX. By monopolizing the buffet industry, Rodo rose to the top and became a kajillionaire. Life was all well until Luke Lucrum appeared! With his gang of Ludicrous minimum wage workers, Rodo finally met his match. In order take back his throne of King of Buffets, it looks like Rodo's going to need to infiltrate Lucrum's buffet and eat all the food with the 10* seconds.

*helpings (if you still don't get it, we're referring to food)

Made with Game Maker Studio. A Web version will hopefully be up in the following days. Instructions are in the game. Enjoy, and please let us know what you think!

Credits:

Programming - Adam V. (Wizered67)

Graphics - Josh D. (Hoovyscoot), Paul K. (Pandadog123), Andrew T., Ryan G. (Viper1044)

Audio - Kevin L. (Kayfon)

Level Design - Ryan G. (Viper1044), Adam V. (Wizered67)

Voice Acting - Josh D. (Hoovyscoot), Paul K. (Pandadog123)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#61Humor(Jam)3.52
#200Audio(Jam)3.11
#355Mood(Jam)2.72
#429Overall(Jam)2.78
#443Graphics(Jam)2.71
#477Fun(Jam)2.44
#516Innovation(Jam)2.34
#549Theme(Jam)2.35

Comments

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33am

It has a nice idea, and nice artwork but the gameplay had a lot of problems: combat felt like it was just about mashing spacebar in a pattern, no skill or strategy involved. Spoon tossing from guys right in front of you, or when you're in a fight at all, was an annoyance.

Artwork and music were pretty decent, voice acting was an added bonus too, but gameplay is where it suffers IMO.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Frantic game and lots of fun I love the concept! Well done guys!

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I don't know what to think of this game.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Haha. The funniest game I've played so far! The setup is just brilliant. Enjoyed jumping and sliding a bunch.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

I am laughing like hell as I play this

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28am

Nice fun game :D

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36am

really good job on the graphics and audio, gameplay not so much everything was ok (but very repetitive) except the combat witch was pretty much running up to an enemy and mashing spacebar(being able to attack and move and giving the waiters a melee attack would have probably made it alot better and maybe more heath but more punishment for death(like restarting that serving)

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

Fun game, I loved the voices. SPOOON TOOOOSSSS!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

The music was great and the graphics were good, but the gameplay got very repetitive after a few levels, and the spoon tossing at close combat got frustrating. It looks like when you fight a waiter the "tell" he does just before throwing the spoon does not trigger so you can't dodge except to wait for him to throw then pop up and attack blindly for a short period of time.

Dracae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

AWESOME GAME! :D

The controls are really strange, and the graphics and audio could do with a bit of work, but otherwise, it's an amazing game! :)

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

I really liked the humor behind this, but it got tedious fast listening to "SPOOOOON TOOOOSSSSS!" over and over and over and over. Not to mention, I can barely see those spoons coming, so death ending up feeling very cheap. The humor behind this game was something of a saving grace though.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

TABURU FRIPPU! Adopts the dynamics of a pre-NES era action game (albeit with a larger health meter than we may have expected back then :P) which is neat.

Vnator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

For some reason, the game isn't working properly for me. The characters appear as semi-transparent white rectangles, and there are a bunch of characters strewn across the screen. If it means anything, I'm using Windows 7. Any idea what I could do to fix it?

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

Close-range spoooooooo~oon toooooss is quite cruel ><

Overall the gameplay feels a bit too rigid, but the presentation, and especially audio work (including the music!), is awesome.

Serishmus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25am

spoons are impossible to avoid if you're right in front of the guy throwing it!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. We definitely agree about the issues with combat, as it was unfortunately rushed near the end. Glad you thought it was funny, that's exactly what we were going for.

@Vnator I'll be putting up a web version in the coming days if possible, and that may fix it. I'm not sure what the issue is though.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:00am

haha quite amusing. Combat was a little off but it was a great concept!
And funny! SPOON TOSS!!!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:59am

Crazy little game. I liked the low budget sound effects. Story and fighting were good fun!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22am

GAME VOOOOOOOOOOOOOTE.

*ehem*

This was highly silly, and I've always appreciated silly. I also liked the clever twist on 10 Seconds (as in Second Helpings of food). Gameplay was pretty sorely lacking, though. With no way to predict and jump the projectiles at point blank range, and no way to use skill to evade enemies, it was really just a button-mashing fest.

To illustrate: I was pretty proud of sliding under one table, leaping over a spoon to just land on another table, and chaining it into another jump as I attempted to leap over a waiter... only to find that I was stopped by an invisible wall. Instead, I slid down to the floor, mashed spacebar for a bit, took a few unavoidable spoons to the face, died, and had to try again.

Gameplay critiques aside, congrats on putting together a game, and good luck in your future endeavors!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:35am

Ireally enjoyed this one! nice game :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

OMG, this game was super funny! That "SPOON TOSS!" and "TABLE PUSH!" were cracking me up! You make them sound like Pokemon attacks XD
Great job on this! Never laughed this much while playing a game! :)
RATED HIIIIIIIIIGH! XD

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

Great job :D SPOOOOON TOSSSSS

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nice idea, game got repetitive quickly and combat need some work.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:47am

Thanks again for the feedback everyone. Unfortunately I probably will not be able to put up a web version because it causes some audio bugs that I don't currently have the time to fix.

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:57am

ahaha) really very very fun game! thank u!! its five i think!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Alliterations are always awesome, ace!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Actually assonance always appears. Thanks for playing guys :)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:46am

Fun game, The jumping and sliding is really cool. Sorry it took me so long to finally get around to playing it. I was curious when you mentioned that you had a similar interpretation of the theme as me. SPOON TOSS! (oh now I see that other people thought the same thing to write spoon toss) so TABLE FLIP!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]